We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Home for Holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AVA Hotel Athens to your Saves list
AVA Hotel Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece (Plaka)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Perfect Home for Holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed 6nights over New Year at the AVA.....what a great choice based on Tripadvisor recommendations! A perfect location for exploring Athens, visiting The Acropolis and enjoying character restaurants in Plaka We booked their 'Experience Athens' package and loved the convenient tickets and the superb little mezze restaurant. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed, as it was raining we had the opportunity to enjoy some DVDs, they have a great library of movies including Troy, 300 and The Immortals.......good to get you in the mood for historical adventuring. Breakfast was included and we were very happy with the continental selection, a couple of hot dishes, fresh squeezed juice and Nespresso coffee.....also complimentary wifi through out the hotel (yeah!). I would definitely recommend the AVA hotel to anyone visiting Athens........wonderful warm and friendly staff made it our home for the holidays.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BeijingTrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    201
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
347
803
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in October just for one night en route to the coast but we would happily have stayed for a week. Our room was spacious and stylishly decorated with a well-equipped kitchenette (full size fridge) and doors opening onto an internal courtyard patio which was an unexpected bonus. We received a free bottle of cava on arrival just for liking the hotel in Facebook. The staff were very helpful and the location ideal, a few minutes walk from Plaka and the Acropolis. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Athens..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is on par with VEGAS. Yes, I live in Los Angeles, born and raised So Cal boy, so I know all there is about Vegas. Anyway the in room amenities are awesome, but don't expect much from the outside or lobby.

We did upgrade when we got here to the room with a view and the double door suite... so maybe thats the difference. The upgrade price was only $10 extra Euros a night once including the free breakfast for two!

The location is awesome. All Greece travelers should be aware that this isn't your typical Parisian trip. But if you are going to Greece, this is the hotel to stay in for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Truebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel truly deserves the high ranking it has on Tripadvisor. Of the few hundred hotels I have previously visited in more than fifty different countries around the world I cannot recall ever meeting a staff as friendly as the one at AVA Hotel. Normally I prefer big hotels of high standard where everything runs smooth and a wide variety of services can be provided, but in this case trading for a smaller and charming hotel is well worth it. I can highly recommend this hotel - especially for a romantic getaway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank TaisDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Second visit here over a period of one year and staff remain attentive and pleasant, accommodating. Room service was good, and clean. Hotel has sink, plates, and fridge. Breakfast was 12 Euros extra per person.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of Hadrian's wall may be a bit deceiving - they only have a view if you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MHadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed one night at AVA Hotel after disembarking from a cruise. The hotel was very clean, quiet, friendly, accommodating. The room, for three, was quite large, with a kitchenette, coffee, refrig, dishes. The location was fabulous, as we were able to walk to all the historical areas, as well as the Plaka was right around the corner for shopping and restaurants. We did not have their breakfast as we left too early. I would defintely stay here again!

Room Tip: I think you pay more for a room with a view. But the view is right out the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merkelcg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the moment our taxi pulled up in front of the AVA, we loved our stay at this wonderful hotel.We were greeted with very warm welcomes - a staff member even come out to the street to help with bags. It was as if they were waiting for us to arrive. When we were escorted to our room, our jaws dropped. We were presented with a gorgeous suite, with separate living room and kitchenette. It had high ceilings, crown moldings, chandeliers, a large blue and white marble bathroom, that featured a classical scene painted on the recessed ceiling. The bedroom was spacious with double dark wood doors and a real king-size luxurious bed. TV's in both rooms, and climate control units in each room. It was still very warm in Athens (25C), so we were delighted with the air conditioning. Our balcony looked on the lovely quiet street as well as the Acropolis walls and Hadrian's Arch a half block in either direction. Amazing. The room service menu and food was wonderful - not to mention the bottle of bubbly that was presented to us as a welcome. So thoughtful. In fact everything at the AVA is done thoughtfully. They truly think of absolutely everything to make this your home away from home, but I call it heaven on earth. The breakfast includes everything you would ever want. Plus, with all these wonderful comforts and amenities you have the warm, gracious, and helpful staff. They go out of their way to make sure you have everything you want and more. We highly recommend the AVA - heaven on earth (or at least in Athens)! Thank you to all at the AVA for our wonderful stay. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DlovesLabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,744 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Property: AVA Hotel Athens
Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 10558, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing