We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #5 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in a very convenient location. As with other reviewers the staff are excellent and personable, really making a difference. Loved the kitchenette and space afforded by the room. Breakfast is spot-on with attentive service. Can't wait to return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidBNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    225
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
372
864
45
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

After finding this place on Tripadvisor, I desperately wanted to stay here should I ever visit Athens. The chance arose this year but the dates I wanted weren't available. I couldn't see anywhere else as nice to stay so I did the relaxing beach part of my holiday first and the stressful city bit second, but I was really glad I did. The hotel is amazing and seemed cheap for what you got - I'd paid the same to stay at the Sofitel at the airport and it wasn't a patch on this. I stayed in a non-view room at the back, with a little balcony over an internal courtyard which was nice to sit on and meant we didn't hear any traffic noise. In actual fact, the rooms with balcony views only look onto the rear wall of the acropolis, so although you can see the Acropolis, it's just a wall so I wouldn't in fact pay the extra for that. We didn't hear any noise from other guests. It was great to have the kitchen facilities in the room, and the painted recessed ceiling in the bathroom was a nice touch. Another tip is don't pay for the sightseeing package. The multi-site tickets are available at all of the sites anyway for something like 15 Euros (I forget exactly how much now) and you still have to queue at each attraction anyway to show them your ticket to get in so it didn't save us any time (we went in May when it was relatively quiet so maybe it's different in high season. The mezze meal as part of the deal was also sub-standard - cheap nasty wine etc. We had 2 much nicer meals at Byzantium which was recommended in the hotel's guide. But on the plus side, the bottle of fizzy was actually French champagne which was a nice surprise, and the chocolates were heavenly. Also be warned at the moment, opening hours of tourist sites seem to be reduced from the norm - probably due to civil service cuts!

Room Tip: Although the hotel says it's on a quiet street, it's still a through road, and so quite nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyMcBally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent four nights here as we toured Athens and environs.
It was clean and neat. They were very accommodating and offered restaurant suggestions that were great and close by. We had two breakfast time options which was a nice surprise. There was plenty of breakfast food, American and European style.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bsm_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Ava Hotel on the end of a 2 week trip/cruise. We were a bit fatigued but our accommodations were very comfortable, spacious, relaxing & wonderfully clean. The staff was knowledgable & helpful about local places to visit, restaurants & all with a friendly smile! The location of the Ava is perfect. It is right in the middle of the Plaka & on our street-side balcony we had a fantastic view of the Acropolis. We travel quite frequently & I am very picky about cleanliness but I would say this hotel would definitely be in my top of places to stay. I can highly recommend the Ava & would stay there again if I ever get the chance.

Room Tip: Street-side with a balcony has a wonderful view & is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the AVA Hotel for 4 nights in October 2012. I am more than pleased to recomennd this hotel. Not only was the location excellent,Plaka, the accomodations greatly exceeded our expectations. The suite we stayed in in had a living room, bedroom, small kitchen area and bath. It was sparkling clean. And the staff could not have been more helpful. I could not recomend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkrosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room was excellent and the location quiet yet close to everything. Given early access to the room, and great service and information from the reception area made arrival that much better. Excellent internet connections in the room and we were fortunate to have a porch to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet away from the crowds and traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel has a great location, in the Plaka area, very central to all sites such as the Acropoles, Parliement bldgs, museums, bus & metro as well as the off & on sightseeing bus. The reception deks upon our arrival was very friendly, warm and very helpful. Our room was very clean and spacious. They also have a very good and varied breakfast. We spent 3 nights and enjoy our stay very much. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nutcraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Property: AVA Hotel Athens
Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing