We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Philopappos Hill
from $34.60
More Info
from $80.80
More Info
from $51.90
More Info
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
388
200
30
4
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
200
30
4
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews socrates prison nice walk great view of the acropolis degree view of athens vantage point worth the climb walk up monument muses path woods summit tourists rocks democracy ruins greek
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hill offers excellent views of Attica and the Saronic Gulf and some of the best points for photographing the Acropolis. For me it was a nice place to have a break from the city. We were almost alone over here. The weather was great so it was nice to sit here to enjoy the sun for a while.

Thank NoeB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is very popular with the locals.A very good view.A very good place to spend time with your friends and family.

Thank 3SEse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Philopappos Hill is very near the Acropolis, with that said, the views to the Acropolis are the best and you can catch them in diferents angles while hiking up the hill, it is very instagramable I have to say. On your way down or before you hike up you can visit the supposed Socrates prison. Enjoy the whole thing Hill and prison as I did for a couple of hours !!!

Thank AngeloV950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We felt the views at sunset were incredible. This was good place to climb to the Philopappos. The Acropolis is more easily seen from this view. We could enjoy breakfast from our room each morning. Highly recommend Philopappos Hill. Suggest bringing water, it does get hot at midday.

Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Visit at afternoon a half hour before sunset. Absolutely great view to the acropolis and excellent place for a take a amazing photos. You don't need a hiking shoes but a bottle of water will be more than usefull.

Thank martinj386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

...and we saw it from every angle. The hill is a calm place easily accessed from the broad promenade starting at the Akropolis Museum. You can see the whole city on all sides down to Piraeus port. The hill features some minor yet very interesting historical sites. It has a weird energy to it. So get your boots on and go for those 10000 steps on this fascinating hill :-).

Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Located near the Acropolis. Lovely walks in a peaceful setting . Socrates prison is here along with other interesting historical places.
The climb up to the Philopappos monument is well worth it as the views are amazing. The view of the Acropolis opposite is superb.
Well worth a visit without the crowds at other sites in Athens.Only drawback is that I didn’t see anywhere on the site to purchase a coffee etc and toilet was diabolical.

Thank harry55641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

If you're looking for views of all of Athens this is the way to go. The hike isn't bad, but I'd recommend doing it when it's cooler. There is still a good amount of shade on the paths, so that is nice.

Thank aegiddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

It's worth a visit, nice scenic walk on the way to the Acropolis. Plus it is where the Pynx is located.

Thank jrongow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We really only wanted to see Socrates' Prison but there is so much more on this easy to climb hill and admission is free! This is a little oasis of peace and quiet. There are lots of trees and shrubs, some in beautiful colours. At the very top is an ancient Greek mausoleum and monument dedicated to Gaius Julius Antiochus Epiphanes Philopappos or Philopappus, a prince from the Kingdom of Commagene. This is not as impressive as many other monuments in Athens but the views from the top are well worth the climb. We visited a little church on the site and the lady looking after it was very welcoming and informative, telling us all about the Greek Orthodox Church and providing us with a leaflet. We lit some candles and she was so pleased. We sat in the area around the church for a long time, just taking in the peace. Beautiful.

1  Thank F4508MDannettem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews