We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”
Review of Kaningos 21 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaningos 21 Hotel
Ranked #150 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed September 18, 2010

This hotel has a 4-star rating, and I can't see how they deserve that rating. Amenities - none, location - furthest away from all the other hotel pickups on tours - it's in the commercial district not tourist area, and service was the poorest I've received from any European hotel I've stayed at. "Features" included mold in the tub, sliding glass door to room at ground level access with a broken lock, a broken lamp, and broken table in the room. Although hotel rooms in Europen tend to be small, this was overly small. We booked a 'triple'. They provided 3 beds that literally were side by side without access between them, 8-12 inches walking space around the perimiter of the 3 beds, and absolutely no place to store your suitcase. Reception staff was always just one person and when they had to leave their post to deal with a customer issue, it left the reception without staff. I'm sure there are many other options you should conside when visiting Athens.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTraveler1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Kaningos 21 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at this hotel because it was part of a package. I'm not overly impressed with the hotel but it was still a great place for sleep. Tiny bar, blaahh restaurant and not so sociable staff. The room cleaning was definitely poor. Beds are confortable. Had to hold shower head to take a shower??? Great view of the Acropolis from the restaurant deck. 8 minute walk to Metro station. 20/30 minute walk to the Shopping street Ermou and the Plaka. Prices on the hotel room door said 170 Euro a night. Would definitely not pay this for this hotel.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank BeenThere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Haha what can I say about the Kaningos 21? We stayed at Kaningos for 2 nights at the tail end of a Mediterranean cruise and well I can with full confidence say the place is Orange.
Arrival:
When we first arrived there were several guests checking in which meant the one person manning the front desk was rather busy so did not really have time to offer any useful advice, tips on Athens or a welcome for that matter. I managed to quickly ask if he had any maps of the city and he passed me a beat up travel booklet that may have been used as a coaster at some point.
We had a room on the 3rd floor and since we had our luggage with us we opted to use the elevators (there were 2) which were the size of a linen closet. According to the sign on the wall they hold 5 persons but I can assure you those 5 persons would have to be tiny (think action figures) and not have any luggage, purses, wallets, limbs...we squeezed in with a third person and if that third person is reading this post I apologize for squishing you. I will admit though they were neat just not practical, we did take pictures of them
Room:
When we exited the elevator we were astonished to see that our entire floor was lighted with orange lighting giving the impression one was in a submarine. The room was clean but small with one of those bizarre windows from the tub to the rest of the room which oddly has a blind within the glass that doesn't open. Not that I would have opened it but made me wonder what was the point of there being a window if you can't look out of it. The shower is a hand held wand no attachment to hang it over your head which makes for an awkward little dance especially since there is no door or curtain to keep the water from soaking the rest of the bathroom. Also the bed only had a comforter no sheet which we found strange and a little gross.
Restaurant:
The Kaningos 21 advertises a rooftop restaurant which we did go up and see (it is there) however it was closed for our stay and when we inquired as to the reason we were told everyone was on holidays, so if you're intending to eat there you may want to see if it will actually be open.
The morning buffet was so-so limited selection of eggs, bacon, fruit nothing great but acceptable. However, the room and furniture where the buffet is located needs a good scrub or better yet paint the room and burn the furniture.
Location:
The location of the Kaningos was excellent as it was about a 20 min stroll down the road to the Plaka or a 5 min walk to the subway or bus stop for the doubledeckers. You are definetly right in the middle of the action so if that is what you are looking for in Athens then here you will find it.
I would not recommend the Kaningos 21 to any couples or families. However, if your looking to travel on a budget and spend as little time as possible in the hotel then the Kaningos might fill the bill just don't expect any mints on your pillow.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Great Central Hotel with nice - though small - rooms. All amenities you'd expect. Restaurant on roof was fully booked so didn't eat there, or see city view. Staff very pleasant.
Very good location as hotel is opposite office for early bus to take you to Agios Konstantinos for ferries to Northern Sporades Islands - Alonissos, Skopelos & Skiathos.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leithman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

My 19 yr old daughter and I went to Athens last week for a sight seeing trip. She always researches hotels very well and picked Kaningos 21. The reception staff are second to none, very helpful in giving directions. Well spoken english. The breakfast was very good, large selection of cereals,toasts, rolls, even a full cooked breakfast if you wanted it. So clean, all around the hotel. Rooms were lovely. Only trouble we had, we requested a non smoking room, which we had but half way through our week a lady opposite decided she wanted to smoke (althouth it was a non smoking floor), they moved us to another floor which was fine. I think the hotel should do what they do in America get you to sign a form at check in, if you smoke in that room they fine $1000 on your credit card which they hold as guarantee. Sights are amazing, can see Acropolis from restaurant. Make sure you go on open bus around athens also a a must The Olympic Stadium.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandSecrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights at Kaningos 21 on the 3ed floor. This was my second visit (first was with a group for vacations) and left with an excellent impression of the hotel and the people working there.
The lovation is very convinient to reach almost all central parts of athens in minutes. 5min to the Archaeological museum, 3min to the metro station and Omonia square, 15min to Syntagma square or constitution square where the parliament and Grande Bretagne hotel is (and Mcdonalds), Starbucks next corner with WiFi hotspot, Parking across the street, across the street its the ministry of finance or commerce so safety is not an issue.
About the rooms, both times i stayed on rooms facing the Kaningos street, probably the windows are designed that way so there was no noice at all!.
The design of the room was very modern, the first time it was a red colour this time was a grey one, a tv with loads of channels, the a/c worthwile talkin very nice and could go very strong, the bathroom with a shampoos and body showers, hairdryer and a window facing the bedroom. there was a safe in the room and a refrigerator.
The restaurant in the mezzanine floor is very cute all non smoking, the american buffet was simple but with great variety *even had greek vegetables and the greek bean soup.
the top floor has a restaurant wtih a view right on the acropolis, remember to bring your camera.
The lobby and reception area is very interesting and modern kind of a gallery like, with nice sofas and another bar that even greeks passing by would come in to have a coffee.
Anyway I m planning for another business trip in August and I will defnetly make my reservation here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Kaningos 21 is a great little hotel of approx 70 rooms. Right in the middle of Athens, 3minutes walk from main Metro station, very safe since ministry of commerce is in the next corner therefore, all kaningos square is guarded. Very modern Hotel with orange marbles on the outside, the area of lobby and reception fully covered with marbles whilst a few designer sculptures and funky sofas, the elevators descent, blue lighted like never seen before, rooms very nice, clean, modern with wooden floors, mattresses & pillows fresh and bathroom with optional window to the bedroom (like Bulgari hotel in Italy!) The breakfast was great with all kinds of delicacies and the stuff obliging and very helpful. from the first minute our group walked in, they made us feel at home and that’s something to write about!!! I don’t want to mention the price we paid for, best bargain for what we got throughout our trip. we had dinners in several hotels like Titania, Fresh and Delphi Art but there was no comparison. not in public areas, not in rooms (we visited different room types in each hotel) and most definitely on the stuff. Will come again for sure! Thanks Kaningos!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreekPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#44 of 282 in Athens
939 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 282 in Athens
2,076 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Exarchion Hotel
Exarchion Hotel
#126 of 282 in Athens
153 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Andronis Athens
Andronis Athens
#60 of 282 in Athens
89 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#23 of 282 in Athens
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaningos 21 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaningos 21 Hotel

Address: 12 Chalkokondili, Athens 106 77, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaningos 21 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kaningos 21 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaningos 21
Kaningos 21 Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing