We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
20
54
69
38
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
54
69
38
78
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 259 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I stayed there for 4 nights with a friend in a 2 bedroom with private w/c and was quite worried about hotel fivos given the amount of bad reviews on this site - but it actually turned out pretty good!

bathroom - stayed in a 2bedroom where there was no hot water at night, luckily wasnt a problem to have a cold/lukewarm shower for me since i got hot during the day! but when we moved into a 3bedroom with private w/c there was hot shower. bathroom is generally clean except whole floor gets wet because theres no shower curtains. they change your towels daily. toilet roll doesnt get refilled which means after running out u end up having to take some from their shared toilets.

bed - clean but they dont make the bed for u, u get a thin sheet as blanket which is perfectly fine given the hot weather, i didnt need to use it except when i got a bit chilly in the morning

air conditioning -weak, may as well not have it, but when u are actually sleeping u dont really need it because athens gets quite cold at night(in the week i stayed anyway which was end of may)

staff - extremely friendly and all speak english

internet - expensive as its 3euro for half an hr(we popped by athensstyle instead because they offered free internet and its just round the corner)

overall the room was satisfactory and i felt comfortable staying there, but they dont hoover the room can get quite dirty if ur staying there for long . our 2bedroom was facing the main road so got REALLY noisy and we were just above the canteen bit but moving into the 3bedroom was nice and quiet. there is no safe but its not a problem keeping your passport in the room, i think they only have one key for each room because whenever we went out during the day we had to give the key back for housekeeping.

breakfast - is included, altho its 7:30-10am the food/milk will sometimes run out by 9 and sometimes they dont have any to fill up.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mashichrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

While Hotel Fivos offers good value for the reasonable cost, they could be a much better facility if they tried. We only learned at checkout that the hotel had made a conscious decision to leave the promised air conditioning turned off even though it was 30 degrees Celsius, a heat wave. Their breakfast is nice but always exactly the same. We asked about an elevator and were never told they do not have one, then the hotel tried to put us on the fifth floor after we were promised a second floor room due to heavy luggage.
The three euro charge for a half hour of internet use is way too high, and you just get cut off when your time is used up.

The location is very noisy, but that is typical of Athens and not their fault. We would think twice before staying there again. VERIFY EVERYTHING AT HOTEL FIVOS BEFORE YOU DECIDE TO STAY THERE!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank elanders18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I read with amusement all the terrible things that everyone has written about the poor old Fivos.
Frankly my response is - what on earth do you expect for less than £20 per night? I am always amazed that some people expect accommodation like the Ritz at such bargain basement prices. What would you expect to get in any other capital city for that sort of price?
No - you wouldn't want to spend more than a night or two there, but the location is excellent and its somewhere to get your head down (eventually) and get a cheap breakfast in the morning. Once again - are some people expecting eggs benedict followed by smoked kippers and freshly squeezed orange for breakfast at that sort of price?
Don't expect the earth for your money and you won't be so disappointed. You can pay a lot more than this in Athens (and many other cities) and not get anything drastically better.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The_Lipsiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

From the point-of-view of a college student looking for a cheap place to stay, here's my review:

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights in the smallest room they offered. It had a bunk bed, a very small bathroom with a curtainless shower, a window facing nothing, and a table. that's it. When we arrived everything was dirty and not prepared for us. Dirty sheets, unemptied garbage cans, old towels etc, but they cleaned it up within minutes without a problem. The breakfast consists of bread, apples, cereal and juice. 3 euros for 30 minutes of internet time. The staff was kind and spoke as much English as they could. They will not allow you to bring guests to your room under any circumstances.

The location could not have been better. It is next to Monastiraki Square and multiple avenues of great shopping and dining. The Acropolis can be seen as soon as you walk out the front door of the hotel and is very easy to get to.

I personally did not mind staying there for 5 nights because I was only there to sleep. I went out every single day and night and explored the city. The more negative reviews you've been reading about this place were probably written by folks who booked the hotel and actually spent time there. The nights are very loud late into the night and early morning because of the adjacent clubs, but if you're a college student, you should be out at those clubs anyway. If you're someone on a budget who actually gets out to see things, book Hotel Fivos. It is not a nice hotel by any means, but it provides just enough to get some sleep and some food in you before you head out for the day.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank timr006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

This hotel does not have any advantages except its location. It is extremely close to Monastraki and all the historical sites one may want to visit. You do not need to use any kind of transportation if you stay in this hotel. The double room and the bathroom were very small but at least clean. There are no soaps or shampoos provided, so bring your own stuff. There was no way to plug the fridge in the room because there is only one socket in the room and it is near the bed which makes it impossible to plug the fridge. So consider the primitive fridge non-existent. The cupboard was falling apart which also makes it unusable. Also the old windows do not block the noise coming from the main street, so expect a lot of traffic noise. It will not be easy to sleep. The breakfast is practically non-existent, there is nothing proper to eat. The people at the reception are not friendly and do not seem to be knowledgeable neither about Athens nor other parts of Greece. Considering all these disadvantages, the hotel is not even cheap. I would not recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Lusnag9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews