We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Solo Female Traveller from Singapore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Athens
Ranked #33 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Solo Female Traveller from Singapore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The best time. Melia Athens Hotel takes care of you right from the start of your inquiry - all my emails prior to my actual visit were responded with care within 1-2 days of sent, even when the mails went through different staff members. They were all happy to help you make the most of your visit. For me, that was very important because they put their guests first consistently. And the best experience came when I actually got there, to find the rooms very clean and spacious, with spa & jacuzzi facilities included. I agree that wifi would of been nice to be available in the room, but the hotel lobby was so cozy that I actually had no problems spending my time there for internet connection. Dinner at Melia's rooftop Sky Lounge is wonderful and reasonably priced. Special thanks made out to Mrs.Sarantidou for taking her time to welcome me as I had unfounded anxiety prior to my trip. You can also find my hotel review at my personal blog www.thesuperfairy.blogspot.com .... BRAVO MELIA ATHENS!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSuperfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliaathens, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear TheSuperfairy,

Thank you so much for your nice comments about our facilities, services and staff.

We are pleased that you had a nice time in Athens and that you have enjoyed staying with us.

Looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards,

Zoi Kanto-Tourkmani

Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    782
    247
    64
    34
See reviews for
328
812
79
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

i with my family stayed in Melia on 7th july to 10th july and the experience was wonderful. We got a free upgrade to a deluxe room with jacuzzi and all the services that is reception, housekeeping were v good. i have only one suggestion that they should provide free internet to guests in their rooms also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajbadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Rajbadri,

Thank you for choosing Melia, for your recent stay in Athens, Greece.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our hotel’s facilities and services.

We do appreciate your comment regarding our internet service and the possibility of free access in our rooms.

We will keep your comment and use it for future reference.

Best Regards,

Zoi Kanto-Tourkmani

Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here last week and were very pleased with everything to do with the hotel but please beware that the area is not very nice and girls on their own should note that they'll need to take taxis to the centre at night to be safe. It only takes a few minutes in the car so it isn't expensive.

That said the hotel room, pool and staff were very nice indeed and the views from the roof are really nice too.

Breakfast was included in the tariff which was very reasonable for the standard of the hotel and it was of very high standard on each of the 4 mornings that we were there.

Room Tip: It's on quite a busy corner so we had a room on the top floor which was quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Linnilon,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that our services met your expectations.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Zoi Kanto-Tourkmani

Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spend our last night there.
Was a doble lux room at first floor, not very noisy.
We choose this hotel because is just a few minutes from the arqueological museum
and also the swimming pool is nice when you have children.
The personal of the hotel was correct.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elsagopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Elsagopi,

Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to read that the hotel personnel, facilities and location met your expectations.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards,

Zoi Kanto-Tourkmani

Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights. We expected more of this hotel.

Good:
1. we were given dining credit for 3 nights from the official web booking. good to use at the sky lounge at the hotel. The view there was stunning.
2. Room is well maintained. They provided housekeeping service twice a day.


Bad:
1. Free lobby wifi is terribly slow. We could not even send a email from my laptop. And we failed to find a place for better signal.
2. No adapter at the entire hotel. When we asked for an adapter, the receptionist just said no. I did not expect this in a 4-star international chain hotel.
3. The bathing water is terribly weak. dont expect a good bath there.
4. There was strike on the day we check in. it was already 6 pm. We were told to wait, coz they said they have to tidy up the room. And we waited for almost an hour. unbelievable.
5. The food variety in the hotel is limited. Although there is four restaurants in the hotel, one only serves breakfast, one was closed, lobby cafe only serves lunch and rooftop bar serves dinner. The lobby cafe and rooftop bar shared almost the same menu, as well as room service!!

Location is average. Very convenient, around 5 mins to metro. But very bad neighborhood. probably the most dangerous area in athens! People are very strange in that area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred_NG_119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Alfred_NG_119,

We are deeply sorry to read that you did not have the real Melia experience.

Please be assured that we will take your comments under serious consideration and we will try to improve our services accordingly.

We hope to have a chance to see you again in the near future and we reassure you the best of our attentions and services at all times.

Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Zoi Kanto-Tourkmani

Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just returned from a 3-night stay at the Hotel Melia, Athens and would highly recommend it. It's about a 5 minute walk to Omonia Square, and only about a 20 minute walk to Plaka, Monasteraki and the other central tourist areas. The Roof Garden is a delight - a great place to hang out after a long hot day sight-seeing, with a simply stunning view of the Acropolis at night-time. The rooms are well appointed, with the quietest air conditioning system I've ever experienced, and friendly helpful staff. I'd definitely stay there again on my next visit to Athens. I thought the breakfast a little pricey at €18, and the bar prices perhaps a little high (€8 for a half litre beer) - but then this is a 4-star hotel, so I guess that's to be expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the street outside, away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Chris 0,


Thank you very much for choosing Melia for your recent stay in Athens.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

Hope to see you again in the future.


Kind Regards,

Zoi Kanto-Tourkmani

Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Perfect place to stay in Athens, really central, at the same time close to the Touristic sites and the real Greek neighbourhoods, really nice comfy and welcoming hotel, lovely staff, and above all: the swimming pool !!!
One thing to say: please do not close the terrace between 6pm and 8pm, when one would love to either have a drink or a swim after a sunny hot day :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missluna8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear missluna8,

Thank you for choosing Melia Athens for your recent accommodation in Athens

We are please to read that our hotel met most of your expectations. We appreciate your comments regarding the operating hours of our swimming pool and we would really like to have it open during these two hours. However, kindly please note that it is necessary for us to keep the sky lounge closed between 18:00 and 20:00, in order to prepare the same area for the guests that wish to have their drink or dinner while enjoying the view of Acropolis & Lycabettus hill.

Looking forward to welcome you again, assuring you our best of attentions and services at all times

Best Regards,

Zoi Kanto-Tourkmani

Assistant Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#31 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#61 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#14 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Athens

Property: Melia Athens
Address: 14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 106 77, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#35 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#37 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Athens, member of the Melia Hotels International, is an oasis in the heart of the historic and business center of Athens. Here the Greek art of hospitality complements the legendary passion for service of the Spanish chain, creating a unique living experience. With the Acropolis and Lycabettus Hill as a backdrop, Melia Athens provides magnificent facilities, spacious dining areas with views of the historic monuments and a modern health club with cardiovascular equipment. Located in the heart of Athens, only 200 m away from the central metro station, the hotel provides a selection of 136 luxury rooms and suites located on 8 floors, all decorated in warm and earthy tones with wooden panels and marbled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs. Enjoy a comfortable stay in one of our 37sq suites which separate bedroom and living room, a hydromassage bathtub and separate shower cabin as well as Nespresso Coffee Station. Live "The Level Experience" in one of our 13 rooms by enjoying a set of unique level benefits. In the 9th floor you may get a fantastic workout with a view of the Acropolis, relax in the authentic steam bath and sauna with natural day light or cool off in our 22m pool as well as in the outdoor Jacuzzi from Mid May to mid October. Have your breakfast in Vivendo Restaurant and enjoy your coffee or a light snack at our Mondo Cafe. Don't miss the chance to visit our Sky Lounge Dinning Bar, located in the 9th floor and enjoy a cocktail or have your dinner under the stars with breathtaking view of the Acropolis and the Lycabettus Hill, operating Spring to Autumn (weather permitted). Share your experience from Melia Athens with the free Wi-Fi Internet in all public areas and rooms of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Athens Hotel Athens
Sol Melia Athens
Athens Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing