We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Athens
Nearby Hotels
$483
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$175
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
$206
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$168
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$334
$306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel(Athens)
$346
$304
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$214
$207
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$161
$117
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,302)
Filter reviews
2,302 results
Traveler rating
846
1,008
311
83
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
846
1,008
311
83
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungerooftop poolgreat hotelsupreme roomlevel experiencejacuzzi bathomonia squaremin walkmetro stationrooms are nicehop on hop off bussuperior roomcomfortable hotelmain attractionsgreat view of the acropolisgraffitigym
Filter
Updating list...
1,212 - 1,217 of 2,302 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This hotel were beautiful and really really worth its price! Big, nice room and bathroom. Excellent room. The pool area on the roof were perfect on the hot day and really nice to relax there. A bit expensive at the café/bar up there but okay price to get a soft drink or coffe. Kind staff and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Melia Hotel is a very calm and clean hotel in that area in Athens. Staffs are friendly and helpful. You can enjoy of your breakfast in a quiet place ( it has a lot of choice...) ...overall very comfortable hotel ...

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
Thank LadanKangani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel is very good, the room is spacious, enough comfortable, with nice linen. The bathroom is also good. The location is not the best one, but you have a subway station (Omonia Square) where you can easily take a train to Kifissia (one of the best parts of Athens for shopping, eating... lots of beautiful people) or to Gazi (the new cool place to be in Athens, full of restaurants, cafes, music, and art). The best at Melia Athens Hotel are: the rooftop (wonderful view of Acropolis, nice music, cool place for having a drink), the very friendly staff and, of course, their cheap rates.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BetoChristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We unfortuneatley arrived into Athens the day of the riots, the hotel shutters were partley down and had a lot of Grafitti which was off putting.
The hotel reception were very helpfull , there was a wifi area and a buisness center to print off boarding passes etc.
The room was spotlessly clean with 100% cotton bedlinen.
The rooftop although small had a very nice pool, loungers and bar .
This hotel is definatley 4 star .
We were told this area was not so good, we did not see any sign of trouble.
A taxi to the main shopping area was about €6.00
The next day as everything had calmed down we managed to see all the high lights of Athens. our over nite stay cost us €100 for a spacious double room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had read the reviews about the Omonia Square area around the hotel before booking and expected the worst. However, we were pleasantly surprised at how safe we felt walking back to the hotel at night. There was very little evidence of the seedy underworld and no worse than any other city we have visited.

The room itself was very comfortable and well maintained, with excellent air conditioning and a mini-bar. The maid service was excellent although the room carpet looked like it needed a good shampoo.

Breakfast was great - good selection of fruit, cold meats and hot buffet. If you like strong coffe, make sure to ask for an espresso as the filter coffee is very weak.

On our first night we tried the hotel restaurant on the roof-top terrace as we had arrived late in the evening. The views are spectacular at night however, the food was average and overpriced. Otherwise, we used our guidebooks to find some great tavernas in back streets, well away from expensive tourist retaurants.

Don't take a taxi from outside the hotel - the price quoted for a short trip was extornionate and we think the taxi driver was probably giving backhanders to the hotel porters. Instead, we walked 5 minutes to Omonia Square for the very clean and cheap metro or plentiful cheap taxis.

Overall we had a great stay in Athens and Melia Athens was extremely well positioned to enable us to make the best of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareHLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews