We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, helpful staff, convenient location”
Review of Economy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Economy Hotel
Ranked #74 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is within 30 or so walk of the Acropolis and within walking distance of two metro stations. The staff were very helpful to advise about how to get around and what to look at and the time frame that this would take. We were at the acropolis top within an hour of arriving on a sunny afternoon and had a great afternoon early evening walk to then have dinner on the street on the way back. The continental breakfast in the price is generous and the facilities in the rooms are quite satisfactory. The place was quiet and we found it suited our needs very well for this trip.

Room Tip: Ask to go to the roof for a look around in the evening as the view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 609 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel had everything you would expect for the price. By no means luxurious, but It was clean and comfortable, and the included breakfast buffet was pretty good. Perfect if like me you will be spending most of your time out and about in the city rather than hanging around in the hotel.
I had a quiet room; a 2 layers of double-glazed doors kept all of the city noise at bay. The free wifi worked perfectly in my room.
The staff on the front desk were very friendly and helpful; keen to make suggestions of how to spend time in the city and highlights not to miss.
The location is about 5 minutes north of Monastriaki Square and station, very close to the vibrant central market. It was easy to find, and I had no problems with it and felt perfectly safe; though maybe it best for those with curious children; there is a sex shop directly opposite!
If I am in Athens again on my own I will come back here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stevebob79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of Athens between the two squares, Omonoia and Monastiraki. The staff was very friendly and always wanted to help us with information about places to visit. The breakfast was quite boring. The same food everyday and only very small amounts of fruit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had used this hotel in 2008 and really liked how close it was to everything that we needed, clean and not badly priced.

We booked 2 rooms for this stay as we were giving our DD to a birthday surprise. This is a hotel that is best booked direct as cheapest price and you get free wifi in the room if you do. The other plus was direct contact with John who is still a beautiful person and delight to deal with. Before we arrived the room I had booked for us had dropped in price, John was all too happy to change it to the new rate for us and so easy. He also took on our request of having the rooms on the same floor.

When we arrived John greeted us like we were his only customers - his enthusiasm for Athens is so welcoming. The rooms have improved since we were last there, keycard access, little mini fridge (free water), in room wifi access and the aircons seemed to be upgraded as they were very cooling as well as turning off if you opened the balcony door which is very good energy saver. The room is always cleaned very well every day and I am impressed how well the cleaner does her job. This is not the most beautiful hotel but the rooms are roomy and beds are good.

The thing we love the most is as it was the 3 of us we would grab a giros from down the road and take some ouzo and coke to the rooftop and just relax with a beautiful view of the Acropolis.

Breakfast is enough to keep you going till lunchtime, fairly simple fare but still nicely presented and plenty of room. The other guy on front desk Dimitrios is just as good as John, he actually remembered us from our last visit I was impressed. On our last night we asked John what was the earliest train as we needed to go to the airport, he gave us the details and then said 'because your going before breakfast is on we will pack you a breakfast to take with you' OMG it was so cute - we had packed a ham n cheese sandwich, egg, cake, drink etc. There customer service is AMAZING!! So we had a great stay and it will definitely be a hotel we visit again and again, thankyou to the TA people in 2008 that helped recommend this place as its such a welcoming place.
Next time we promise to be back sooner rather than later this time :D

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacks24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is located in an area that is not very attractive but everything else was exceptional value. The staff went out of their way to assist us with information and directions. While it is not a luxury hotel, it was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Everything worked well and the breakfast which was included in the price had a variety of selections, well presented and fresh. It is close to many of the attractions and I would not hesitate in recommending it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent location - a 5 minute stroll to Monastiraki - the main gathering place to watch people...and go window shopping in the Plaka. All staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and gave excellent advice on what to see and when and where to eat dinner. Breakfast had lots of variety and open at good hours. Close to travel agents, stores and food. An excellent choice for budget minded tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torontogal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location - close to the Monastiraki & Omnia metro stations & close to the pedestrian shopping streets. The staff were really friendly & helpful - they knew where all the museums were and their opening times and were able to offer advice on ferries, buses, trains & metros.
The breakfast was really great - cereal, yoghurt, fruit, toast, coffee, tea, cake, ham & cheese - and when we left too early to have breakfast, they made up a packed breakfast for us.
The room was very spacious and clean and WiFi worked perfectly. Only downside was that the bathroom was a little on the small side.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Evripides Hotel
#51 of 282 in Athens
781 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#84 of 282 in Athens
721 reviews
Victory Inn
#54 of 282 in Athens
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,204 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#34 of 282 in Athens
499 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#148 of 282 in Athens
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotel

Address: 5 Klisthenous, Athens 105 52, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $48 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a family hotel with 56 rooms all with private facilities, located in the center of Athens, next the City Hall, in Athinas street. The location of hotel allows you easy access in walking distances to the most interesting places in Athens and to the public transportation (Nearest metro stop from the airport is Monastiraki station).Our friendly staff will try to make your stay more pleasant, providing you directions to all the Archaeological sites of the City, Greek taverns or restaurants, shopping areas, the flea market or to any point you wish to visit.Contact with us minimum 3 days before your arrival date to arrange an airport transfer (additional charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Economy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing