We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location, Location, Location in Athens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Economy Hotel
Ranked #64 of 337 Hotels in Athens
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location in Athens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here on our first few nights of our travels in and around the Greek Islands. I can't say more about the location. It is in easy walking distance to the Acropolis, the Plaka shopping district and other local markets. The day and night persons, John and George bent over backwards to help us with patience and kindness and good advice. There were there when we needed them and so helpful. The rooms are spartan, but clean and accomodating for our use....we just sleep there. It was just preseason so there were no large crowds, though several groups of high schoolers did come and go....but there noise was not a bother as we only saw them in the lobby. Breakfast was pretty basic as we found in most of the other hotels we stayed at, meat, cheese, cereal, canned fruit (would have loved something fresh), yogurt (always in greece), bread and sweet bread. All plenty for us and included with our room. There is internet access at computer in dining area which we used.Housekeeping was there all the time and helpful as well. Again, for the price I can't imagine a better location to be in Greece and the local flavor. I walk alone everyone morning and enjoyed the fresh bakeries, spices, meats and all the activity that starts on Athenas street early...I always felt save and everyone was helpful and kind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mainelymarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    234
    114
    22
    7
See reviews for
51
252
81
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The rooms are not well sound proofed and the reception does not care much about rowdy student travelers. Bring earplugs and be ready to need more sleep. Breakfast was OK. Internet access was OK. We'd look for a better location next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Love, Love, Love!! The staff was always helpful, they were able to give us directions to where we wanted to go with no problems, the day staff was always willing to give us more information and history of Athens. They were able to set up a side trip for us and the bus picked us up at the door. Free WiFi, housekeeping everyday and free breakfast in the spacious dining area. The hotel is walking distance to everywhere! They even mailed out my postcards.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and very happy with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I visited in December, so it was off-season, and the rates were excellent and included breakfast (less than GBP100 for 7 nights).

The staff are on hand 24/7 and helpful and friendly. The room was a comfortable size and cleaned every day. The breakfast was fairly basic, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, etc. but more than I expected and all you can eat.

My only small caveat for other travellers is that locals told me the location was a bit dodgy, but having said that I never had any trouble at all and was quite frequently out after dark. If you are a solo female traveller then you might want to do some more research perhaps (I'm a 6' male).

The location is very 'central' but was a wee way away from the restaurants I really wanted to try, however, public transport / walking are both options here. i would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Monasteraki Square tube station which in turn is 45 min tube journey from Athens airport. "Economy" is within very easy walking distance of all the main sites.The aforementioned square is a must as the sun goes down-all life is here. Have a beer sitting alongside Hadrians Library with the Parthenon lit up behind you. The hotel staff are a mine of information & the breakfast is excellent.We stayed here for a few days on our way to & from the Peloponnese-the coach station is a 10 minute taxi-drive away. We had a great time-all the locals could not have been friendlier & despite the rumours we felt perfectly safe wherever we went, be that the "tourist" areas or off the beaten track.The student quarter off Athinas Street is well worth a look of an evening. The Greek people are going through a hard time. Help them by visiting this fabulous country. Top Tip-access Acropolis via Theatre of Dionysos to avoid long queues.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thfcnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Excellent location, 10 minutes walk to the most popular sites in Athens. It is a very good value for money, very basic hotel, old but well maintained. The room was very clean and the staff was helpful. We were provided a map of the city and directions to find places. There are cheap market places within 5 minutes walking distance which you can buy fresh fruit with a very cheap price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Economy is one of the better budget hotels in Athens. Rooms are well maintained and the matresses are firm with good quality linen. Breakfast is basic but good. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. Walking distance to most of the major attractions in central Athens.

Room Tip: No smoking on floor seven and two floors up to a good view of Athens from the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank badway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
1.1 mi away
Victory Inn
Victory Inn
#23 of 337 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Centrotel Hotel
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 337 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#33 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Evripides Hotel
Evripides Hotel
#55 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Athens
Marina Hotel Athens
#80 of 337 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotel

Property: Economy Hotel
Address: 5 Klisthenous, Athens 105 52, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a family hotel with 56 rooms all with private facilities, located in the center of Athens, next the City Hall, in Athinas street. The location of hotel allows you easy access in walking distances to the most interesting places in Athens and to the public transportation (Nearest metro stop from the airport is Monastiraki station).Our friendly staff will try to make your stay more pleasant, providing you directions to all the Archaeological sites of the City, Greek taverns or restaurants, shopping areas, the flea market or to any point you wish to visit.Contact with us minimum 3 days before your arrival date to arrange an airport transfer (additional charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Economy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing