We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, amazing views! 20 minute walk to Acropolis.”
Review of Eridanus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eridanus Hotel
Ranked #150 of 325 Hotels in Athens
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great hotel, amazing views! 20 minute walk to Acropolis.”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

A last minute decision to visit Athens while on holiday in Rhodes. Eridanus ticked all the boxes, especially as we wanted to find a hotel with a view of the acropolis.

Lovely modern clean hotel, huge walk in shower room and a bath. Some rooms have a great view from balconies.

I had the best nights sleep for weeks. Even though the hotel is on a busy road, once you settle down for the night and close the balcony door you can't hear a thing.

The area around the hotel is far from as luxurious as the hotel, it is a bit run down in fact but I think this contributes to the charm of the place.

Only 20 minutes walk from Acropolis and the amazing ancient Agora (which I think is as spectacular as the Parthanon) it is very central and a great base for a trip to Athens.

If you're flying in to Athens remember the best way into central Athens in via the x95 bus from right outside departures, this will take you right into the heart of Athens on a nicely air conditioned modern bus.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    102
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
149
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We really liked the hotel. It was a great hotel especially for the price. Unfortunately, it abuts a very bad area and the staff seemed clueless as to how bad it really is. They sent us down the street (dark) to a local mini mart where my wife was grabbed by the neck on the way back and her necklace ripped off in about 1.5 seconds. The hotel did not offer to call the police and only said that they had never before had any bad experiences. Hopefully, this will clue them in to the dangers of their neighborhood. Having said that, we would stay here again if we ever (unlikey) returned to Athens. Should we return to Greece, we would not leave the airport and instead go directly to Crete.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank raybro25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for four nights with my wife in early July. We took the metro from the airport to Kerameikos (about 45 minutes). After getting off the metro we got completely lost and waived down a cab to take us a couple blocks to the hotel. The hotel is approx 15 minute walk from the hotel when you know where you are going.

Upon arrival to the hotel I enjoyed the look, though the surrounding area is a mess. Dont worry, most of the city is covered with graffiti, but it is safe. The hotel is located on a very busy street. Be careful when crossing, greek drivers make NY drivers look like pros.

The room is a good size. We had a comfy king size bed. The bed was not exactly a king bed, but two twins pushed together. The bathroom was very large with a nice shower.

Had a safe I was not able to lock. The hotel is a short walk to some of the sights, very good food up the street. Take a left out, right at the first light. Take the street up and you should find it.

Our room had a little view of the Acropolis.

Free internet, had to ask the front desk for a cord. We got no wifi in room, but did connect when attached to the cord in the wall.

Free breakfast, which was ok.

Front desk was very helpful.

In summary we enjoyed our stay, no complaints. I would not give it a 5 star rating but good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USESTATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

the hotel wasn't really good. we had to stay the first night in a room which was directly on the large road crossing athen. It was very noisy, the second night we could move to an other room in the backyard, this one was much better. They had no Wi-Fi connection. can't recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Really like this hotel. It is unasummunig and on a busy road but very close to the metro and easy to find. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the Acropolis which was very cool. Big room with large balcony, very comfortable bed and stylish bathroom with Hermes toiletries. The staff were helpful and friendly and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Location - Not at the very center of things - that what be at syntagma or the placa. But for the same price you would pay for a very basic hotel room at the above mentioned areas of town, you upgrade yourself to a luxurious hotel, just 10 minutes away. If you are willing to make that sacrifice, you will get a much higher value for you money. Also a little less than a 10 minute walk from boyth the Keramikos and Thissio metro stations.
Reception - Very courteous and helpful as tourist guides (attractions, restaurants, driving out of town).
Rooms - Beautiful and clean. Not spacious.
Breakfast - Basic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch_Rapp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I've read reviews saying this hotel is inconveniently located and in a bad neighbourhood. Honestly, this neighbourhood is not that bad. There are some motorcycle shops and Chinese stores around but that's it. It is also within 15 min WALK from the acropolis and STEPS from Gazi. Taxi ride to Syntagma square was less than 5 euro. We didn't need to take the subway at all due to the hotels location!

Pros:
1) Very helpful staff
2) Clean rooms with Hermes bath products and waffle comb robes
3) COMPLETELY SOUNDPROOF - the street is noisy outside but the balconies have double pane soundproof glass. Slept like a baby.
4) Large variety during breakfast
5) FREE INTERNET THAT WORKS

Cons:
1) Water splashed everywhere in the bathroom when showering
2) King size bed was actually 2 beds pushed together so there was a slight ridge down the middle - I've found this is the norm in Greek hotels
3) Price was reasonable

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank powered_by_moogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Semiramis
#3 of 10 in Kifisia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#64 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eridanus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eridanus Hotel

Property: Eridanus Hotel
Address: 78 Piraeus Street, Athens 10435, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#72 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eridanus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Prestigia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eridanus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eridanus Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing