We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in convenient location”
Review of Eridanus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eridanus Hotel
Ranked #149 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel in convenient location”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Really like this hotel. It is unasummunig and on a busy road but very close to the metro and easy to find. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the Acropolis which was very cool. Big room with large balcony, very comfortable bed and stylish bathroom with Hermes toiletries. The staff were helpful and friendly and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    102
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
149
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Location - Not at the very center of things - that what be at syntagma or the placa. But for the same price you would pay for a very basic hotel room at the above mentioned areas of town, you upgrade yourself to a luxurious hotel, just 10 minutes away. If you are willing to make that sacrifice, you will get a much higher value for you money. Also a little less than a 10 minute walk from boyth the Keramikos and Thissio metro stations.
Reception - Very courteous and helpful as tourist guides (attractions, restaurants, driving out of town).
Rooms - Beautiful and clean. Not spacious.
Breakfast - Basic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch_Rapp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I've read reviews saying this hotel is inconveniently located and in a bad neighbourhood. Honestly, this neighbourhood is not that bad. There are some motorcycle shops and Chinese stores around but that's it. It is also within 15 min WALK from the acropolis and STEPS from Gazi. Taxi ride to Syntagma square was less than 5 euro. We didn't need to take the subway at all due to the hotels location!

Pros:
1) Very helpful staff
2) Clean rooms with Hermes bath products and waffle comb robes
3) COMPLETELY SOUNDPROOF - the street is noisy outside but the balconies have double pane soundproof glass. Slept like a baby.
4) Large variety during breakfast
5) FREE INTERNET THAT WORKS

Cons:
1) Water splashed everywhere in the bathroom when showering
2) King size bed was actually 2 beds pushed together so there was a slight ridge down the middle - I've found this is the norm in Greek hotels
3) Price was reasonable

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank powered_by_moogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Nice hotel. Very clean. But very dissapointed. Came home one night to realize ray bans and camera with alllll of our pictures were missing. So dissapointed for staff of a 5 star hotel to be stealing. Will never stay here again. Lock your valuables if u do.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvares04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Very confortable and friendly design hotel. Staff working there is always very helpful, nice and efficient. Rooms are well furnished and the green marble bathroom looks really great. The Hermes toiletries set is definitely chic.

I had one dinner with room service and ordered one beef sirloin steak, which was good but nothing exceptional. Breakfast was great, very good cakes and croissants plus freshly squeezed juices, friendly service.

I also appreciated the location, it's true that the neighborhood is a bit run-down, but it's in a funky area full of nightlife options plus it's close to the archeological sites of kerameikos and parthenon.

All in all I had a very confortable and nice stay here, I'll probably stay again in this hotel when in Athens.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma, italia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel at either end of a trip to the islands, and we were really happy with our choice. It is a fantastic boutique hotel - the rooms were large and very comfortable, the bathroom was enormous and well-stocked with quality toiletries, and the breakfast was fantastic. And although it is not immediately obvious, there are some great restaurants nearby. We just loved coming back here at the end of a day touring athens, and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting athens!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jbamail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My stay at the Eridanus "Luxury Art Hotel" was a very pleasant one.

Although the hotel itself is located on busy Piraeus street, a not so hospitable looking area of town composed of motorbike repair shops and some shady looking characters, we had no trouble walking from the hotel to the attractions at night. A walk to the main historic attractions as well as the Syntagma and Plaka neighborhoods took between 15-30 min.

A cab ride should cost no more than 10 euros from the hotel to the Syntagma, 20 euros to Piraeus. Traffic however is a nightmare in Athens. It's a 15 minute walk to Thissio metro station from the hotel.

The staff in the hotel were courteous and helpful.

The room itself was of decent size, especially for Europe. The spa bathroom was huge, consisting of a bath and walk in shower. The spa bathroom was indeed the highlight of the room and the rain head in the walk-in shower provided an excellent stream of hot water after a long day of exploring the city. The 'Hermes' toiletries were a nice touch. However, some of the elements in the bathroom could have used a refreshment as they looked a bit worn.

Rooms were clean and housekeeping was very good.

The bed in the room was very comfortable. I slept like a baby.

The room came with a decent sized safe. My laptop didn't fit so I left it at the hotel desk.

Our room did not come with a good view even though some rooms have fantastic views of the Acropolis.

LCD tv in the room. Selection of channels was limited, especially in English but who comes to Athens to stay in the room anyway?

Wi-Fi high speed internet in the room was free of charge. So was the mineral water in the minibar and soft drinks (not including the juices). I suggest to read the list of free items in the mini bar to avoid any unpleasant charges when checking out.

Breakfast at the hotel was good. There was a buffet and an option to order specific eggs from the chef. Vegetables were available upon request. We did not eat lunch/dinner at the hotel restaurant. One of the highest rated restaurants in Athens and Greece (I believe it's rated as a 1 Michelin star) is right next door. We didn't eat there either.

The hotel has a designated parking lot a few minutes walk away, if you're arriving by car or planning on renting one.

I have enjoyed my stay at the Eridanus and would definitely consider staying there again. However, as a person who's stayed in 5 star hotels in East Asia, I cannot rate this hotel as a 5 star hotel, more as a 4 star with a 5 star bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotterAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Semiramis
#3 of 10 in Kifisia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#66 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eridanus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eridanus Hotel

Property: Eridanus Hotel
Address: 78 Piraeus Street, Athens 10435, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#72 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eridanus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eridanus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eridanus Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing