We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming basis for Athens top monument visits”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In the shadows of Acropolis.. The front door of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
In the shadows of Acropolis..
The front door of the house
A view of the roof garden
The sitting area of the roof garden
Another view of the roof garden
The main entrance of the house
The living room
A view of the living room looking at the main entrance of the house
A view of the living room looking at the main entrance of the house
Another view of the living room
Another view of the living room
The kitchen
The first bedroom in the main floor
Another view of the first bedroom in the main floor
The second bedroom in the main floor
Another view of the second bedroom in the main floor
The main floor bathroom
Another view of the main floor bathroom
The main floor WC
The upstairs bedroom
Another view of the upstairs bedroom
Another view of the upstairs bedroom
The upstairs bathroom
The upstairs bathroom with jacuzzi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Athens, Attica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tiina Byr...
1 review
“Charming basis for Athens top monument visits”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Griffin house has a touch of an artist in its decoration, and is most conveniently located just south of Acropolis and the very touristic Plaka area. it is located in a very narrow and quiet street. However, we noticed that on Saturday evening the nearby bouzouki tavern music came through. Not disturbing for us, though.
We had problems with warm water, and judging from the amount of greasy plates in the cupboard we were not the only ones to have this issue. the problem was solved within a few hours time, and the mobilization of support staff was good. The owner seems to be some distance away.
The driver, Spiros, was most friendly and played a key role in solving the warm water problem. He also picked us up to go to the airport at 3am.
Suggestion to the owner: check the warm water ahead of the arrival of the guests to avoid waiting. sometimes, when you arrive late, warm shower is greatly appreciated.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2018
Dear Tina,

than you for you constructive feedback. We have taken everything on board and we are trying to do our best to improve our services (and fix the hot water issue that now, works perfrctly!).
Thank you, once more for choosing staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesryan...
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent location in the heart of Athens.”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Acropolis Griffin House is within walking distance to all facilities and sites. The hosts were very helpful in all facets of booking, arranging airport pick ups and drop offs. The accommodation itself was excellent and had everything you require to make you comfortable during your stay. I thoroughly recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2018
Thank you for your kind words and we are so pleased that you had enjoyed your stay!

It was a pleasure hosting you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
continent...
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, tastefully decorated house”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We loved mostly every second of our stay at the Griffin House. I'll start my review with the "bad" to get them out of the way and then concentrate on the positive.

We some an issue with a toilet which was fixed within 24 hours. The biggest issue that we had during our stay and I am not sure if there is something that our host could do about it, was the Internet - it sucked!! Not sure if it was the router that was dropping our connections constantly or the service provider, but the wireless connectivity was sub-par.

With those two issues out of the way, I can move on to what we appreciated about this place and the hosts.

The Location: is just perfect, at the bottom of the Acropolis, literally 60 seconds walk from the Hop On Hop Off buses. There are small shops and bakeries, literally within a minute walk, so anything we needed, from groceries to fresh pastries, take out gyros and souvlaki's as well as beer and wine, is right there. The charming Plaka district with hundreds of tavernas and souvenir shops is right there, so finding a place to eat every night was not an issue.

The House: is a rare gem. The decor: pictures, rugs, wood details, the high ceilings, etc. made our stay a delight. The living area is spacious and so are the bedrooms. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the dishes, cutlery and utensils that we needed. The hosts even left a bottle of red wine on the table for us - how gracious. The beds were comfortable with clean bed sheets and plenty of towels. Air conditioning was available in every room, including the living area. The terrace of the upper level was a quiet space where we enjoyed our coffees in the mornings and a drink late at night. The bathrooms had lots of hot water and enough pressure. The art books collection together with the DVD-s in the living room was a nice addition and gave us a sense of the owners interests.

Conclusion: I would highly recommend the Griffin House in Athens and if I ever end up in this part of the world, I will definitely stay there again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thank you so much for your review and your kind words. We apologize for the internet issue and we do appreciate your feedback on this. We will have a look on it, trying to make sure it won't be problem again. If you ever end up in Athens again, will be more happy to host you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcodon
Willows, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ideal location, ideal facility, ideal people to rent from.”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Chryssa and her girls were very accommodating and genuinely friendly throughout our stay. The apartment was perfect for our needs, and within walking distance to everywhere. The master bedroom is on the top floor up a steep circular staircase. It posed no problem for us, but might be an issue for someone averse to stairs.
Our favorite place for dinner was at Athinaikon, on Mitropoleos 34, a block near Syntagma square, a block from the Cathedral.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words! Was our pleasure hosting you and really glad that you had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nez D
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
641 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“A home away from home!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My first experience with tripadvisor's vacation rentals and it was the perfect stay!! The pictures do not do the place justice, as we felt right at home.. Starting from the great communication, all the way to the house having all the necessary amenities. Alex even helped us arrange our airport pickup and drop off.

The location was also impeccable as we were steps away from a great bakery, a small convenience store, and a café that served coffee in the morning and drinks at night. Five minutes away were plenty of restaurants and the Acropolis Museum.

In addition to all this, you get to deal with Spiros, a local character who knows everything about Greece. He was awesome, as he helped us schedule tours, find local restaurants, and more. I am a planner so I already had things in place, but that all changed once I spoke to Spiros, and happy I did as he had the best insight into everything local and tourist.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2017
Dear Nez,

thank you for your kind words.

It was a pleasure hosting you in our house and we are glad that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. You were the perfect guests and we cannot thank you enough!

Wishing you an enjoyable rest of the summer!

All the best!

Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place in a Perfect Location”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This property is tucked in a quiet alley just steps away from everything you want to see near the Acropolis. Loved the eclectic style. Felt very much at home in Athens while staying here. Spiro was very helpful with lots of suggestions and was able to provide us with reliable transportation to the port. The only problem we had was getting connected to the internet. It took a whole 24 hours to figure it out but it was finally resolved. Wouldn't have been a big deal except that we didn't have cell service and relied on internet. And be aware that the breaker for the hot water heater may trip and you won't have hot water unless you figure it out like we did. I would suggest having whoever shows you the unit to point out where the breaker panel is (over the bed upstairs) and the boiler switch (on the wall near the main entryway) just in case. This way you will have a warm shower. But I highly recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2017
Thank you, so much for your review and your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your constructive feedback. We apologize for any inconvinience with the internet and the hot water and we are working hard, so similar issues will not apply to future guests.

Wishing you an enjoyable rest of summer.
Thank you!

Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the perfect place to stay in Athens”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is smart and stylish, but also comfortable - easy relax and enjoy. Everything works perfectly, the kitchen is modern and well stocked. I could go on, but the photos may tell the tale best.

The location is ideal - right beside the Acropolis Museum and only minutes walk from the Acropolis itself and countless really nice cafés, shops and the other marvels of Athens. However the street is an oasis of tranquillity with only an occasional pedestrian or cat ambling by.

Despite these exceptional merits, the best thing by far was our charming host. We had already been delayed on our flight before an unexpected hold-up with car hire. I had expected to arrive by taxi or metro and hadn't prepared to find the house by car. Everything was looked after by Chryssa who found us, made us incredibly welcome, leaving us to enjoy a sumptuous hospitality basket!!! I cannot thank her enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2017
Thank you, for your kind words, Michael. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Chryssa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing