We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and uplifting in the heart of the city market area”
Review of Fresh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fresh Hotel
Ranked #32 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Modern and uplifting in the heart of the city market area”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed three nights here. Very contemporary, simple, bright, colourful decor. Comfortable rooms, well equipped, perhaps just a touch on the small side. Staff are exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable. An excellent breakfast (included in price). Rooftop bar and restaurant with a view of the Acropolis and a small swimming pool. Only negatives are: because of very central location it is prone to noise at night and early in the morning; and the air conditioning is not as powerful as it should be so the place gets a little bit too hot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny_jay_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    891
    200
    48
    29
See reviews for
328
861
143
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having booked the hotel and then read reviews about the local area I was initially a bit concerned but once we arrived then spent a few days there I wondered what I was concerned about!
Hotel is very clean, tidy and contemporary, I was with 3 other friends and we had room 516 & 517 with a inter connecting small passage between our rooms which was great for us. The bedrooms are small but there is adequate hanging space and two drawer storage which is suitable for a short stay. There is a safe in the wardrobe and room 516 had a balcony that looked out over the side street, the balcony was small. The bathroom again is small with a shower but everything is very clean.
The breakfast is fantastic, lovely selection of food in a very contemporary clean bright surroundings. The staff were very helpful and I could not fault anything about our stay.

The roof top bar is very nice with a lovely view to the Acropolis and also nice food, there is a pool, very small but great for a dip to cool off, a small seating and bathing area but great view of Athens, which sadly looks a bit shabby.

If I had stayed any longer I probably would have stayed in one of the larger hotels but overall my experience at Hotel Fresh was nothing other than a pleasant one with memories to remember

Its a shame the hotel is surrounded by graffiti everywhere but then the whole of Athens seemed to be which makes it look so run down and dodgy, at night the 4 of us stuck to the main streets and did not feel threatened in any way but we did go off down side streets one evening looking for a local restaurant and I would not recommend that, there are a lot of immigrants and homeless people which can feel a bit intimidating and make sure day and night when walking around you keep valuables very close

The hotel is about a ten minute walk from Monastiraki wit its shops and flea markets and about 15 - 20 minutes from Plaka which is a nice little area, small streets, shops, bars and tavernas. Syntagma also has more what I call high street shops as well as local shops, Syntagma is where you need to head to pick up the Hop In sightseeing bus which is a great way to get round Athens during the day

The Acropolis is a must and so is the one day 3 Island tour to Hydra, Poros and Aegina, Hydra is super, no cars, small little streets, donkeys in a beautiful setting, the trip costs around 90 euros including transfers but well well worth it

We were only there a few days but a restauarant/bar in Monastiraki worth visiting is 21 they have live music and good food. Also jump in a taxi to Kolanaki which is about 10 mins away and around 9 euros and go to Malconis restaurant with a bar/club upstairs or walk across the road to the small parade of bars and visit Bar Mousa, they had really good music playing there

Room Tip: Inter connecting rooms for families or friends, we were in 516 & 517
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snitch_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresh36, Guest Relations Manager at Fresh Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear snitch_8 thank you for taking the time to review Fresh Hotel Athens. We apreciate your
feedback and we look forward to see you on your next visit in Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

i recently made a return to this hotel after several years.I was pleased to see that the high standards which I encountered previously are being maintained.My room was on the fourth floor with a balacony.Not much of a view but nice for a breath of air on a morning.The room was well equipped with a nice flat screen TV with lots of channels.There was also an in room safe and plenty of wardrobe space plus individual room heating/cooling which was good as the weather did vary quite a bit The bathroom had an excellent rain shower and almost the highlight of my visit,fantastic Korres products for the guest to use.
The buffet breakfast was excellent with pleny of choice of both hot an cold options.Definately a good way to start the day.
The Air Lounge on the top floor is very nice with decent views to the Acropolis and across the city.I had a couple of beers and a coffee and thought they were fairly priced for the location.
I had a go in the gym this time and it is small but pretty decent with enough equipment to give you a reasonable workout.All the staff I encountered were friendly,helpful and professional
I had no issues with the area around the hotel and enjoyed its proximity on foot to the major attractions.It is also conveniently situated midway between Omonia and Monistiraki metro stations.
I think this was my last visit to Athens but if circumstances changed,I would definately return to Fresh

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard130558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresh36, Guest Relations Manager at Fresh Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear richard130558, thank you for returning to Fresh Hotel Athens. We are very pleased to hear that you once more enjoyed your stay here. We really hope that we see you again at Fresh Hotel Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booked this hotel at the last minute and was able to secure a decent rate.

The staff were phenomenal -- most especially Efi at the front desk. All were very hospitable and ready to answer any questions. Got a room with a balcony which was a good size and immaculately clean. The rooms was nicely decorated with a comfortable bed and work area. Clean bathroom, well stocked with Korres amenities. Bar/restaurant on the 9th floor served a great dinner with a nice view of the Acropolis. Breakfast buffet was included in the room rate and included a wide variety of food and juices. On departure, I left prior to breakfast being served and they had a take-away bag ready for me when I checked out.

As others have noted, the neighborhood surrounding the hotel was a bit on the scrubby side. That said, I didn't once feel unsafe, even walking to the metro with all of my stuff before sunrise. The hotel is located between two metro stations -- if coming from the airport, alight at the Monastiraki station and walk up Athens St just a few blocks.

I'd highly recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay that is great value for money. The proximity to the metro and the Plaka also make this hotel an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHappyTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresh36, Guest Relations Manager at Fresh Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear HappyTraveler73 we are very glad that you had a good time during your stay in fresh Hotel Athens. We look forward to see you again on your next visit in Athens. Until then…keep the excitement Fresh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Staff is very nice. Breakfast buffet is awesome. Decent gym. Room is kept neat everyday. Roof top bar/restaurant is nice too and refreshing after full day of work.

Toilets don't have exhaust fans, caused discomfort after morning shower.

Regarding the location, one side of the hotel is shabby. Did not feel comfortable walking those streets at evening. Otherside is close to a populated area with markets and lights.

Hotel is in walkable distance to Acropolis.

I would stay again as the value this hotel offers is great for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaghuChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A really nice hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff. The room that we stayed in wasn't that big but was sufficient for a five day stay. Just about enough storage for our clothes but not much more. The breakfast was excellent and really was a good start to each day.

The only thing that my wife and I had problems with was the area surrounding the hotel. It was a little seedy and run down and late at night it felt uncomfortable walking in the surrounding streets. Having said that it is in a great position to see everything that central Athens has to offer. Literally we were just a few minutes walk away from the centre of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul,Beykoz
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A good looking new Hotel in the Center of Athen.The Stuff was very helpful, from the check In to the check out. Rooms are big enough. As my room was without balcony, I asked at the reception and they immediately changed my room to another one with the balcony.At the Roof there is very nice bar with a Terrace where you can see the Acropolis. Wifi was available in all areas.
The Breakfast room is designed with nice and fresh colors. So everything was appropriate with the name of the Hotel.
The only negative point to mention is that you feel a little uncomfortable around the hotel at the night. We were warned not to walk on the dark streets around the hotel. Probably the surrounding area is not always safe. We only stayed there for two nights and spend all the day time outside of Athen and came back to the hotel just to sleep. I was really happy with my choice for Fresh Hotel.
As written before all the stuff was very kindly. After the check out, the guy at the reception helped me to carry my luggages in to the taxi. I can totally advise this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrumMan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh Hotel

Property: Fresh Hotel
Address: 26 Sofokleous, Athens 105 52, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#22 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#22 Business Hotel in Athens
#23 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fresh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown in the heart of Athens, Fresh Hotel is a stylish, urban resort, with unconventional atmosphere, cool and thoughtful service. With simple lines and vivid colors in a minimalist, sleekly designed sanctuary, the Hotel surrounds guests in absolute calm. The joy of life takes on a new meaning in Fresh Hotel. The Fresh Hotel is located right in the heart of Athens, next to the beautiful Town hall, and only a few minutes walk from Syntagma Square and the old market place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fresh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresh Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing