We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice theme restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hard Rock Cafe Athens - CLOSED

Hard Rock Cafe Athens
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Syntagma
Description: Athens is rocking as Hard Rock Café Athens opened its doors in the historic Plaka District. Housed at 18 Filellinon Street- in the heart of Athens- Hard Rock Cafe Athens is Greece’s first Hard Rock and offers its guests great American food in a rock ‘n’ roll atmosphere.The 200-seat Cafe features Hard Rock’s outstanding menu, collectible merchandise and world-famous memorabilia collection, including items representing contemporary stars – such as a pair of Britney Spears’ boots and a shirt and jacket worn by Prince in his movie “Purple Rain” – as well as items from rock legends – like a jacket from Elvis Presley’s personal collection and a tie worn by John Lennon. Hard Rock Café Athens is housed in a neoclassic building, with three separated floors, which can accommodate group’s meals, corporate events, private parties, workshops, product presentations, kid’s parties and any kind of event. In our ground floor, is situated our Rock Shop, with collectible merchandise. Our collection has a variety of t-shirts, hats, pins glassware, teddy bears that you can only find in Hard Rock Café Athens.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very nice theme restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have visited 2 other HRCs in the States one in Orlando and one in Boston, I found that between all three of them the service was the best in Athens.The servers were quick to respond when you needed anything. We started with their signature drink the Hurricane for me and the popular Margarita for my wife they were very well made. The food was as expected for all HRCs the appetizer we ordered was the nachos with cheese it was good and alot, but we were so full we could only split 1 burger between the 2 of us. As far as price goes to be fair its not the reastaurant's fault for the euro to be so high for exchange against the us dollar. We also purchased a tee shirt in the store, their supplies were low, but 1 out of 2 is not bad. over all we really enjoyed our visit at the Athens Hard Rock Cafe! We wanted to visit the other HRC -Glyfada in Athens, but unfortunately it was closed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zeusta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is no longer an authentic Hard Rock Cafe”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

When I tried to book a priority seating on line, I noticed it wasn't listed on the Hard Rock site. So, I wrote them an email, and I was informed that Hard Rock Cafe ceased operations in Athens in March of this year. But, when I called, I was informed that Hard Rock Cafe was indeed operating. OK, I figured a franchise.

We went and while the decor is still the same, the similarities to HRC end there. We ordered signature drinks: a Mojito and a Hurricane. THey were served in water glasses (Think seaside taverna) and the Mojito was mixed with black, wilted spearmint. We sent that one back for a Diet Coke instead. The Hurricane was not well mixed and frankly tasted awful. I did not send it back but nor did I drink it.

Then we ordered the barbecue chicken and classic standby twisty mac and cheese. The BBQ chicken was served like boiled (I am thinking maybe cooked, frozen, then microwaved??) That was the texture, with barbecue sauce poured out of a jar on top. Yes, that's right. It was not cooked with bbq sauce, the sauce was added afterwards kinda like putting ketchup on a burger. It was inedible.

The mac and cheese was NOT HRC mac and cheese. Think more like twisty pasta with a cheap version of a knorr powdered sauce mix. Honestly. The Chicken was rubbery. Inedible. We paid and left. No one asked us why we were not eating. The hostess did stop by as we were being served to ask if everything was ok. We hadn't started eating (or trying to) yet.

I don't see how this establishment is allowed to operate under the HRC name. It is an embarrassment to Athens and an embarrassment to HRC.

Please do not judge Athens nor HRC by what you encounter here.

As for merchandise, the only pins I saw were leftovers from a long defunct HRC on Mykonos. I did not look at the shirts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank debsters41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Where's the Rock in Hard Rock?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband loves to visit HRCs in any city we go, so we made a point to find this one. It was fairly easy to get to, but once we arrived, we didn't even think the place was open. The building has potential to be an awesome place (three levels with three different themes, the typical stellar memorabelia...), but it was practically empty. The bottom level was the only level open. There was no live music (even on a late, Saturday night). I have a feeling this place will not be open very long...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blankenberge, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“cured (?)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

if any hrc can be a cure for the obsession of dining in an hard rock in every major city you visit (and buy the obvious t-shirt), this one can. almost empty house, food twice as expensive as in the dozens of restaurants nearby, clothing three times. and why not add a local flavor to menu's and memorabilia?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lukdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
155 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“New HRC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The old Hard Rock closed, this one is now open, but it isn't listed on the main Hard Rock website. It is located just a block west of Leof. Vasisilis Amalias, the large avenue connecting the Parliament and Hadrian's Arch, just behind the Russian church. Address: Filellinon 18.

The menu is typical Hard Rock, but the local beer on tap, Alpha, is definitely worth a try, especially on a hot summer day. Very friendly staff!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GH_traveler_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe Athens also viewed

 
Nea Filadelfia, Athens
Galatsi, Athens
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing