We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual Taverna away from the Plaka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of To Paradosiako

To Paradosiako
Ranked #464 of 3,596 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Plaka
Description: Traditional Greek Cuisine with variety of fresh fish, calamari, grilled meat and plenty of vegetarian dishes. You can try our specialties during lunch or dinner time.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Casual Taverna away from the Plaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Although centrally located, this restaurant is far enough from the Plaka to not have the hectic "callers" and press of people characteristic of the restaurants in the Plaka. The restaurant wasn't busy when we went in, but it seems that selling good food is more important than sit down service...we saw about 10 different locals come in to get "homemade" Greek food for takeaway. That isn't to say that the service wasn't good, it was completely fine, and everyone from a young waitress to what seemed like "mama" participated in the service at times.

But oh the food. So incredibly delicious. We had the baked tomato and Feta appetizer...I could eat it every day for a week. Then we shared two entrees among 3 adults and gorged on delicious meats and sides. For delicious, non-fussy, Greek food in a non-pressured environment, this is a perfect alternative.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    41
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went here twice during our stay in Athens. Great food served in a relaxing atmosphere. Outside tables good people watching spot! Meals very fresh and tasty and a good selection of what I believe is traditional Greek dishes. Can recommend as a place to try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 56mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

A good alternative to Paradosiako--same menu, but less crowded and more tranquil (at least when I ate there), with friendlier and more attentive service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank adriaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not what I expected!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

I visited this restaurant one day when I told my wife that I really miss Greek food. We live in Athens so we decided to check on the TripAdvisor map to find a Greek traditional (Paradosiako) restaurant somewhere downtown.
To my surprise although the restaurant wasn’t very busy, most of the cooked dishes were already gone and the choices were limited (only a handful of dishes left). The restaurant opens in the mornings too as we were told, but this didn’t explain the fact why they didn’t cook fresh food for their evening guests.
Anyway we chose what seemed familiar or interesting. I must admit the “imam baildi” was nice (could not match my grandmother’s cooking though), the cod fish was deep fried just fine and the garlic salad (skordalia) although it was made with bread instead of potato, was fine too.
I didn’t like at all some kind of “beef with vegetables dish” which when it arrived at our table, it looked very different than the display at the kitchen window. The meat I guess was ok, but the vegetables seemed like a mushy combo of green beans and zucchini. It was so overcooked that I could not feel any fiber when I was chewing it. It was not presentable at all and to be honest, it seemed to me like a desperate effort to get rid of some leftovers. If I was a foreigner, perhaps I wouldn’t have noticed anything peculiar, but common I'm Greek!!
What disturbed me also a bit was the reluctance of the waiter to do his job properly. Only of course when he noticed that we were taking photos he suddenly changed attitude and became somewhat friendlier.
It's not my job to tell you if you should go or not, perhaps my experience was just a bad moment. You should read the other reviews and decide by yourself.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just love the place, great dinner, great food, great service....had a wonderful time, thank you Dimitri, hope to see you again very soon :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Paradosiako also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to To Paradosiako? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing