We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the food, stay for the excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Makalo

Makalo
Ranked #29 of 3,652 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Syntagma
Description: Food and drink suggestions based on seasonal products, with the best value for quality. Classic cocktails made with a twist combined with imaginative dishes, like a Bloody Mary with red peppers from Florina and sumac, which supplements a hot chickpea salad,with sun-dried tomato, fresh basil and smoked pork tenderloin. The best choice for a lunch break or to start your night out.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Come for the food, stay for the excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We visited Makalo after reading the tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. Situated only a 5 minute walk from the Agora and in a nice little side street, we were waited on by the friendliest wait staff we have encountered in our Europe trip. The food was modern without letting go of traditional Greek cuisine, and much cheaper than expected. Facilities were impeccably clean and cafe design was very eye catching, as well as being comfortable in the shade out the front of the building. We'll definitely be going back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    74
    22
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
athens gr
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am writing this report while i have lunch at this lovely spot! The food is delicious, the service excellent and i definitely recommend it for a fast break in the center of Athens!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aqualized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited Makalo as it was close to our hotel and it was recommened quite highly on Trip Advisor and we werent dissapointed. The gentleman thast served us, I'm not sure if he was the owner or not, but he was very funny and very friendly and although he thought his English was terrible it wasn't. He told us the restaurant was quite new and so the menu's were written in pen by hand on some A4 sheets of paper, which we thought was quite cute anyway. Once we'd ordered he bought us some fresh orange juice and a special fresh lemonade recipe in which he used cardomom seeds and put them in the top of the glass which gave so much depth to the drink it was fantastic. He then came and said that the food was a little late because of something to do with the burger my partner had order although we hadn't noticed at all, nevertheless he took the cost of my partners drink off the bill! This was unnessisary but a very sweet gesture. The food when it came was amazing. I had a four cheese lasagne which was so creamy and my partner said the burger he had was the best meal he'd had the whole trip!

The decor is also worth a mention as it's quirky and cute and the specials are written on a chalkboard outside with different coloured chalk.

Although this place is new I'm sure it will quickly become one of the most popular places to eat and drink in the city centre. The best thing about it was that the locals love it too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawsbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best value for money. Great food, excellent beverages, lovely people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was Saturday night n as we were going down from our promenade in plaka area we step in to makalo at nikis str. We heard nice music n we saw a movie on the wall. We tried the special menu which was delicious n the Greek style cocktails, they were a unique experience! Definitely visit again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank StansView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidreres
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very tasty, creative, healthy and inexpensive in Athens centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very creative, very yummy and prepared with top quality ingredients (by the way, there is a healthshop/bio supermarket just across the Street!). And so very inexpensive concerning the quality of the food! The staff was very friendly (and funny!). The Street Makalo is in, is not very attractive, but ok. Very close to the Syntagma station and Plaka.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aloha17411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makalo also viewed

Athens, Attica
 

Been to Makalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing