We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Athens Insiders
from $516.78
More Info
from $184.29
More Info
from $216.72
More Info
from $253.46
More Info
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveler rating
397
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
397
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food tour greek coffee culinary tour central market meat market private tour acropolis tour cape sounion hour tour highly recommend this tour wonderful tour yannis george guide tours interests nota
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 403 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

I had a wonderful time exploring Athens food with Panos - we spent about 4 hours wandering through different neighborhoods and sampling many different types of Greek and Middle Eastern food. Everything was delicious, and he tailored the tour based on what I was interested in doing/ experiencing. Very friendly, knowledgeable guide with perfect English- could not recommend him more! I’ve already told several others who are going to Athens about this tour. Thank you again, Panos!

Thank alyelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

Our group of 10 had the absolute best time on our food tour with our guide, Yiannis Ninos. He was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the local flavors in Athens. It was a highlight of the trip for everyone in our group. We tasted a wide variety of flavors that was custom catered to our tastes. We found that everything we ate and everywhere we stopped was the best example of that particular dish when we tried them other places over the remainder of trip. I truly felt the "Athens Insider" experience. We had so much tasty food and learned a lot about the history and cultural influences of each dish as well. On top of that we all had a blast with Yiannis! He was excellent and gave us great recommendations for other places to try outside of the tour as well. If you go to Athens, I recommend this tour as an absolute must and ask for Yiannis.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank maxahammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

Our guide, George Madianos, was fantastic. We learned a ton and enjoyed a lot of great food and drink. Here's a perfect day in Athens: do an Acropolis tour in the morning; then do the food tour with George right afterwards. Best way to experience everything Athens has to offer.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Adventurer771858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

I traveled with my daughter and granddaughter last month. One of the highpoints of our visit to Athens was the all day private tour to Delphi. All the details of the reservation and trip were covered efficiently by Mariliza during the planning process. The actual trip was flawless and perfect for a ten year old who loves anything and everything about Greek mythology. The description of the Divine Delphi day fit our needs perfectly and the focus on a child was very important to us. Our driver Vasilis was punctual when he picked us up at 8:00am in a spacious MB van that was outfitted with a basket of snacks and drinks. Vasilis shared information about a variety of topics as we drove for 2.5 hours to Delphi with a stop for a Greek turnover snack and bathroom break.

When we arrived at Delphi Vasilis escorted us to our private guide George who first spent about an hour in the museum covering the highlights of the collection and framing his narrative to suit a serious ten year old. His explanations were spot on! After hitting the important exhibits we ventured outside and started the scenic walk up to the Temple of Apollo. He did not belabor minute topics but painted a picture of how the site became such an important part of ancient Greek history. I think my granddaughter was able to imagine how the ruins functioned 2500 years ago. After our time with George we met up wtih Vasilis who drove us to a nearby restaurant where he had made reservations for lunch at a corner table with a magnificent view of the valley below. Lunch was a leisure break and about 90 minutes later Vasilis picked us up for the final activity of our time in Delphi.

We drove to a small park with an even better view of the valley below where we met Eleni who was the artist who would lead us through a painting activity. She we well prepared with all the necessary equipment and supplies. After a brief lesson on style and technique we each created a rough sketch of the scene. We worked at easels and with her minimal guidance we painted our version of scene below. Eleni noted differences in our interpretations and we painted for more than an hour. We also giggled and laughed as we enjoyed every minute. We signed our masterpieces and packed up for the return trip to Athens. Vasilis was an excellent driver and we arrived back at our apartment about 7:30pm. It was a very long day but we all enjoyed every aspect of the day. Everyone involved made sure my granddaughter was properly "entertained" and all logistics of the trip were perfect. It was an expensive activity but well worth the cost since the outcome was so positive.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Jeep61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

We did a food tour of Athens with George and it was fantastic. Lasted about 5-6 hours and it was such a fun variety of foods that were able to enjoy in multiple settings. Everything from snacks, meals, treats, oils, seafood. Absolutely loved it and would recommend without hesitation.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Roger123734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews