We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This company is a diamond!”
Review of Athens Insiders

Athens Insiders
Ranked #2 of 45 Food & Drink in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A different way to discover the multiple faces and the little known treasures of Greece through the eyes of a local. Filled with unique insights and sharing a never ending love for the country we live in, we are committed to revealing to you the real Greece that we admire. Providing private and tailor made travel experiences we escape from rigid itineraries, stepping out the beaten track and sharing with you amazing hidden places and first-hand insights into our country, our lifestyle and our cultural heritage. You can choose from unique themed tours or just design your unique itinerary!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 27, 2016

They arranged our holidays in Athens and the Peloponnese. Great tours, excellent hotel, selection and knowledgeable guides! They have everything you need for your stay in Greece.

Thank BananaYao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsidersAthens, Owner at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2016

Dear BananaYao,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We really hope you visit Greece again sometime! Best regards,
The Athens Insiders Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"treasure hunt"
in 13 reviews
"food tour"
in 22 reviews
"greek coffee"
in 12 reviews
"culinary tour"
in 4 reviews
"chef george"
in 4 reviews
"guide christina"
in 2 reviews
"shopping tour"
in 2 reviews
"food culture"
in 3 reviews
"food market"
in 2 reviews
"great for kids"
in 2 reviews
"street art"
in 4 reviews
"ins and outs"
in 2 reviews
"private tour"
in 10 reviews
"greece today"
in 2 reviews
"five hours"
in 2 reviews
"souvlaki"
in 5 reviews
"meat and fish"
in 2 reviews
Filter

100 - 104 of 244 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016

We just returned from a 10 day Mediterranean cruise. Our last stop was in Athens. We prefer private tours verses large group tours that typical on ships. After researching some options for our day in Athens on trip advisor I came across the Athens Insiders Walking Food Tour. We love to eat and learn about the culture so we decided to pre-book it before leaving for our trip. We are so glad we did. We had a fantastic guide, Aggelos, who met us at our designated place and time and off we went. His English was great and he shared so much information about the food & culture with our small group of 4. He also took us to many amazing food stops. We loved seeing the fresh food markets, although smells in the meat & fish area were strong. We ate and drank (coffee, tea, specialty local liquor) so much that we couldn't finish the wonderful local food at our last stop. Can't even say which food or stop was my favorite because they all with unique and enjoyable. Aggelos was patient when some of our group wanted to stop a shop. He stayed with our group much longer than the 4 hours and we never felt hurried. I would highly recommend this tour.

3  Thank Ginger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsidersAthens, Owner at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2016

Dear Ginger H,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your food walking tour. Aggelos sends his regards! Hope you visit us again sometime. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We did the Acropolis tour with Helen & Yannis the driver! Excellent knowledge of the history, museums, & culture of Greece/Athens! Would highly recommend - don't forget comfortable shoes and sunscreen... The second tour, Flavors of Athens, was with George- a professional chef who took us to the BEST little specialty shops, restaurants, & markets...all the time answering questions about cooking, recipes, everyday Greek life, and much more. Superb! Don't miss out on these great tours!

1  Thank TravelNicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsidersAthens, Owner at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2016

Dear TravelNicer,
Thank you for your review and kind words. We are really glad you enjoyed your tours with us. Helen, Yannis and George send their regards! We will be more than happy to welcome you back to Greece anytime. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

AI has various tours - i can not comment on the others -
but we arranged a customized tour so we could meet & learn more re. the economic situation in Greece & the activism involved in the Syntagma Square movement. AI went the distance for us in arranging a tour with this unique perspective, and our guide was most gracious & helpful. I think they have integrity, as a tour/guide company.

1  Thank mcm1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsidersAthens, Owner at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2016

Dear mcm1003,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad you enjoyed the perspective of our tour. Customizing each experience is our expertise and we are always happy to be able to offer exactly what each of our guest wishes. We will be more than happy to have you back again and offer you everlasting memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2016

What a treat! Our guide, George, picked us up at our hotel and began an archeologic tour as we walked. He soon realized that we were both knowledgeable and sophisticated about our surroundings, the history and architecture that he was pointing out.

He asked us if we would like to modify the tour and what interested us. We are both executives and we have a passion for cooking and good food. We both chimed in, "Please, take us to the central market and we like to walk." A short time later we found ourselves in heaven... surrounded by butchers, fish mongers, fruits, vegetables and all sorts of seasonings.

George is a trained chef and spent time talking with us about how to choose the local fish and what to look for in butchers and cuts of meat. I sampled some great fruit and varieties of olives I had not previously tasted.

From there we walked back around the East side of the Acropolis to a home where my wife and I made, with Chef George, a meal of mezza (small plate dishes). It was a great way to learn about Greece and enjoy learning new skills.

1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InsidersAthens, Manager at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2016

Dear Dave S,
We appreciate the time you took to write us your review.
Customizing each experience even on the spot is our expertise and we are always happy to be able to offer exactly what each of our guest wishes.
George sends his regards and wishes to see you soon and offer you amazing times in Greece.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Insiders also viewed

 

Been to Athens Insiders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing