We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like spending the day with a friend - an absolute highlight of our time in Athens!”
Review of Athens Insiders

Athens Insiders
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.81*
and up
Athens Orientation Private tour
More Info
$56.17*
and up
Acropolis For Kids Extended
More Info
$64.24*
and up
Flavors of Athens private food tour
Ranked #7 of 44 Food & Drink in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A different way to discover the multiple faces and the little known treasures of Greece through the eyes of a local. Filled with unique insights and sharing a never ending love for the city we live in, we are committed to revealing to you the real Greece that we admire. Providing private and tailor made travel experiences we escape from rigid itineraries, stepping out the beaten track and sharing with you amazing hidden places and first-hand insights into our country, our lifestyle and our cultural heritage. You can choose from unique themed tours or just design your unique itinerary!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Dayton
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like spending the day with a friend - an absolute highlight of our time in Athens!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

During our recent stay in Athens, we were fortunate enough to spend a full day with Anthia from Athens Insiders. It is not often that by the end of such a day excursion you can say you truly felt as if you had spent the day with an old friend - this was just the case at the end of our day with Anthia. She led us on a unique and intimate tour of Athens sharing insights and knowledge from her life here in the city. She was completely happy to tailor our tour in any way we liked, stopping for coffee and lunch at special local establishments , off of the well beaten tourist path. She was so very kind and considerate to even assist us with a pressing matter unrelated to our tour, even following up long after our tour completed - definitely going above and beyond! She exemplified the concept that Athens Insiders strives for - to bring travelers an intimate friendly experience away from home. And as for us, we have made a new friend - Thank you Anthia!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank TobinD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a fantastic experience”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I visited Athens for a business trip, therefore I only had a day to make the most of the city; I therefore chose Athens Orientation by Athens Insiders which was brilliant as it gave me a taste of the city centre while floating around in a laid back manner. I was presented with the right amount of info so as to learn interesting facts about the city but without being overwhelmed. They showed me places only a local would probably know and I had the opportunity to taste the real Greek cuisine which was beautiful. I would recommend Athens Insiders to anyone who wants the real deal when visiting this amazing city. I had a fantastic time, thank you!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorginaK302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex B, Director of Sales at Athens Insiders, responded to this review, February 5, 2016
Hi Georgina,
It was such a pleasant tour for us also.
Hope you visit Greece again and we have the opportunity to show you more from our beautiful country.
Regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A visit to Athens that will be remembered fondly for ever”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife, her sister and husband, and myself, on an extended tour of Spain, Morocco, Turkey, United Kingdom and Greece, were simply thrilled and very happy during our six day stay in the Greek islands and Athens. Our 3 day stay in Athens was the most exciting and unforgettable part of our tour. This was mostly because of the excellent service provided by Athens Insiders represented by their qssociate Anthia Viassapoulou. It is difficult to express in words, the fun. knowledge and general understanding of Greek culture that we acquired from Anthia. Anthia has not only good looks, but a vast knowledge of her profession. The wonderful time we had with Anthia at the Acropol, the interesting rides in nice town touring buses, and a host of other things, including a wonderful outdoor lunch at an excellent restaurant was simply amazing. Anthia was constantly concerned about our safety, and held our hands one by one, while we were roaming at the top of Acropol. Anthia helped us personally for our shopping needs, and in the end put us comfortably in a bus which us to a house that our Greek friend had set aside for us, and who is well known to Anthia.

We are planning to go to Athens again later this year for reasons that are self evident. It goes on without saying that I would recommend any one to contact Athens Insiders for a very satisfying time in Athens and other places in wonderful Greece.

Madat Chatur
Seattle, Washington
USA















Acropol

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Madat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best way to see, hear, feel and taste a city.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

For anyone who wants to experience a city the locals way. Athens insiders was a real treat. Athens is not an easy city to negotiate if you are new to it. The guys took on what I wanted to see, hear, feel and taste and gave me the full works.
I loved it. Would definatley use them again and look forward to them expanding to other cities. This should be the way forward for tourism. No more drudgery and tourist trails, instead unique hand picked passage tailored to suit the individuals needs.

Helpful?
7 Thank Nicki_meharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We had an amazing time!!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Myself and my husband just came back from Athens where we had a great tour with Athens Insiders.We are no big history buffs and were looking for a tour that would cover a bit of everything, and our guide Anthia gave us just that!!! She was very friendly and considerate and shared really interesting information with us. We learnt all sort of things about the city of Athens and Greek people, and felt really pampered. Its one of the best tours we have ever done and we definitely recommend it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Insiders also viewed

 

Been to Athens Insiders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing