We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!”

Athens Free Walking Tour
Ranked #19 of 290 Tours in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore the city that has over 3000 years of history and discover all the facts, myths and secrets that you won't find in your guidebook. Our English-speaking local experts will share their knowledge and passion of the city with you. Get an inside look at the Cradle of Western Civilization on foot and discover many of its hidden gems that tourist buses can't reach.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I and two of our friends took this tour in May, 2013 and really enjoyed it! Our guide was Paul, who was very knowledgable and interesting. We were very lucky as it was a national holiday, and all of the attractions in Athens were closed. The tour took about 3 hours at a very reasonable pace. It was quite a hot day, and Paul made sure that we had plenty of rest and refreshment stops, when required. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Athens.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    83
    17
    11
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Tour with Paul”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My friend and I had a great tour with Paul and we were lucky to be the only two on the tour. Paul is such a knowledgeable and interesting guide and we learned so much about modern Greek history from him. I would highly recommend going on this tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vqiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good tour and guide”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I did this tour and enjoyed it very much. Our guide was George and he was an easy going and relaxed guide. His English was excellent and his knowledge of Greek history the same. It was about 3 hours and there was no rush to get through it and time for breaks and photo ops. We walked from Hadrian's gate through different parts of the city to the Acropolis where the tour ended. This is a good way to get oriented to the city and learn a lot about it's history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Delta_BCRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best walking tour in years!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a great time on this tour. Big thanks to Pavlos, who is a first rate guide: competent, answers questions and gives you time to digest beautiful Athens.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Udoka O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Way to See the City”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our guide was Walter - such a friendly, knowledgeable guide with a passion for the history of Athens and all of Greece. It was a great way to understand how the city is laid out and at the end of our 3-hour tour, we felt confident walking everywhere. We did make one stop for coffee, and there was plenty of time to take pictures. We tipped our guide generously at the end as that is the only pay they receive, and it is well-deserved. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aviatrix72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Free Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to Athens Free Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing