We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Local Friendly Taverna With Home-Cooked Greek Food”
Review of Evgenia

Evgenia
Ranked #129 of 3,925 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Plaka
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Local Friendly Taverna With Home-Cooked Greek Food”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Though Evgenia was located fifteen footsteps from our hotel in the Plaka we overlooked it several times because it did not have a name or a logo printed on the front door. This establishment is a busy little taverna, which is filled with diners from 12noon to the late night hours. Diners are locals but some tourists come here too.

The menu looks extensive but pay attention since only items marked with prices are available. During several visits here we had zucchini croquets, hot eggplant in tomato onion sauce, rice and spinach, rice-stuffed peppers, stuffed tomatoes Greek beans and Greek salad. The rice and spinach dish proved unremarkable. The Greek salad was served too cold, BUT the zucchini croquets were the best I ever tasted. Hot eggplant and rice-stuffed peppers were exceptionally good.

Prices are low and service is friendly. Diners have to be patient during the rush dinning hours due to limited waiter service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TamiSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    75
    19
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eat where the locals eat......”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant which was very close to our hotel. It is a tiny little restaurant but is frequented by locals and tourists alike. The food is quite traditional and tasted delicious. Seems to be a family run restaurant and is always busy - however is you wait afew minutes, a table is usually available. Ate there several times during our stay in Athens

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Effie608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fun”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Johnny and the rest of the staff served delicious food with big grins on their faces. Clearly they love what they're doing.
There are two restaurants run by the same family within blocks of each other, so if one is closed, don't despair--go to the other.
Paradosiako Oinomageireio

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Athens - freshest food served simply”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was with Dillon above.We came across a small collection of tables outside a very modest looking 'cafe' at a crossroads in Plaka whilst trying to get away from touristland. A glance at the food on the tables packed by locals was enough. A riot of colour from some interesting salads, (including 'boiled vegatable' which doesn't sound inspiring but was a great mix inc broccoli and polenta) and various fish and meze dishes. I has the best taramasalata ever, creamy, fishy and no pink dye and a plate overflowing with fried red mullet. The service was superb. Unpretentious, knowledgeable, helpful and witty delivery from the single waiter/maitre D. If I owned a restaurant I would poach him ! We had a great time and felt we had experienced a real taste of the city. They don't do coffee...I guess this is to turn over the tables

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norman l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The area was recommended to us by a local travel agent as being where local people eat. This was certainly true. The food is simple local cuisine using fresh ingredients. The service was excellent and the person doing front of house made sure we didn't over order and his suggestions were spot on. We started with the cooked vegatable salad and some cooked beans. Between the four of us we had small calamari which were soft and delicious, fried sardines and small red snapper which were a delight and meatballs that were full of taste.

Given its cental location the prices were low and overall it was a delightful experience that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dillon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evgenia also viewed

 

Been to Evgenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing