We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taverna”

Anafiotika Cafe - Restaurant
Ranked #112 of 3,925 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Plaka
Description: A traditional and quant Cafe - Restaurant located in the very heart of Plaka A whole era comes alive for the visitors who wonder around the alleys and the cobbled streats of the picturesque and oldest neighborhood of Athens, Plaka. Among the historic neighborhoods and crowded alleys, you can discover "Anafiotika". No no, we are not talking about Anafiotika area, but about our very own "Anafiotika" !!! The traditional Cafe - Restaurant, as our patrons and visitors call it, "Anafiotika" makes an exception in the street of Mnisikleous and Thrasivoulou. The famous "stairs" as you may have heard!
Brighton UK
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great taverna”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner in this restaurant a few days ago and have to say that the overall experience was pretty good.The restaurant is situated in the heart of plaka.We werent very hungry so we decided to share a large meat platter between 4 people.Enormous portion of big variety of meats and other traditional greek meze for only €22.Service was good and at the end we got a delicious free dessert and a mastiha shot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorfeasBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    208
    54
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal we had in Athens!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great restaurant! Very warm ambiance, the food was great - especially the mushrooms - and the service was excellent. Ask for George and he will take very good care of you!
Just get there early as it gets booked pretty quickly. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimiasadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food&vibe”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my dinner experience in this cozy, fully packed, busy, young place with live music. The waiter was very nice, the ingredients were all fresh and the food was yummi. This place is also good for a drink on the terrace. I would definitely come back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We found this restaurant after wandering around looking for somewhere to eat. There is a slope with several restaurants to choose from and this was at the top and was buzzing with life. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. We ordered the seafood platter to share and the waiter suggested a Greek salad to go with it - good call. The salad was good and then the sea food arrived. It was very nice but there was far too much for us to eat and we would have paid the same money for half that quantity! When we paid the waiter said he had a surprise for us so we waited. He turned up with 2 desserts that were delicious - blackcurrants over a sort of creamy yoghurty base - all inclusive in the price. Well worth the visit and we would have gone back except there were so many other restaurants to try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda_mobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great vibe”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

One of the few places that was open on a holiday (carnival) late night. Great location and nice atmosphere. Good beer and appetizers.

Helpful?
Thank RogerStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anafiotika Cafe - Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Anafiotika Cafe - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing