We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just great food, great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anafiotika Cafe - Restaurant

Anafiotika Cafe - Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 3,596 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Plaka
Description: A traditional and quant Cafe - Restaurant located in the very heart of Plaka A whole era comes alive for the visitors who wonder around the alleys and the cobbled streats of the picturesque and oldest neighborhood of Athens, Plaka. Among the historic neighborhoods and crowded alleys, you can discover "Anafiotika". No no, we are not talking about Anafiotika area, but about our very own "Anafiotika" !!! The traditional Cafe - Restaurant, as our patrons and visitors call it, "Anafiotika" makes an exception in the street of Mnisikleous and Thrasivoulou. The famous "stairs" as you may have heard!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not just great food, great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

On our first night in Athens we stumbled into the perfect spot with amazing food and great atmosphere. Not only was the food the best Greek style food i have ever had, the dining experience was also one of the best my wife and I have had. If you are looking for the perfect place to start or end your trip to Greece with great food, atmosphere, and welcoming hosts, Anafiotika is exactly what you are looking for. We like to constantly try new places when traveling, but it will be hard not to return to this spot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank brett s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    197
    52
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating place for dinner...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

First day in Athens and we find this restaurant for dinner... Delicious meal, very nice atmosphere, good location. We had very good time

Helpful?
Thank hikmetsezgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My friend and I had dinner here on Nov 16th. Location is tucked under the Acropolis in the Plaka area and the street has many competing restaturants to choose from with hosts trying to entice each passerby. We were greeted by George who persuaded us his place was the best and even though it was already packed, he got us a table right next to the fireplace in the middle of the action. We were then treated to wine on the house and our meal was delicious, we tried the fried feta with honey and sesame on George's suggestion and if was amazing! The greek salad was large enough to share and our souvlaki's were also good (pork was a bit dry) with super yummy tzatiki. In addition to the good food, the atmosphere was very lively, mostly with locals it seemed, which made for a very fun time. Save room for the panacotta dessert, awesome!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“best nigth in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

It was night after we had dinner in great tavern in Psiri. We walked and wanted just to sit and drink a wine. In Monastiraki and Plaka found only unfriendly staff because of that. So we walked further and riched Mnisikleous Street with a lot of nice small restaurants. We choosed this one and asked if we could get only wine ? Waiter ( young, friendly guy ) said no problem and we get profesional service with a smile and a lot of conversations in any occasions. It was realy lovely time and we ordered next wine carafe, and next..., and some starters, and ouzo, and… and for the end got tasty browni cake for free, and glasses of honey drink for free as well. Waiters had eyes over their heads and any our even unspoken request was found. Satisfied night we wish to others guests of Anafiotika.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeros67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Dined here on 5th November. Decent meal; Aubergene starter with cheese very good. Souvlaki ok. Very hospitable staff. Quarter carafe of wine and a Panacotta dessert compliments of the house which was completely unexpected as they were fairly busy. Good atmosphere. Plaka seemed very quiet but this place stood out, filled with expats working here and locals and people generally vote with their feet! Sit at the green tables (the red ones belong to a bar just down the hill - which adds to the atmos).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anafiotika Cafe - Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Anafiotika Cafe - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing