We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect place to stay.”
Review of Sweet Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sweet Home Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed to this beautiful hotel for two nights. Everything was perfect. It was very clean and well decorated. I really loved the home made ''pitas'' and jam served for breakfast. Thanks to the owner for her kindness and the lovely homemade jam and liqeur she offered to us, before we left.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zaharoula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Sweet Home Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 417 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

I travel to Athens quite a lot and have finally found the perfect hotel. I was staying nearby and went in to see if I could see some of the rooms as I had seen it on the internet but had booked elsewhere where I have previously stayed. I was fortunate to be shown through several of the hotel rooms by one of the family owners and I could have stayed in any one of them. The attention to detail was fantastic and the decor of the rooms was chic but homely and warm at the same time. The breakfast room was very light and the selection of food was great. The standard of the hotel was 5 star and being a small family owned hotel you could tell it was very well cared for and the family had put their heart and soul into the completely and newly renovated premises. Great location and 5 minute walk from Syntagama and to the Plaka. After comparing this hotel to the others I have stayed at I can rate it as excellent. Finally a sweet home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Yolande L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

At last an Athens hotel with the style and attention to detail that you would usually only find in Nafplion or our ski resorts. A nice muted palette throughout, neo-classical with retro touches, excellent decor. The best shower I have experienced in Greece without exception (waterfall and handheld, large cubicle), Apvita luxury amenities, over 25 channels on the tv, superb beds. My street front room had an ample balcony, clever insect screens on the doors and at night was absolutely silent..a quiet street and very good soundproofing. I have stayed at or visited friends in many hotels in central Athens and rate this one the best currently available for location (for tourists), comfort, service and value. If I was offered this hotel or the supposedly 5 star St George Lycabettus, even if they were the same rate I would chose the Sweet Home Hotel first; this little gem is less than half the price though! Manager is exceptionally helpful and switched on too. Book now, this one will be full all year round.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank krabikrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A brand new hotel, family run & only been open 2 weeks. Huge renovation of what was a very basic cheap place before, now it has style, comfort & extremely friendly & attentive service.
The rooms vary, some have balconies, others don't, a few have a view of the Acropolis, some interconnecting to make family accommodation.
Large & very comfortable beds, good size bathrooms, some big, great shower fittings, all are cubcles with doors, classy toiletries & a couple of firsts for me, there are flannels/facecloths/washcloths provided (depends on your nationality what you call them!) & the bath towels are the large size, not the small ones you usually get that only go round the skinny people!
There is also a hairdryer, minibar, safe & tv, & internet access for free. The place has character, with many of the old features still retained such as some doors, the staircase etc, but also a brand new lift installed of a good size.
Breakfast was dangerous (to me), already a good selection of a couple of hot items, cereals, fruit, yogurt, cake, eggs, bread, cheese, ham etc, then a large bowl of loukamades was brought out, that's my diet done for while I stay here! In the small reception/bar area there are also sweets & chocolates around, so tempting :) As the title says, I'm very impressed with the care & attention to detail that has been used here, a very worthy contender for a central stay.
Below & opposite are 2 traditional tavernas, both fine to eat at, or stop for a drink before returning to your room.
It's a rare thing to give a 5 to everything, but I felt I had to, I haven't found anything to fault at all. Also unusual for me to write the review while still in residence, but have had a few people enquire where I was staying, so I thought I'd let you all know!
I will add some photos soon to this review.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good, the cheaper ones tend to be smaller & no balcony, but only seem small becau...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Yiassas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mansa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank claudia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Cheesemilkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,339 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,561 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,143 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Home Hotel

Address: 5 Patroou | Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range: $113 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sweet Home Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sweet Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing