We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What you Pay For”
Review of Piraeus Inn

Piraeus Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piraeus Inn
Ranked #34 of 54 Athens B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our needs. We were in room 52 (?) and while the room was small the balcony was large. The free wifi worked well. Reception was very pleasant, the reception area clean and pleasant. Yes, the elevator is very small, it made for many funny photos. The hotel was located near to many great restaurants and two blocks from a Starbucks if you need one. I would stay there again. The shuttle to the cruise ships or ferries is free and quick. Perfect hotel for us.

Room Tip: The higher the room the bigger the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stewartlane60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 27 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

When we first arrived our first impression of the place was good. The driver that picked us up was polite and chatty, and we got to the hotel very quickly from the port. Plus it was a free pickup. The reception was well maintained, and the staff friendly, to start with...

We got in an elevator, which felt like it was going to break any second. When we got to the room, it was ok, just ok. We were exhausted after a 8 hour ferry ride so it was a bed.

The first night went without a hiccup, slept ok, all though we did ask for a double bed on booking but recieved two singles, but that didn't really matter. It was cheap so we could deal with it.
The second night however was different. At About 3am we awoke to a strange noise, which we soon realised was the air com unit. I turned it off. And back on and it seemed fine. An hour or so later,the same happened but seemed louder. I awoke again, to find that the wall underneath the unit was soaking wet, and therefore aphid also leaked onto my clothes, which were in my suitcase underneath. I turned off the ac and moved my clothes to realise that it was dirty smelly water leaking from the vents and that turning it off actually made it worse. The water kept coming through, and started leaking onto the live power socket underneath.
I went to reception and told the guy there, and he was unaware of the problem. He came to our room seemingly un concerned. I told him the problem, and he replied 'what do you want me to do.' I was shocked. Apart from the fact my clothes were drenched in dirty smelly water, in could forgive that, but when i pointed out that the water had gone to the power socket and that could in fact be dangerous and kill someone, the most he could answer was 'well no one has died so it is ok'!

We agreed to sleep it off, in the scorching heat without ac til morning, where we spoke to the manager, who thankfully seemed a lot more concerned and apologetic. We recieved a refund for that night, but the attitude of the guy and the fact that it was a oossible dangerous hazard could not make for it.

However, the wifi was good and free, and I feel that had the air con scenario had not happened, we would of had a pleasant stay here.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel was a nice place to stay for 2 nights.... but it did not have what " hostelsbookere says on there homepage.... no bar. No frigde... and so on... but still ok....... i be back next year in june

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi2635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on the 3rd floor in room 32 and the room was run down, had not been renovated since the 70's and was a bit scary. The carpet was coming up, lights didn't work, TV didn't work, AC worked but made strange noises all night and bed looked extremely old. If we were expecting 1-2 star hostile style accommodations, it would be fine, but the pictures and three star summary are based only on the lobby and rooms on the first and second floors - the rest of the hotel has never been remodeled and is in desperate need. I would strongly recommend to only stay here if guaranteed the first two floors. The pictures on the booking sites are only of the remodeled rooms. The location is also a bit tricky to find but the free shuttle is convenient to the Port and the front desk personnel was friendly and helpful. Free internet is also a plus but please also note that breakfast is not included - it's laid out in the lobby in the morning (so we assumed it was) but then they hit us with a 6 Euro charge as we were boarding the shuttle. Very disappointed even at the reasonable room rate. 5 star accommodations are available a block away for only a little more money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EYoshida21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is an inexpensive alternative to some of the mire pricey places in Piraeus. It is a short walk to a bustling pedestrian area of shops and restaurants. It is also right around the corner from Zea Marina which provides a nice waterfront backdrop for dining. There are also several American fast food places line KFC and Pizza Hut...just in case you should desire something other than Greek food!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night to catch ferry out to the islands in the morning and was excellent spot as is close to ferry. Staff was great, nice balcony and room. Free shuttle to port and breakfast looked good though we were in a rush so couldn't eat it:)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Spacious comfy room, not very new but spotless clean and a great sleep. breakfast to keep you all day, convenient drop off to the port. Great staff and facilities. The surrounding area is full of restaurants and cafes. Easy access to all transport. The guys at the reception were very helpful with recommendations for the area which by the way very colorful, lively with a lovely yacht marine full of youth clubs. All that at the price of 35 euro! Unbelievable!

There's a hop on bus that takes you on a tour around the sights of Athens. BUs stop just a few meters away!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 284 in Athens
3,488 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 284 in Athens
2,192 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 284 in Athens
3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 284 in Athens
2,490 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#20 of 284 in Athens
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piraeus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piraeus Inn

Address: Kountouriotou 189, Athens, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range: $65 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piraeus Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Piraeus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing