We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian restaurant in Athens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belpaese

Belpaese
Ranked #187 of 3,596 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Thissio / Makriyanni
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant because of the trip advisor reviews. It is very close to the acropolis museum. The food are delicious there. Pasta and the bread are fresh made. I love the mushroom appetizers the most. Must try in Athens.

Helpful?
Thank 3faery3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    55
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner here will make your day!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Using Tripadvisor we navigated the short trip from the Acropolis metro station to this fantastic little restaurant. All freshly made food with fresh local ingredients!! Even the water was fantastic. We had the mushroom starter, the carbonara and chicken with tomato sauce. All three were fantastic, fresh and very very tasty. The waitress was very chatty and explained, with passion, every course we had the pleasure of eating. I highly recommend a trip to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaycee239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“make sure and eat there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was the best food we had on our vacation, unfortuntely we discovered it the night before left!! wish we had found it sooner!!! nice spot just around the corner from the Parthenon hotel good service and great prices!! and even better food!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank boo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Italian haven in the midst of Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This restaurant is on a quiet street very near the chaos of the Acropolis. We had dinner there twice and were not disappointed either time. The owner, who spoke no English, and Angela, who spoke excellent English, were very attentive. The house salad was fantastic and the pastas were some of the best that I've had outside of Italy. At the end of one of our meals the owner brought us some bread that was fresh from the oven, just so we could taste how wonderful their breads are. The prices were very reasonable, especially for this neighborhood.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having read the great reviews on Tripadvisor I went here for lunch. The restaurant was empty, although the surrounding restaurants were very busy. I had the carbonara which I thought was pretty average, and nothing special. In my opinion there are better places to eat nearby.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMM_SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belpaese also viewed

 

Been to Belpaese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing