We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything fabulous at great prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belpaese

Belpaese
Ranked #187 of 3,596 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Thissio / Makriyanni
1 review
“Everything fabulous at great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's like eating your home and the staff is your family . The amount you spend at belpaese is the same you spend for a couple of souvlaki but the diffirence is that you are eating at a cosy itallian restaurant with great quality of food

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vagarvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    55
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious freshly made pasta worth hunting down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

After a long day touring and a failed attempt to find our intended restaurant I pulled up the excellent TripAdvisor app on my phone and searched for a nearby Italian restaurant - a quick pizza sounded good. We instead saw this restaurant mentioned and decided to give it a try. I must say it took a bit of finding - it's 'hidden' down a small side street near the Acropolis Metro - but with help from the phone's map we found it. Our intention of a small meal was put aside when we smelled the delicious food and heard it described by the waiter (owner?) - it all sounded great. We were not disappointed - we had three delicious meals with fresh pasta, cheese, meat and sauce, all washed down with cold beer and a large pitcher of cold tap water. I would highly recommend you trying this small winner out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaJoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food in the heart of Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I wandered by this place, on a little side street near the Acropolis Museum. What a find! Great food and really nice people. And all the pasta is home-made. I was with a friend from Rome, who refuses to eat pasta outside of Italy; he says it's never good enough. But he lived Belpaese. I don't know which of us was more surprised. It's a nice break from the usual fare at Greek restaurants in that area, it's reasonably priced, and a comfortable, simple atmosphere. Really good place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank timothyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Homemade pasta in Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everything was homemade from the bread on the table to the olive tapenade to the pasta. This was one of the few restaurants in Athens that offered very cold tap water instead of opening a room temperature bottle of water for you.
We had the mini pizza starter, tagliatelle bolognese, chicken with feta, and vegetable risotto. We couldn't find fault in any dish! Everything was freshly prepared and you could watch the chefs working (which the kids loved). The house red wine was delicious and very inexpensive. Overall, we really enjoyed our visit and the price was very reasonable too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eewSL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italian in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Thank goodness for this small oasis in amongst some pretty awful food in the Plaka and Makrigianni area of Athens. Found in a side street off Makrigianni this restaurant serves exceptionally tasty food with really great prices. It is also spotlessly clean. We have tried several eateries in this area during our 10 nights here and found this place on the 8th night. what a pity as we could have been clearing our plates every night instead of leaving food and paying through the nose for the pleasure. The staff are also very friendly. A pleasure to eat in this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elloto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belpaese also viewed

 

Been to Belpaese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing