We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most amazing vegan place ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Improv Cafe and Resto

Improv Cafe and Resto
Ranked #2,141 of 3,596 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Psirri / Gazi
Description: Pure Vegetarian Restaurant (vegan) located inside the rock bar Volume 10All the dishes are 100% plant based. We offer a wide selection of starters, salads, main courses, daily specials, sandwiches and a range of desserts. If you are on a special diet e.g. gluten free or raw diet, you can still enjoy your dinner here! Just ask your server for the available options. We also have an extensive range of draft and bottled specialty beers, organic wine, smoothies, shakes, other spirits and soft drinks. Open Wednesday to Saturday from 6pm to 2am and Sunday from 12pm to 9pm
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most amazing vegan place ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I visited ImproV for their Thanksgiving dinner and I fell in love with the place, the food and the people! Super friendly atmosphere, fantastic decoration, unbelievable tasty food. The best vegetarian thanksgiving dinner I ever had and I was raised vegetarian since born! The salad was so fresh, the tofu was very nicely crusted with mushrooms and it tasted fabulous, the stuffing was very nicely put in phyllo and was unbelievable! I am a huge fan of quinoa and it was so nice seeing it being served with the entree. The sides were incredible too! The cranberry sauce was AMAZING, and the mashed potatoes and gravy took me back home. The pumpkin pie and the cheesecake were the best way to close this dinner! The owner also gave us a giftbox with ornaments for our Christmas tree - very much appreciated this! And all this was only 20 euros!!!! Will visit them again soon! sCongrats Improv team! Very well done!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    4
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Α Vegeterian Restaurant even for the Non-Veg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Never even though to be vegeterian and I wasn't even sure if I wanted to try.
But the place is absolutely GREAT and the food simply delicious .. I am suggesting it to everyone I know !!! The menu has many choices and the music is just perfect ..

PS. You must try the deserts !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Artemis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I visited ImproV during the party they hosted for the world vegan day on nov 1st. Although it was packed and busy and they weren't serving the entire menu they normally have we had a great time. I had the bean burger and it was better than any hamburger I ever had. My friend had the souvlaki with the gyro seitan and a very tasty belgian beer. We shared a chocolate pudding and it was beautiful. The waitress was constantly smiling and all the crew kept running around to please everyone. Will go back there soon. Absolutely loved it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank blitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“I love love love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Even for someone who is not vegan this place can offer a delicious meal! The menu has many choices for each dish so it can satisfy everyone. Burgers are served with gluten free bread on request which is rare for Greece and if you give them a call they can make you a cake (according to your instructions) if there is a special occasion (or if you just feel like it!). The decor is industrial which suits very well the area and is situated just 3 minutes from the metro station. You will find a very big sellection of beers and even alcohol free ones if you need to drive home afterwards. My absolute favorites are the strawberry lemonade (I sometimes dream of it haha) , the humus, the potato soup (just divine), the burger and the uncheese cake is to die for! They also introduced a brunch menu some weeks ago and I absolutely loved the onion and mushroom tart! Don't miss it if you are in town!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buccinasco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“vegan food that is satisfying everyone - even the nonveg people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Found this place while walking around the Gazi area in Athens. We saw a sign board outside saying Vegetarian Pub and that they had a long list of beers. We decided to sit at this place basically because it looked very industrial and it was on a quieter street than all the other bars at Gazi. The music was a plus too (classic rock sounds). We would have never thought to find a vegetarian place like this! We tried 4 different beers - all from Czech Republic. The guys here really know what they are doing. The food, reasonably priced, was very tasty and could satisfy everyone - vegetarians and non vegetarians alike. It's a bit different from the classic vegetarian places that are green, and have longs lists of salads or super foods and juices. The ImproV menu includes dishes such as veggie burgers, hot dogs, burritos, souvlakis, falafel, spaghetti and more. Delicious desserts too. It's a place that people can actually have fun and eat classic and tasty food but without the animal products. And you can pair the food with quality beer or wine. We wish there were more places like that - not only in Athens but everywhere in the world! Then everyone could go veg without thinking that vegetarians eat only greens and boring food.

Must try: the souvlaki (delicious seitan), the bean burger and the uncheesecake!

P.S. The sign says Volume 10 and not Improv. Improv is supposed to be the restaurant of this interesting complex.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Improv Cafe and Resto also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Improv Cafe and Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing