We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome, clean and cosy”
Review of City Circus Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Circus Athens
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was super satisfied. This hostel is clean, cosy and has really unique atmosphere! And you can see Acropolis from its roof! :-) I also appreciated the possibility of having my laundry done (for 7,5 euros if I remember correctly).

Room Tip: I was in the room with 6 beds. It was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerezaLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 487 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

I loved my stay at City Circus. Great location for sightseeing in Athens. The breakfast is wonderful and the hostel is very clean. My friend and I stayed for two nights after a flight from the US. We stayed in the downstairs private room and it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in both the private double and mixed dorm - very comfortable, clean and well equipped. Hosts are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and help you out local information. Public areas are comfortable, well equipped and very social. Breakfast's are amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great location 5-10mins walk from Monastiraki metro station and not far from the central sights of Athens, good places to eat, cool cafes, shopping. The graffitied back streets (full of empty or boarded up businesses) seem a bit creepy when they're empty at night but I think it's pretty safe. The building and rooms have great security. The staff are young, funky, patient and helpful - with great English. The hostel is more like a mini hotel; I paid 80 Euros for a private double room with balcony, ensuite and breakfast, which I thought was great. The Danish style decor and kooky little touches were appealing and inviting. The light-filled, huge open plan dining/lounge at reception was a lovely place to hang out and the breakfast was sensational (with a damn good espresso available for 1 Euro). Found City Circus on Trip Advisor under 'other' accom and was very happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I spent 4 nights in City Circus in a 4 bed girl's room and was amazed with the groovy and comfortable location (only 15 minutes walk from the important sights), the retro-like design, the breakfast and most important - the staff who was friendly, patient and always with a smile. I didn't even need to visit the tourist information because they knew exactly what to recommend in Athens and its surroundings. Really enjoyed it and will get back here next time when I'm in Athens!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yifat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at City Circus, short but very sweet. The hosts are wonderful and provide you with great local recommendations for restaurants, sites to see, etc. As for restaurants, ask them! We wasted way too much time wandering around trying to find restaurants highlighted in my guidebook only to find them closed or major tourist traps. We went to a great neighborhood spot recommended by the owner the first day and were really happy with it.

The walk from the Monastiraki metro stop (coming from the airport) and Thissio (coming from the port) were quick and safe (in my opinion). The areas to/from are definitely urban and might be a little bit intimidating to those not used to a city environment (i.e.: graffiti, abandoned buildings, young people hanging out outside, etc) but we loved it and never felt unsafe. Psyrri is filled with bars, restaurants and is perfectly convenient to all of the historic sites you're most likely planning to see. We walked EVERYWHERE, including the Acropolis, Central Market, National Gardens, Lycabettus hill, National Archaeology Museum/Exarchia (all highly recommended).

The hotel/hostel itself is fantastic- creatively decorated and serving a really wonderful and complete breakfast with homemade products from the islands and family farms. You sit at a communal table and there are really interesting art and travel books waiting for you to peruse.

We stayed in the budget double- 60Euro/night with a private bathroom. It's very clean and has everything you need. Light sleepers, take note: One window faces the street and the other opens up to the stairway to the lobby. All this to say that at night it can be a bit loud so wear earplugs and/or turn the fan on.

So for those looking for a cool travel experience complete with a great breakfast, helpful staff and solid location, stay at City Circus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaathome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We couldn't have been happier with this hostel. We booked a private en suite for 2 nights in mid-October. When we first arrived in the cab, driving through many roads with graffiti and etc, we questioned for a split second and then put our trust in previous reviewers - they were completely right. City Circus is in a fantastic location near the heart of Psirri nightlife - far enough away to be quiet but close enough to be within 3 blocks of some fantastic restaurants and bars. (Niklaus restaurant was great, by recommendation, and Beer Time is a new favorite bar.) Our room was in the basement and as some others have said, sound does carry and we did hear some couples checking out in the early morning. Shower was fantastic - actual hot water that lasted more than 2 minutes! City Circus also recommended the free walking tour, which we took and loved! Highly recommend - we will stay here if we are ever in Athens again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alybyzrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Athens Backpackers
Athens Backpackers
#4 of 72 in Athens
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Athens Quinta Hostel
Athens Quinta Hostel
#8 of 72 in Athens
76 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
AthenStyle Hostel
AthenStyle Hostel
#10 of 72 in Athens
449 reviews
Omonia
Athens Choice Hotel
Athens Choice Hotel
#15 of 72 in Athens
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Circus Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Circus Athens

Address: 16 Sarri | Psirri, Athens 105 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range: $25 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Circus Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Circus is an alternative travelers space for the restless voyager, the escape artist, the acrobat. It's in the heart of Athens, in the hip Psirri neighborhood, beside numerous eateries and watering holes and a short walk from worthwhile sites. City Circus is in a 4-story, restored early 20th century mansion, complete with fresco-ed ceilings, wrought-iron balconies and baroque tiles. We’ve dressed it up with vintage furniture, reclaimed materials, modern design elements and street art by a selection of fresh local talent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your City Circus Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing