We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel that we've stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Circus Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Circus Athens
Ranked #1 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best hostel that we've stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the private room with ensuite bathroom in the basement. Both the room and bathroom were very clean, so was the common area. Best breakfast we've ever had at a hostel - you get fresh bread from a bakery across the street, homemade jams and honey, Greek yogurt, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs... Delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful. Internet was fast. We enjoyed having beers (home brewed!) on roof top terrace. Location was great too - five mins away from monastiraki station and walking distance to the acropolis. Loads of restaurants and bars in the area. Highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    79
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
113
124
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a great find! Our room had a clean, comfortable bed and a nice private bathroom. The breakfast was fantastic. We enjoyed the rooftop deck with it's amazing view of the Parthenon. Our host recommended that we take the walking tour of the city - SO glad we did. Our tour guide, Walter, was terrific, and we got very comfortable with navigating the city. The City Circus staff is so helpful if you want a recommendation on where to eat, and they'll help you set up everything from a bike ride to a boat trip to the islands. One tip is to bring little foam earplugs, as the street outside can get a little noisy with motorbikes and weekend partiers, but that goes for any city anywhere. We would love to stay here longer next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aviatrix72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

After five months of backpacking, this was a lovely treat. Clean, spacious room with insanely comfortable beds and lovely linens. Right near the main square. Plots brekkie was delicious! We did have to check out early to catch a boat, and the woman at the front desk who helped us with boat times didn't tell us reception would be closed at that hour so we lost our key deposit but it was worth the extra five Euros to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixie2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nondas_S, Owner at City Circus Athens, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your nice words. We all try to do our best to keep our customers happy. Let me apologize for the misunderstanding with regards to your deposit. It was clearly our mistake not to ask you about the very early check-out. Please send us your mailing address in our email and we'll take care of the issue.
Thanks again for your inspiring comments!
Nondas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We loved our stay at the city circus hostel and can't wait for our next visit. An eclectic bohemian haven in the heart of a gently gentrified hood, this place is a wonder. Brooklyn-esque quirks, brand new linen and super clean facilities would be enough, but it also has a rooftop for lazy beer drinking in the night while watching the Acropolis. The location is awesome, about 5 minutes from the old city centre (Monastiraki) but in an area full of its own little bars and cafes away from the more touristy bits. More than anything, the owner, Nondas was full of great ideas for interesting historical sights as well as outrageously cool nightspots. We spent many an hour chatting to him about Greece, partying, politics and life and he treated us like an old friend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place, room was very comfortable, breakfast was nice and fresh and the staff were really friendly and helpful. We were a bit bored one night, wanted to watch a movie, and the guy at reception set up a whole cinema for us! Projector... Screen...lights off... It was great.

The place is very close to Monastiraki, which is full of shops, souvenirs and Greek restaurants...frozen yogurt places mmmm ....
The only thing was that one room I stayed in the first time was a bit damp and humid....I think it was room 2 in the basement.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwithdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place is a true example of Greek hospitality. Walked in late at night, one of the owners was there immediately to help me plan my week. He showed me all the best places in town and told me the spots to avoid. The place is immaculate, the rooms & beds fresh and clean. But really it was the owners who made it so good. They cooked meals for us, told us stories about their homeland, even shared their home-made spirits with us as well. For my next trip to Athens, city circus is a must, I cannot recommend them enough. I suggest coming in the shoulder season to get a really personal experience. Ευχαριστώ!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bbrowitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at this hostel at the start of February and had a great experience. It is located in the divide between the local area and the tourist area so you get the best of both worlds, and it is just a short walk to the Sunday markets and to the Acropolis.

The manager at the front was incredibly helpful and gave us the full run down of what there was to do in Athens and what was nearby in terms of food, eating and sights so that we were fully prepared for a great experience in Athens. Breakfast is also really great there as well as the reasonably priced food they have available if you want to eat there for lunch or a snack.

The rooms are really clean (I stayed in a four-person dorm) and the most modern out of any hostel I stayed at. Met some really nice fellow travelers there during the movie nights they run and over breakfast, and it would definitely be a place I would stay again in Athens. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Circus Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Circus Athens

Property: City Circus Athens
Address: 16 Sarri | Psirri, Athens 105 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Circus Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Circus is an alternative travelers space for the restless voyager, the escape artist, the acrobat. It's in the heart of Athens, in the hip Psirri neighborhood, beside numerous eateries and watering holes and a short walk from worthwhile sites. City Circus is in a 4-story, restored early 20th century mansion, complete with fresco-ed ceilings, wrought-iron balconies and baroque tiles. We’ve dressed it up with vintage furniture, reclaimed materials, modern design elements and street art by a selection of fresh local talent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your City Circus Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing