We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculately clean & modern, helpful staff, quaint location but close to the action”
Review of City Circus Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Circus Athens
Ranked #1 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Immaculately clean & modern, helpful staff, quaint location but close to the action”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Pros:

- VERY clean: the bathroom felt like a hotel, no mildew or foul smells, floors swept daily

- Modern: bunks, sheets, furnishing all IKEA quality which made for great night of sleep

- Location: situated in a nice, quiet neighborhood of Old City Athens just 5-min walk from the bustling Monasteraki Square and 20-min walk from the Acropolis. Nice mix of relaxing and exciting

- Customer focus: I chatted with the owner about his philosophy in opening the hotel (since it was only 6-months old and had already become #1 on TA). He explained that their investment in high quality beds and sheets stemmed from his belief that a good nights sleep is so important when traveling, as a traveler himself.

WIFI
- is very good (streaming quality) even on the higher floors

Cons:

Energy efficiency
- in an effort to save power, the default for their hallways and staircase is darkness and the lights don't turn on til you pass a certain point, which can uncomfortable

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    80
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
119
130
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was a great place to stay in Athens -- close to the major sites, clean, friendly, great free breakfast, and exceptionally nice staff. A roof-top sitting area has a view of the Acropolis, and it was close to restaurants and the metro. Have a map: even with the hostel's directions it took me a long time to find it (but well worth the effort!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colorangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is by far the best Hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff are incredibly friendly, and go out of their way to help you.
Everything in the Hostel was brand new, the rooms were clean, the beds were incredibly comfortable and the breakfast was delicious - fresh fruit salads, greek yogurt, olives, homemade jams... You can have dinner at the hostel as well, which is a great way to meet people if you're travelling alone. Dinner is cheap (€7) and best of all it's made from scratch by the owners!
The hostel is located in a hip, alternative area. The main road leading up from the metro station was a bit gritty to walk on, but as soon as you turned into Psiri it was very charming with authentic bars, cafés, bakeries and a very cool, local crowd. I traveled alone and met a lot of cool, like minded people. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogi_Kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The best hostel I have ever been to! The rooms were big, clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast was excellent with fresh coffee, Greek yoghurt, fresh fruit and homemade jams. The location is ideal, walking distance from the center of Athens. There were computers available for guests to use for free. The staff was gentle and helpful. Excellent! What can I say? I would go back anytime…

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, one night in the double budget room and the other 2 nights in the studio loft. The decor was chic and clean, whilst the location was near to the metro and cafes and sightseeing areas of Central Athens. Breakfast spread was full on and delicious - bread, milk, juices, tea, coffee, fruits, cheese, yoghurt, etc. The owner and his team of staff were extremely friendly and helpful providing 101 travelling tips and info in Athens and other parts of Greece if you require assistance. The double room size was decent and clean, with basic ammenties (desk, chair, aircon, wi-fi). Great view of the Acropolis from the roof terrace. Great value for any traveller!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mok J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I can't thank the staff enough! I showed up injured with a reservation gone awry and they went way above and beyond. The genuine thoughtfulness and caring was very much appreciated.

The rooms were clean and spacious (spotless even). The bunks were solid and comfortable. No problems with the wi-fi. The rooftop patio is lovely! The hostel had an air of groundedness to it that was appreciated, calm and peaceful...

The street it's on is fine, there were a few blocks I wandered into after dinner time that I learned to avoid; if you're travelling alone I'd recommend asking where to avoid or just being aware and at the ready. Aside from the usual hollering and occasional catcalls, I didn't encounter any issues.

When the ambulance wasn't available they referred me to their taxi guy Kostas, who was just as friendly, thoughtful and helpful.

The hostel was on my way out of the country and towards the end of my trip, I wish I'd gotten there sooner and I would center my next trip with a start/stay here!

Room Tip: I would skip the private bathroom, minimizes exposure to ... noises... to just people coming and goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtothef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had the privilege of staying at City Circus this past summer. We were absolutely blown away by the service, kindness, and style. Truly an amazing hostel. The best hostel I have ever been to! The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Since it was our first time in Athens, we really didn’t know where to go/what to see. Thankfully we were directed to “must see” attractions and more. The continental breakfast was awesome. Super tasty, with everything you needed. Fresh coffee, creamy yogurt, and much more. The rooms were clean, cozy and modern. You could actually smell the fresh cleaners as you opened your room door. Location is also ideal, walking distance from most attractions in Athens. Almost forgot about movie night! They offer movie night on a large projector screen in the main area. Neat idea! Good way to meet other people too. I would 110% recommend this hostel!! We were amazed, and I think you too will be!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFCanada_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
3,234 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
1,976 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 325 in Athens
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Circus Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Circus Athens

Property: City Circus Athens
Address: 16 Sarri | Psirri, Athens 105 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Circus Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Circus is an alternative travelers space for the restless voyager, the escape artist, the acrobat. It's in the heart of Athens, in the hip Psirri neighborhood, beside numerous eateries and watering holes and a short walk from worthwhile sites. City Circus is in a 4-story, restored early 20th century mansion, complete with fresco-ed ceilings, wrought-iron balconies and baroque tiles. We’ve dressed it up with vintage furniture, reclaimed materials, modern design elements and street art by a selection of fresh local talent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your City Circus Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing