We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel
Ranked #54 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed June 19, 2007

The location of this hotel was fantastic, only a five minute walk to the Plaka. We walked almost everywhere in Athens and if we didn't want to walk it was only 200m to the Metro or if we got lost in the city we simply hopped on the Metro to get back to the hotel.
It is on a main road (which you don't hear unless the window is open) which gives easy access and parking to those who are using a car.
The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. A good buffet breakfast was included.
The Restaurant is open on the roof in summer with a wonderful view of the Acropolis.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — The standard rooms could have been a little bigger.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank latetraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    318
    148
    39
    18
See reviews for
111
324
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Athenian Callirhoe last May for four nights at the end of our trip to Greece. I didn't do a lot of research before hand for this particular trip, so I didn't know much about this hotel or what to expect (our travel agent just booked it). When I arrived, I was pleasantly surprised. We found ourselves at a very clean, modern looking hotel in a great location. Decor/cleanliness is a big thing for me, and it definitely passed the test. Not tacky, old and tired looking, but sleak, modern and very clean with a comfy bed covered with a big fluffy duvet to top it all off.

The view wasn't tremendous from our particular room, but we weren't very high up. The location is great though. You are a couple minute walk from the plaka, and the subway which will take you most anywhere. It's also very close to the Akropolis - walking distance. You can also see it from some higher up rooms in the hotel. For food, we regulary went to the crepe and sandwhich shops which were a few blocks away from the hotel at the start of the Plaka area. Very yummy! Also enjoyed the shopping. I was in shoe heaven!

We found the reception to be very helpful. We were there doing the "tourist" thing - not on business - and they were very helpful in answering our questions and giving us directions for finding our way around. They arranged a taxi for us a couple of times and even packed us a breakfast "to go" for our last day because we had a very early morning to catch our flight. They didn't seem unfriendly or rude by very pleasant and helpful.

I also really liked the breakfast that they provided every morning. A lot of selection and choice. Very good.

Overall, I thought it was a great hotel. Very comfortable and an enjoyable stay!

  • Liked — Decor, location, breakfast
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beautiful_dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nites as he had his office offsite here 2 weeks ago. After reading the reviews from the other contributers, I wasn't looking forward to staying here but I was pleasantly surprised that everything I read wasn't necessary true. As we were a big group, we were given our rooms relatively fast and after settling in, we had tea, provided by the hotel. It was excellent! Our room was on the 7th floor. It was immaculately clean, modern (had a lcd tv!!), well-stocked fridge, bath robes, 3 sets of towels, bedroom slippers, well-stocked vanity tray in the bathrm, the bath had a screen so no water spilled out after use, a comfortable king-sized bed with soft duvet and 2 pillows each (extra pillows in the cupboard), room safe. We didn't hv much of a view but we could see part of the parthenon from afar, and at nite, it was pretty as it was all lit up. The front desk staff was very helpful at all times especially when we had to check out very early in the morning. We pre-ordered a taxi for 430am and when it arrived, the staff called our room to inform us. And when we got down, our bill was promptly given to us without further delay and the nite staff, Angel was very helpful all the time, even to pointing out the correct fare to the airport and should we encounter any problems to call him immediately so that he could rectify the matter with the taxi campany immediately. Breakfast was yummy everyday.

All in all a really pleasant stay. Location is excellent, very close to the Plaka, and all shopping tht needs to be done. Only complain is the air conditioning. Where I come from that means cold air. Imagine our horror when only hot air came out. Small matter, just open the windows and the lovely crisp winter air comes spilling in.

I would recommend staying here without any bias thoughts or prejudice.

  • Liked — comfortable room and friendly staff
  • Disliked — the air-conditioning that spewed out hot air!!!
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aemys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Hello,

just reading some comments made about this hotel and thought I would give my owns as well, as I found some of them a bit bitter and not really objective. I've been traveling for business to Athens almost every month for the last 1 and a half year and I found this hotel by chance after many unsuccessful tries in other hotels, including the big Hilton.
I keep on going there as people there treated me from the first time nicely and with respect. They do not have that "corporative faked smile" so I really apreciate when they ask me how am I, as I feel they are honest and don't do it for the etiquette. I remember one day I felt I was cheated by one of the taxi driver who was booked through the hotel. I told this to the reception and later in the day an envelope with 30Euros was waiting for me (the amount for which I was cheated) together with excuses.
Somebody said he arrived late and he lost the reservation. It never happened to me, but I made sure I would call reception to announce if I am very late and they took it into account.
Somebody said the hotel is noisy, for God sake, that's Greece, that's Athens, that's the culture there, everything to be noisy. Au contrary, this hotel is the most quiet one at least for me, comparing with the others.
Last summer I brought my parents for the first time and I spoke with the hotel to give them the most beautiful and convenient room. They were very nice and prepared nice surprises for my parents when they got in the room. Since then, they always ask me about my parents and pass their regards.
The roof garden is a great one as you can enjoy the most beautiful view of Acopolis.
Bfast is ok at least for me. Not the greatest one, but you have several choices and foold is always fresh.
And another important aspect: I have never tipped the people in the hotel and they never behaved as they were expecting me to do it.

  • Liked — location, people, cleanliness, privacy
  • Disliked — no swimming pool, small fitness room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Oana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2006

I stayed at the Callirhoe for 5 nights for a business meeting. The first thing that struck me was the extremely loud noise you got when you opened the windows in the room - it was impossible to bear for more than 5 minutes. But opening the windows was kind of a necessity as the air conditioner was running non-stop and because they were already at winter terms, only hot air came out of it. It was roasting. Only several complaints at the desk changed that. Another sour point was the internet connection: there is supposed to be one in every room, but mine did not work. When i told that to the desk they looked at me as if i am not capable of handling a computer. At least in the lobby they have WLAN, so i had to sit there to use the internet. Strange was also the furniture setup in my room: there was a desk and instead of a chair an ottoman (far too low for the height of the desk) was underneath it. How anybody is supposed to work there is beyond me.
On the positive side of it, the hotel is very clean, the bathroom had a bathtub, breakfast was plenty and offered quite a variety (from croissants to cornflakes and eggs with bacon) and it is situated quite nicely. Within 10 minutes of walking one is near the Akropolis and within 2 minutes one reaches the underground.

  • Liked — its situation near the Akropolis
  • Disliked — missing internet
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie_eu_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

We are here now, using the in-room internet connection, which is one of the few redeeming features of this clearly over-rated hotel. The five stars it displays are about two in excess if what it deserves.

Initial reception: they missed our airport pickup. Had a 30 minute wait in a cab line at midnight. Night reception clerk argued about our not having made the reservation, which we were able to subsequently forward to him by email.

No room service after midnight (isn't this a requirement of a 5-star facility?). No robes. No CNN. Does have a bar fridge (stocked) and a room safe, though. Appreciated that.

The hardest bed in Europe, without a doubt.

Impossible desk arrangement. No chair, just an ottoman, way too short to be comfortable at.

Immaculately clean. Gotta give them that.

No shower curtain or barrier, despite full shower equipment in the tub. What a mess that makes for! Huge tray of toiletry amenities - that looks nice - but no bar soap for the tub/shower, just two of those impossible-to-open fancy wrapped hand soaps.

Window curtains don't quite cover the window, leaving an irritationg sliver of light from the unquenchable balcony light in your face all night.

Touted view of the Acropolis is from the roof, not the room. We have a view of quite a different set of ruins at street level.

Breakfast was a test of wills trying to get coffee poured. Finally a waiter appears and asked if we wanted "more" coffee. Told him that we hadn't had any yet, which was a mistake, as it meant we would never get more. Finally found the pot and poured it myself, which apparently is a great no-no, for two other waitstaff descended and started pulling the caraffe from my hands. Snarls all around on that one.

We're back for the second night, but only because it is our last. If it were a three-night reservation, we would have been out of here by now!

But the internet connection is nice. Even if the night clerk told us, upon arrival, that there was no internet in the room, that we could use the laptop in the lobby that is called a "Business Centre." And even if I can't reach the keyboard from this ottoman.

  • Liked — Internet connection
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Look elsewhere
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank tdbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2006

We stayed there 4 nights. It's central and the room was very nice. The street is very noisy but with windows closed it's perfect. The breakfast is huge and the personnel very kind and helpfull.
The restaurant is trendy and great tasting.

  • Tips/Secrets — book directly on the hotel sites for great internet surprise prices
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GerAndra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Acropolis Select Hotel
#55 of 326 in Athens
739 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#48 of 326 in Athens
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,017 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel

Property: The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel
Address: 32 Kallirrois, Athens 117 43, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel is a unique Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Athens City where style and comfort are happily coupled to offer a pleasant stay with the finest accommodation and delightful culinary experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Athens
Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing