We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, not chic, but cheap!”
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #213 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed August 29, 2009

I stayed at the Filoxenia Aug 8-11, then on Aug25-26, having booked it based on two criteria: location and price. I paid 42 euro per night for the first stay, and 40 euro for the second stay.
I had rm 104 which gives onto the street so I changed the next day to 108 which was better. I had rm 107 on the last stay overnight, bed was lumpy and bathtub enamel was worn away. Kind of icky!
The location was good because it was close to Larissis and Victoria stations. Buffet breakfast was sufficient for me: coffee/tea, butter, jam , bread, Melba toast, hardboiled eggs, orange juice, ham and cheese slices, and milk and cereal.
The receptionists were all friendly and helpful especially Christos.
Free internet on the sole computer in the lobby. TV in lobby lounge. Bar Pavlina never seemed to be open but I didn't need it.
Never visited the roof-top terrace.
The rooms have carpeting which should be removed. The water pressure was fine in the bathroom and there was sufficient hot water.
There is a book exchange section in the lobby by the TV and a chess game.
There is no hairdryer in the washroom.
TVs are mounted high up so watching from bed requires 2-3 pillows. Small screens.
Rm 108 was the best of all three. It was quiet and the bed was a double.
Receptionists can arrange tours for you.
Hotel needs renovation!!!
The neighbourhood did not bother me: did not see any prostitutes. There were Poles , Bangladeshi and other immigrants in the neighbourhood so I felt at home. Never unsafe. Some supermarkets and convenience stores and kiosks in the neighbourhood for pastries, beer, fruit, etc.
I walked from Filoxenia to Monastiraki one day, very doable, and took the subway at other times.
Truly a budget hotel but all I needed was a bed, a shower, a place to store my luggage and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldtravellerWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2009

cheap hotel in a good location, five minutes walk from victoria metro station

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 27, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

This was one of the worst places i have ever stayed in. The room was very simple but the noise from the building didnt let me sleep. I asked receptionist after first night and he told me that there are students staying here all year round. They had party every night and played music till early morning hours. for the price you paid you get what you get.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rafimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

This hotel is rated as 2 star and it more than adewquately lives up to that. The rooms are clean and secure and the breakfast is enough to get you moving for the day ahead.
The location is not great. It is is the red light area and at night it can be a little intimidating but common sense goes a long way. Don't walk round showing off money or jewellery. During the day the area is no worse than the rest of Athens.
The tube is only 5 mins walk away and there are a few cafes close by for the odd drink or meze.
We fond the staff amazingly helpful. We were messsed around with our flights and found ourselves in Athens for an unexpected night. When arriving at the hotel and finding the place was fully booked they spent a considerable amount of time arranging for us to stay somewhere nearby. Any questions were greeted with helpful and informative answers.
A very good stay by Athens standards.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank patNrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

We stayed here 1 week in August 2008 . We are a couple over 40 from Finland. The hotel is just basic style in southern europe. Not for U.S peope with american breakfast. Beds are little bit hard, it's my opinion. But the stuff is very friendly and situation is very good with metro. It's better use the Victoria metro station, especially in the evening. The Omonia square is not so nice in the evening, but at Victoria square are some nice cafees/restaurants. You have the free internet at the hotel's lobby. And remember, the breakfast is same like (most) allways in southern europe.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank middleagefinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Some of the previous contributors need to seriously chill.

My stepson and I stayed at The Filoxenia for 4 nights at the end of July 2007. We each took a double room for single use. The Filoxenia is what it is - a basic budget standard hotel in the centre of Athens. OK the décor, carpets, bathroom tiling etc needs refreshing but so what? It was kept clean, the water was always hot, the shower was powerful, the linen was changed, the toilet flushed, there was a TV in the room (no charge), there was air conditioning in the room (no charge), breakfast was fine (unlimited coffee, juice – well, squash, bread, hard bread, egg, cheese, ham, cereal, cake – classic Greek) and the guys who ran it were excellent – one could not have been more helpful and the other (more elderly) could not have been more entertaining. The only thing was that there was no fridge but that was no big deal. Neither the bar nor the roof terrace were open. Moreover, it is approx. 5 minutes from Victoria Square and thus you are connected to Athens by metro (if you go buy a 7 day travel pass for 10euros – bus, tram, metro, trolley – a bargain). You could also walk to Omonia, Plaka, the flea market and the Acropolis but it was too hot. As for noise I stayed on the floor below the kitchen and never heard a sound. In fact, this was one of the quietest hotels in Greece I have ever stayed in (get a room at the back) and lets get real noise caused by other guests (almost certainly Americans!) is down to them and obviously the hotel has taken this on board and made a point of telling people to keep it down. As for the other criticisms then these are all obviously personal experiences, which could easily happen in any hotel in any part of the world. When we were there, there were families from France and Greece staying but it mainly caters for the independent travellers who are passing through I would guess.

The bottom line is that you get what you pay for. This isn’t posh and swish but if what you want is a bed, a shopwer, a cool room, in an excellent location then at this price this is an absolute bargain! If what you want is posh, swish, a shower with lots of those free bottles of smelly stuf, a cool room, in an excellent location then go stay in The Grande Bretagne at 10 squillion Euro/ night !

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank grecophile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,464 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,467 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#20 of 282 in Athens
1,209 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Address: 50 Acharnon, Athens 104 33, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $43 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Filoxenia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing