We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of restaurants and bars”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaka District

Plaka District
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.84*
and up
Athens Night Sightseeing Tour with Greek Dinner Show
Ranked #7 of 345 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Historic neighborhood located at the base of the hill topped by the Acropolis.
Rochdale, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lots of restaurants and bars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Pleasant area for eating and drinking with lots of tourist shops. Nice bright and cheerful. Very much how one pictures Greece and reminiscent of Greek Islands.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnpattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,077
    2,998
    710
    90
    26
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The minute I hear the word flea market I start to think of Goa and its flea markets and maybe that's the reason why I was a little underwhelmed with Plaka. The entire market is full of shops that sell regular souvenir stuff, nothing caught my eye in terms of uniqueness and I definitely saw items being sold at a much higher price here than say even 2 streets away. I would just go and visit and not shop here at all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SimChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benthuizen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice tourist area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My hotel was in Plaka and a good starting point to see al the interesting things by foot. The only anoying thing are the shopkeepers who are trying to get you in their shops.A lot of old ruines are there to visit and it is very cozy well in the nightly hours

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guzzioot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun but if you're a tourist, keep moving!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lots of interesting narrow streets full of fascinating shops, but the main problem was that if we slowed down for a second, a shopkeeper would pop out and start the hard sell. It's impossible to just browse and choose slowly! However we had a good cold beer at a bar and the world righted itself again. Plaka is definitely worth a visit, and it's fun, especially as it isn't just tourists there. Lots of Athenians seemed to be enjoying themselves there too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanR646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Narrow Streets and Fun Cafes / Shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Yes, it's very touristy with lots of souvenir shops and many small outdoor cafes. But it's the old settlement area at the foot of the Acropolis and has been so for thousands of years. The streets are steep and require good footwear plus a strong constitution. Many quiet, narrow pedestrian streets to get lost in but full of atmosphere and a lot of fun just to spend an afternoon with friends and family. Usually always crowded with locals as well as tourists so be on the lookout for pickpockets wiuth your valuables.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaka District also viewed

 

Been to Plaka District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing