We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING WARNING!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!”
Review of Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rio Hotel
Ranked #267 of 326 Hotels in Athens
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WARNING WARNING!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

If you like cockroaches and aunts crawling all over your stuff and you when your sleeping then this is ur place. Personally the only time i expect this type of accomodation is when i am camping and even at that i have never stayed in those conditions. The man at the front was moody and chain smoked. They never answered their phone when we were expecting a call. Took half an hour for a friend to get through to us. After being changed rooms once we thought we could rough it and tried to stay... On the second day we packed up our stuff and carried them down the street to the Stanley hotel. If you want to stay in this neighbour hood then stay at the stanley its a few bucks more and you get WAY more and are not scared to see whats in your shower....

Room Tip: there is no good room... stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    35
    37
    81
See reviews for
54
52
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I don't even know where to start ... This hotel is so horrible that I am writing this review while I'm still in Athens. I have no idea how this hotel is a 3 star. It really should be a negative star. It was such a horrible experience that we had to leave after 2 nights: the disgusting old men, horrible service and uncleanliness. When we first arrived, the lights to our room didn't work, then our toilet wasn't functional. Therefore, they gave us another room. However, upon entering the 2nd room we noticed left over soap in the shower from the previous guest, our phone and fridge didn't work, then we were welcomed by ants in our luggage and on the bed. Finally, the last straw was the cockroaches. This place is disgusting and filthy. If you want to come for an adventure then be sure to check out this nasty place. Please, please do not come. Even the breakfast was disgusting. The bread was hard as a rock like croutons.

Room Tip: Stay AWAY!!!!! There is not a single good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Accessible and convenient location that is 5 minutes away from the metro station but unsafe neighborhood. Rooms are uncleaned when arrived. There were papers left in the drawer from the last user. Packing of soap was opened. Broken equipment in bathroom. Decent breakfast was served from 8-10am, but wasn't sure how long the breakfast tray has been prepared. Wrong information has been given when asked how to reach to certain destination. Wasted the whole morning because of that. Did not expect too much due to the low prices, but what had expected was the cleanliness of the room and it certainly did not meet the expectation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabizrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Trip advisor very rarely steers me wrong, but I would frankly rather stay in a hostel than this place. My friends and I have been traveling around Europe of our study abroad experience, so our standards really aren't that high. The minimum standard I expect from a hotel (especially) is cleanliness, which is where this place really fell short. Our beds were made the second day, however our bathroom wasn't cleaned and we weren't even given new toilet paper, so we ended up running out of toilet paper. Which I find ridiculous. The AC wasn't really working which was fine since it was decently cold outside, but would be difficult in the summer. The concierge (if you could call him that) had no map to give us, and the other man (who i believe is the one the rater below me called a smelly old man) was barely coherent and was openly smoking in the lobby. Additionally, the breakfast was small and we got yelled at for taking more than two hard boiled eggs each. If this had been a hostel I wouldn't have been surprised or disappointed, but since we paid more money in a country where people should be really concerned with good presentation and service, I have honestly never been so disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostock, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Wonderful location in the heart of Athens. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by their friendly staff. The service was excellent; the facilities of the room were great. The rooms were nicely decorated, comfortable and very clean. The rooms as well as the hotel were well-designed and well-appointed. But we found large black ants in my bathroom. So scared. The staff had to spray them for us. One disadvantage only.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank nutflush07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos Town, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Grumpy smelly old man at the front desk was very unhelpful. The hotel was recommended as gay friendly but it was hardly friendly. Location was great though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Rented a family room for 4 nights Aug 2011. Accommodations were fine nothing fancy but functional. Had a room on top (3rd) floor. Air Conditioning was marginal first night, got back late on second day and was not working, staff moved us to a room that they said was working. Moved into room, assured that it was working just would take a while to cool down. Never did. Hottest night in my life and I have camped in 100 Degree heat. Next morning, staff said this happens in hot weather and entire system was down but would be repaired. Gave them one more chance. Got back late on day 3 and our room was nice and cool. I was a bit suspect because another guest on the other side of floor asked whether we had AC because they still did not. Our's quit in the middle of the night. That was it, checked out and went to hotel up the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Athens Odeon Hotel
Athens Odeon Hotel
#176 of 326 in Athens
120 reviews
Golden City Hotel
#249 of 326 in Athens
235 reviews
Omonia
Alassia Hotel
Alassia Hotel
#233 of 326 in Athens
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Achillion Hotel
#106 of 326 in Athens
363 reviews
Omonia
Iniohos Hotel
Iniohos Hotel
#216 of 326 in Athens
134 reviews
Hotel Aristoteles
#224 of 326 in Athens
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Hotel

Property: Rio Hotel
Address: 13 Odysseos Street | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 10436, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the quiet pedestrian street of Κaraiskaki Square, this hotel is next to Metaxourghio Metro Station and the railway station. The multilingual staff are available 24 hours each day.Housed in a fully air-conditioned restored neoclassical building, the guest rooms include minibar, satellite TV and private bathroom with hairdryer. Complimentary ouzo is offered to all guests upon arrival.The Bar-Restaurant on the ground floor provides the ideal place in which to relax enjoying refreshments, food and pleasant music. It serves many kinds of drinks and Greek specialities until well after midnight.Hotel Rio Athens enjoys a strategic location just 1km from Syntagma Square, 15km from the port of Piraeus and 35km from the Eleftherios Venizelos International Airport. Wireless Internet Hotspot is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing