We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Monastiraki
from $55.03
More Info
from $17.20
More Info
from $28.66
More Info
from $61.91
More Info
Reviews (5,255)
Filter reviews
5,255 results
Traveler rating
2,329
2,052
658
129
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,329
2,052
658
129
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flea market metro station antique shops busy square souvlaki street vendors pick pockets hadrian's library t shirts tourist shops meeting point narrow streets ancient agora walk around souvenirs pickpockets acropolis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,357 - 2,362 of 5,255 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

One of the most lively places in Athens. The square to start an exploration of the centre of Athens.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank Labis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Liked it was near a station. Has some interesting shops and restaurants. Lots of homeless people around begging for change.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank TravellersCyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Interesting and alternately seedy and touristy and impressive, depending on which street you are on.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank SH2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This part of old Athens is another area that has many souvenir shops and cafes etc., but look around and you can find some relatively decent antiques. There are some shops that sell quite quirky items and some are just plain junk, but there are bargains to be had. There are a number of cafes and taverns serving traditional Greek cuisine, so that is always worth checking out if you haven’t already eaten. Busy and chaotic, but to be fair, even though I was a solo traveller, walking around with a somewhat decent camera around my neck indicating ‘Tourist’, I did not feel at all uncomfortable or threatened in any way. Go check it out and have fun.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank PaulP768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This shopping area is lined with stalls, selling mostly junky stuff, with an atmosphere we found so intimidating that we held our wallets and purses clost while we wound out way out.

Date of experience: July 2012
3  Thank salsasenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews