We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good”
Review of Achillion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Achillion Hotel
Ranked #105 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Relatively good location - walking distance to the Metro Station and the museum, and even Monastiraki, Plaka and Acropolis (the last two could be quite a bit of a walk).
The people at the reception are very helpful face to face, but you need to go down to talk to them (difficult over the phone).
Ref in the rooms need upgrading (not very cold).
Bathrooms a bit on the small side.

Room Tip: Specify a relatively larger bathrooms since the bathroom in some of the rooms could be very small.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CecilleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Achillion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 384 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

I recently came back and I was a bit scared after reading some reviews. Luckily it wasn't as bad as some reviewers made it seem like. I must say that the area itself is definitely not in the best conditions but the hotel was very clean, nice staff, and very helpful. There is no safe in the room and the shower was extremely small. If your on a budget and not so picky then this is a decent hotel. The big bottle of water was only 1€ and the cans if beer only 1€ as well, so can't complain there lol.. this location is very close to the acropolis and easy to get to the major attractions within walking distance, that is if you don't mind walking a bit. However there is 2 metro locations nearby if you decide you don't want to walk.
This is my opinion regarding omonoia metro station it is very crowded during the day and there's many things going on there but nothing to worry about. There's lots of shops, food and mix crowds. I did see a few homeless, drunk men walking around but that was throughout the day and everyone just ignores them and keep it moving. At night it was more quiet and definitely some weird people walking around but there was always plenty of cops therefore I didn't feel unsafe. I'm from NYC and little things like that don't phase me. I'm sorry but some people exaggerated about omonoia metro station besides your only there to sightsee during daytime not night time.. just saying. Anyways once I was done visiting all the major attractions me and my friends decided to take the tram which only costs 1.60€ to Glafyda, we wanted to see something different and go to The beach, it took us about an 1hr but it was worth the trip. We got to see a nice beach and finally I felt like I was in the city. Everything and everyone was totally the opposite from Athens. Much more cleaner and lots of shops,cafe,lounges, restaurants, I mean they had everything.. I'm sure eventually you will want to leave Athens, well don't be afraid and take the tram, they have plenty of beaches and is not so hard to get there. Good luck on your travels

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drdidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The location was a bit scary especially at night, however the place was very clean and well kept. the housekeepers are non-stop cleaning the place. the breakfast buffet was good for only 5 euro! i enjoyed the breakfast!!!! its about few stops in the metro to go to the acropolis and other attractions. good price, i paid about $138 plus for 2 nights with four single beds. anyway, we only stayed there to sleep, we were out all day!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosie718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Very good in everything, generally nice staff, but Panos was the exceptionally THE best Receptionist anyway, he offered advice, venues, restaurants, museums, everything...

The neighborhood is not as scary as people said, it's a main street and you get to see cop cars and Policemen groups sitting on their bikes all around Omonia Square and Konstantinou St. so stop whining about these matters, you will feel safe enough.

Rooms are very clean, bathrooms are tiny in some rooms though, T.V was all Greek channels which happen to be a bit boring, but travelling on a budget is not about that anyway.

I strongly advise you to try that Hotel for all the people going on budget.

One Con( not really ): When you book for Achillion (or Axillion as written on the building) it is NON-REFUNDABLE, there's no turning back, but my girlfriend needed that kind of booking that was specifically requested from the Greek Embassy for Visa issuance!

Room Tip: The higher the quieter or course
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankieRoams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel has one huge plus which outweighs its disadvantages, which is friendly, professional English-speaking staff. As a single female looking rather the worsee for wear I was not only made feel weolcome but offered current advice on the cultural life of Athens...if you're staying this near the centre, chances are this is the kind of attitude which is going to optimise whatever you want from Athens, The downside is the area, which is disturbingly poor. This was always the area where mainly illegal immigrants made a meagre living; with Greece's current situtaion it has become a ghetto. Stay out of the side streets- straight up Ag Constantinou, down Athina st and it's 10 minutes walk to Monastiraki for the Acroplis and Plaka.The hotel is completely secure, the breakfast luxurious.

Room Tip: rooms fairly sound-proof, as in any city centre get the highest above the street you can
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This hotel is centraly located and we were able to walk to many attractions. The rooms are good and worth the money we paid. The staff waspolite and answered all our questions. The only down thing we did not like was the area outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramune D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed 3 nights. First experience of athens. Yea area is a bit seedy and noticed it initialy (seemed to get better, dont know if the cops did a round up or they were all rioting at Syntagma) but as people say lots of police around and the locals keep to themselves. Yep reasonably cetral and as long as you are resonably fit no prob walking to plaka and sites or metro is very close. Room was fine as was breakkie. Found the reception staff helpful. I think we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Marina Hotel Athens
#80 of 282 in Athens
668 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delphi Art Hotel
#82 of 282 in Athens
284 reviews
Victory Inn
#46 of 282 in Athens
301 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#23 of 282 in Athens
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achillion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achillion Hotel

Address: 32 Agiou Konstadinou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $45 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Achillion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Achillion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing