We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant in quiet neighborhood”
Review of To Trikyklo

To Trikyklo
Ranked #35 of 3,971 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: - "To Trikyklo" (tricycle) is a cafeteria- tavern- bar, located next to the park of the Lambrakis hill, at the pedestrian of Pytheou str., in a renovated two-floor stone building of 1931, with its own yard and tables outside, on the pedestrian street in the summer. We are located very close to the Acropolis Museum and the Temple of Zeus. Although outside the tourist area of downtown Athens, we are very close to it on foot. The menu consists of authentic Greek and Mediterranean recipes, prepared with love and creativity. --All Greek (and other) spirits served, are carefully selected!
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in quiet neighborhood”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant based on TripAdvisor recommendations and were not disappointed. First the owner is a very nice man who could not have been more attentive. And the food was outstanding. We ate there three times while in Athens for eight days (and enjoyed three other restaurants recommended by TripAdvisor ... but this was our favorite). Twice I had veal wrapped with eggplant ... the veal was tender, moist, and substantial and the eggplant heavenly. My wife and I shared the best tsatziki I have ever had ... my wife focussed on grilled vegetables and salads and said they were wonderful. The setting was in a little pedestrian walking area in a quiet neighborhood ... we were staying just off Syntagma Square and it was about a 10 or 15 minute walk. We sat outdoors and were kept cool by it being a breezy area. Our bill was usually around 10 euros per person.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sojourn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    104
    23
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great value, good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Visited here with a group of business colleagues looking for a change from hotel conference catering and large scale tourist restaurants, and based on the reviews here on TA. We were not disappointed, the food was simple Greek dishes served Mezze style and freshly prepared and good quality. Although the menus were available in English we just asked the restaurant to provide a selection of food and ordered drinks. The setting was on a quiet street - very little traffic - more a pedestrian area next to a square. Come here for the food - not the view! The restaurant and the ones next door and across the street were all very busy with nearly all locals eating and drinking which created a pleasant atmosphere. The pace was relaxing and there was no rush - the staff were attentive whenever we ordered more food or drink. Lost count of how many rounds of beer we drank - they ran out of cold bottles, but also had beer on draft. The restaurant treated us to complimentary after dinner drinks and desserts. All came to less than 25 Euros a head which considering how much we drank was a bargain. A number in the party who were staying on in Athens for a few days said they'd be coming back - can't get a much better recommendation than that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AMJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diama500, Ιδιοκτήτης at To Trikyklo, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Thank you for visiting our restaurant and for your nice words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We hiked the extra mile away from the Plaka to visit, based on the Tripadvisor ratings. We were not disappointed. Casual atmosphere on a quiet pedestrian street, cheery service, and great food. We had a Greek salad, a soft cheese, octopus, sautéed fish, and the veal in red sauce. The salad and veal were outstanding, while everything else was good. Our waitress treated us to a few deserts of fresh cut watermelon and the house chocolate cake. We added Fredo cappuccinos to complete the feast. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahFuehne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'd give it 6 stars if I could...”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Found this spot on my recent trip to Athens. It's a little off the beaten path, but we'll worth the journey! Food was excellent and very reasonably priced. highlights included the tzatzkki and the meatballs but everything we had was superb. the staff was great too. I was in Greece for a week and this was our favorite meal. We of course made two trips here. We were also the only non locals both times we ate here...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Meal and Service”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My friend and I saw the positive reviews of this restaurant and were pretty close so we decided to check it out. We had a great feeling when we sat down in the restaurant and realized only locals were at the restaurant (always a good sign). The menu did have English, but the servers are very friendly and willing to help since parts of the menu don't translate well into English. The food was so good and the service was so great that we had to come back again before we left Athens. When you combine the price and the quality this place is a no brainer and a must for anyone visiting Athens. I'm a little mad I didn't find this place at the beginning of the trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Trikyklo also viewed

 

Been to To Trikyklo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing