We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option (with cigarette smell)”
Review of Zorbas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zorbas Hotel
Ranked #22 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good option (with cigarette smell)”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Zorbas staff were friendly and kind. We're near by the Victoria Garden metro and about 20min walk to Acropolis. The area has plenty of food options as well. Athens has a lot of graffiti and the streets are pretty empty at night, but I never felt unsafe. We stayed in a private queen sized room with our private bathroom. Wifi is available (although not fast) and our room was cleaned daily. Our room did not have a working A/C, but the windows sufficed. Greece is a smoking cigarette culture, so our room did have a cigarette smell to it. It was simple, no ruffles, place to spend the nights. For the essentials, its a great affordable option!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELISSA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    37
    16
    14
See reviews for
7
15
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stay in 4 share dorm room, not too bad in the room, big window in the room but only face a wall from next building, the toilet is a bit too small and of not so nice, you have no where to hang your cloths when you take shower. the hotel itself is quite small and simple, but consider its cheap so i will still recommend it for budget traveler, its a bout half hour walk from the tourist spot, if you have time walk there save some money form transportation, and there is a supermarket 10 or 15 minutes away from the hotel, good to save money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennessy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Having stayed in many other hostels before, this one really "takes the cake". I seldom give bad reviews but this is really terrible. Wifi is almost non-exsistent even in the lobby (or bar), rooms were old and smelly (maybe not the sole fault of hostel) and worse of all - total lack of plugs in the room (only 2 available at far end for a 6 people dorm).

Overall, really terrible since they do not even meet the basic needs of every traveller - wifi, cleanliness and power plugs. Only redeeming factor? Cheap and location was next to a metro (but not a direct line to acropolis as well). But still, I'd advise against this hostel, go somewhere better!

Room Tip: Don't even bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalnutWatch175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed in Zorbas with two friends. The hotel is very well located, and it is clean and so are the rooms. People is very nice there, we spent a wonderful time and they made us redecorate the living room and taught as to count in greek.
Very recommendable!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fira, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great place!!good value for money...realy nice and helpfull stuff 24 hours!i was traveling alone but i met many people at the bar of the hostel!it wasn't my first time in Athens but if i ll go again i ll stay there for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnny865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It was the worst place that I have stayed during my trip. Firstly this hotel has a poor wifi connection. Staff wasnt so friendly, room that close the reception is impossible to sleep. Even at 3 am they were talking loudly. If your are looking for a place in athens consider other options especially for a long durations (more than 2 days)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yavuz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed for four nights in early November, which meant the place was almost completely deserted, and the cheapest night under a roof I've ever paid (8 euros 50). It's not the flashiest place in the world but has everything you could want from a hostel (except for a stove at the time!), and being less than half an hours walk from virtually anywhere in Athens, and just across the road from a metro station, the location couldn't be better. Guys behind the counter were very helpful and cheerful. No complaints!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Pangrati
Pagration Youth Hostel
Pagration Youth Hostel
#212 of 326 in Athens
66 reviews
Hotel Cosmos
#132 of 326 in Athens
310 reviews
New Dream Hotel
#157 of 326 in Athens
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chameleon Youth Hostel
#12 of 67 in Athens
43 reviews
Exarchia
Athens Quinta Hostel
Athens Quinta Hostel
#8 of 67 in Athens
69 reviews
Omonia
Athens Choice Hotel
Athens Choice Hotel
#14 of 67 in Athens
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas Hotel

Property: Zorbas Hotel
Address: 10 Gilfordou, Athens 104 34, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Zorbas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zorbas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing