We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Evripides Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Evripides Hotel
Ranked #54 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel was in a very handy location, close to the train station, a short walk to the Acropolis, and the Plaka. The staff were friendly and very helpful with arranging our travel to the airport early in the morning. The bar upstairs had amazing views of the Acropolis and good cheap wine. Our room also had amazing views, and it was air conditioned, clean and comfortable. All in all, a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    383
    143
    30
    18
See reviews for
102
358
93
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espinho, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great hotel for its price range, great view over the Acropolis. And, above all, staff is very helpful, always with a smile.
If you go to the airport, you easily catch the metro in Monastiraki, about 7 minutes walking.
The Acropolis Museum is 20 minutes walking, and on the way you pass by some nice places, near the Acropolis and Monastiraki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

It is a very nice hotel located close to the Acropolis and the Monastiraky Metro Station from where you can go to the airport or the Piradeus Port. The hotel is clean, the rooms are comfortable with Air conditioned. The reception clerks are very kind. The terrace of the hotel, where the restaurant is, has an great view on the Pantheon. My wife was a little scarred of the walking through the Evripides street from the hotel to the Athinas Street to get the Monastiraky or to go to the Acropolis, but nothing happened. Anyway the best way to leave the hotel is to take the right and then the right again at te first corner, then walk straight, you will find you at the Monastiraky station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacobo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is like a hidden jewel. It was a little hard to find. Walking there was a little nerve wrecking because we got in around midnight and were trying to walk down sketchy and dark ally ways to find this place. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. The lobby area was simple but nice. Our room was very clean and spacious. I think the hotel reminded me more of a hostel. The highlight of this hotel was the daily breakfast. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace that has an aerial view of Athens and the Acropolis. It was amazing to eat a delicious meal (great selection of breakfast items) facing a very ancient and historic site. We had a blast staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsw778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Evripides is a well maintained place in a tricky neighborhood, although we experienced no real problems, not even at night. Clean, modern, and with an awsome view from the roof terrace. This hotel deserves a better neighborhood! But it is on walking distance of everything: the ideal location for a touristic visit of the center of Athens.

Room Tip: Some rooms are really small. And the rooms on the sunny side can be hot (even with AC) in the aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VaBenebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I am leaving Athens tomorrow and not only do I not want to leave the city, I don't want to leave hotel! It is by far one of the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff was excellent and very helpful. It is within walking distance to the Plaka and Monastiraki neighborhoods. There is also this area about 2 blocks away with some cool bars and awesome cheap restaurants! I would recommend this hotel to everyone, budget or not!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverEred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My two teenage daughters and I have just returned from spending 18 days at the Evripides Hotel in Athens. All three of us loved it. We felt instantly at home. Two of us had good beds but the youngest girl's bed was not so good and she found it difficult to sleep.

The hotel is modern and very clean. All the staff are great and helpful. The kindest were Spressa, our cleaning lady, who always left our room in sparkling condition and Dimitra, the breakfast lady. Thanks to Dimitra's kind smile, going to the breakfast area and terrace were always a pleasure. The food was the best of the day and we tried to eat, although eating in the morning is hard. The cost of food in Athens is so high that often breakfast was the only meal we could afford. Of course, food is not just expensive in Athens. It is just as expensive in London where we come from.

The Evripides is in a working class area where several Chinese companies are based. These people always minded their own business and never, ever were a problem to tourists. Smaller communities consisted of Bangladeshi shop owners and a few Ismalic shop owners. It felt very good to be among these people, as they minded their own business and were also very helpful to us when we visited their shops. One of the nicest people we met was Faisal, who ran the phone shop and printing business near the hotel. Seeing his friendly face usually made our day. There is absolutely no reason to have any trepidation about going to this multicultural district. As Londoners we preferred it to the more upmarket areas such as Monastiraki and Syntagma because we felt more at home in the multicultural atmosphere of the Psirri district. The one slight downer was the sight of heroin addicts shooting up. We always felt very sorry to see them doing it but they never bothered us.

Great places to visit are the National Gardens and Lake Vouliagmeni. Take the E22 bus from the junction between Syna and Akademias Streets. It is very fast. If you need taxis walk to the junction between Evripides Street and Athinas Street and hail a cab there. It is about 3 euros cheaper than calling a cab to the hotel.

We loved our trip and strongly recommend visiting Athens and staying at the Evripides.

Room Tip: All the hotel rooms were roughly the same so don't worry about which room you are allocated. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enetia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#76 of 326 in Athens
580 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,345 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#87 of 326 in Athens
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,862 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,180 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evripides Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evripides Hotel

Property: Evripides Hotel
Address: 79 Evripidou, Athens 105 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evripides Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Athens close to the Acropolis, Evripides Hotel Athens is the place to be when you want to go sightseeing! It is conveniently located within a short walking distance of all the main archaeological sites, Plaka, athens most picturesque district and within easy reach of many attractions such as museums and galleries. There is also a metro station nearby providing easy access for those coming from the international airport or from Piraeus port and for those who want to explore the entire city. Evripides hotel offers comfort and high quality services by our friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are functional and relaxing, warmly decorated with traditional touches creating the ideal environment for a pleasant stay in Athens. ... And don't miss our roof garden on the 7th floor overlooking the Acropolis and providing a panoramic view of Athens, where your breakfast is served and where you can enjoy a drink in the evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evripides Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing