We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evripides Hotel, Athens, Greece” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evripides Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Evripides Hotel
Ranked #56 of 325 Hotels in Athens
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Evripides Hotel, Athens, Greece”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My two teenage daughters and I have just returned from spending 18 days at the Evripides Hotel in Athens. All three of us loved it. We felt instantly at home. Two of us had good beds but the youngest girl's bed was not so good and she found it difficult to sleep.

The hotel is modern and very clean. All the staff are great and helpful. The kindest were Spressa, our cleaning lady, who always left our room in sparkling condition and Dimitra, the breakfast lady. Thanks to Dimitra's kind smile, going to the breakfast area and terrace were always a pleasure. The food was the best of the day and we tried to eat, although eating in the morning is hard. The cost of food in Athens is so high that often breakfast was the only meal we could afford. Of course, food is not just expensive in Athens. It is just as expensive in London where we come from.

The Evripides is in a working class area where several Chinese companies are based. These people always minded their own business and never, ever were a problem to tourists. Smaller communities consisted of Bangladeshi shop owners and a few Ismalic shop owners. It felt very good to be among these people, as they minded their own business and were also very helpful to us when we visited their shops. One of the nicest people we met was Faisal, who ran the phone shop and printing business near the hotel. Seeing his friendly face usually made our day. There is absolutely no reason to have any trepidation about going to this multicultural district. As Londoners we preferred it to the more upmarket areas such as Monastiraki and Syntagma because we felt more at home in the multicultural atmosphere of the Psirri district. The one slight downer was the sight of heroin addicts shooting up. We always felt very sorry to see them doing it but they never bothered us.

Great places to visit are the National Gardens and Lake Vouliagmeni. Take the E22 bus from the junction between Syna and Akademias Streets. It is very fast. If you need taxis walk to the junction between Evripides Street and Athinas Street and hail a cab there. It is about 3 euros cheaper than calling a cab to the hotel.

We loved our trip and strongly recommend visiting Athens and staying at the Evripides.

Room Tip: All the hotel rooms were roughly the same so don't worry about which room you are allocated. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enetia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    348
    138
    28
    18
See reviews for
97
321
87
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Clean, quiet, good value. The neighborhood wasn't great but wasn't too bad - it's a poorer area with a lot of immigrants but fine for us. For the price it was very good. The position was great as close to metro. The breakfast was great and the view of the acropolis from the rooftop perfect. Check out the restaurant across the road for some real/local Greek cuisine. They specialise in pork chops (nothing else) so grab some chops, salad and tzitiki and enjoy. I would write a review but cannot remember the name.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greekGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

the hotel is in a really dodgy neighbourhood. we were in a huge group of 10 and still we got random people staring at us and shouting random stuff at us when we walked out of the hotel everyday. the hotel owner (a lady) was really unfriendly except on the last day - she was friendly to everyone else so we had no idea why this was the case. the breakfast was standard, cafe had views of the acropolis. rooms were of decent size and fairly clean but we will not be returning to this hotel - we felt very unsafe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mifen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Romania, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Cheap, clean and great personnel
The rooms are simple but confortable, the breakfast is ok
The location unfortunately is not the best... It's in an area full of emigrants and oriental shops.
There are a lot of old buildings and people drunk sleeping on streets

Helpful?
Thank Panzariu A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I only stayed here two nights one weekend in June 2013 because I was in town for a wedding. I would probably stay here again because it was so cheap and the hotel itself is just fine (with all the amenities and even a great view of the Acropolis for breakfast). THE ONLY DOWNSIDE: the area right across the street and onward is very sketchy and dirty (ie: not safe for young women walking alone!) I'm from NYC so I am used to certain sketchy neighborhoods but for inexperienced travellers, I would walk with friends in a group. That's not to say that I experienced anything bad during my stay, but it definitely appears eerie and sketchy at night, so just be warned! I walked to the metro with a friend at 6 am and it was desolate, but perfectly fine.

Ideal location for the budget traveller who wants to be in the center of Athens with easy access to food and entertainment!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 16WorldTraveler1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is located just a few blocks from cafe culture and Athen's vibrant nightlife. The location does seem a bit unsafe, but I encountered no incidents or solicitations during my four day stay. The rooms were clean and well-kept, and I appreciated the 24-hour desk service. If the desk clerk is willing to work all night with the doors open, I can't imagine the neighborhood is that unsafe, and like I said, you are very close to a good social scene. Be aware that free internet here means weak internet only in the lobby area. Overall, good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TremontTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This Hotel is fine, nothing special, the rooms are clean, the beds are a little uncomfortable but this is budget accomodation after all. Breakfast was good. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast/bar area on the top floor is a great place to watch a sunset and view the acropolis while having a beer to relax after dealing with the heat and crowds of Athens for the day. The hotel isn't far from the main attractions (walking distance), but the area is a little dodgy and run down, we didn't experience any trouble at all, but I wouldn't have been comfortable walking around the area at night, which we avoided after some advice from a taxi driver when arriving. Perfect for budget travellers and backpackers who want a private room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveA154911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Victory Inn
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#67 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#80 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evripides Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evripides Hotel

Property: Evripides Hotel
Address: 79 Evripidou, Athens 105 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evripides Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Athens close to the Acropolis, Evripides Hotel Athens is the place to be when you want to go sightseeing! It is conveniently located within a short walking distance of all the main archaeological sites, Plaka, athens most picturesque district and within easy reach of many attractions such as museums and galleries. There is also a metro station nearby providing easy access for those coming from the international airport or from Piraeus port and for those who want to explore the entire city. Evripides hotel offers comfort and high quality services by our friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are functional and relaxing, warmly decorated with traditional touches creating the ideal environment for a pleasant stay in Athens. ... And don't miss our roof garden on the 7th floor overlooking the Acropolis and providing a panoramic view of Athens, where your breakfast is served and where you can enjoy a drink in the evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Evripides Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing