We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, great location, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Student & Travellers Inn
Ranked #17 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great location, friendly service”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in Student and Travellers Inn in late October 2013.

The receptionists (depending on which hour of the day) are friendly and helpful and always greet us with a smile.

We had the double room with en suite bathroom. Our room and the bathroom are clean. When I walked past the common bathroom and toilet, I noticed they look clean as well.

Location was great and close to all major attractions.

They do offer breakfast for 3-5 euros. I had the English breakfast (bacons, eggs, toast, orange juice and tea) for 5 euros for two mornings - it was delicious :)

Lounge garden area has a bar and a vending machine that dispenses beer :)

Wifi can get spotty sometimes but overall decent.

Only complaint was the bed was abit small... And we are only two small-sized asians...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jooeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    113
    56
    28
    27
See reviews for
24
67
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We found the room to be simple, cheerful and clean. Room and bathroom size was quite good for a budget accommodation. The room got cleaned very day. It is located in the heart of Plaka so its great to around cafes, shops, a museum and a church. 7-10 minutes walk away from Syntagma square.In our 3 nights stay here, we interacted with 4 different people at the reception. All of them were extremely helpful. They gave us detailed directions, recommendations and information. 1 of them even lent me her mobile charger as mine wasn't fitting in!! The air conditioning didn't work well; though we were fine without it as it was cold (unexpectedly for a few days in Athens). The room had a musty smell. We left the windows open for a few hours and then it was fine.

Overall very happy with the place. Recommend it to anyone wanting a well located, basic budget accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 4 nights in the double room with private onsweet. The room was basic but good and spacious toilet was clean and shower was ok. The area is close to town maybe 10-20min walk (depending on your pace) so that was good walked to town every day, the area it self is slightly dodge but most of Athens seems to be unless your in the upmarket area. They also have info on tours and stuff. If you can spare 72€ deffinatly take the luxury tour of 3 islands close to Athens, that was the highlight out our visit to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location of the hostel is fantastic only a few moments away from the acropolis and great shops and cafes in the historic part of greece. We only had a 2 night stay but the convenient location meant we could easily get to the major city attractions in that time. There was also an information desk at the hostel which we were able to book our ferry to the Greek islands.
The rooms were small and very basic but fine. Shared showering facilities were average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My experience with this backpackers was not one that I ever want a repeat of!! On the first night of our trip, following 25 hours of travelling, we checked into the Students & Travellers Inn in central Athens . First impressions seemed ok although they charged us more than the price we booked through HostelWorld. The following morning we discovered one of our travelling companions had blood all over his bedsheets and upen lifting the matresses on all 4 beds we found an infestation of bed bugs in the slats of the bed and all over the underside of the matresses. A number of them ended up in my luggage which was sitting on the floor and I now have to go through the process of trying to get rid of them and have suffered numerous bites. When we notified the Owner he tried to blame us for bringing them in (although they were thoroughly established through all 4 beds), no apology and when we asked for a discount/free night he wouldn't agree to this. He did however move us into another room. It was a huge inconvenience for us, really ruined the beginning of our trip and their attitude was not one of a hostel who had any concern for their guests or reputation. Not only that, but they put new guests in that very room the same night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location is great. It's a short walk to most of the main attractions in Athens. The area is very tourist-y and doesn't have much of a night life. The staff were very helpful though, recommending and showing on maps good places to visit and how to get tickets, etc. Berakfast is good. The rooms were small, but airconditioned, clean and had balconies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Helpful staff, great location to walk to sites. Breakfast was meh and the chirping bird was a bit annoying. A/C worked (and it can get hot in Athens!). Cheap beer in vending machine. Lots of restaurants nearby, the worst being the one right beside this hostel. Wifi didn't seem to work in our room, but worked well in the main lounge. We stayed for 2 nights in a double room with private bathroom. The room and bathroom were both small but adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 327 in Athens
1,658 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 327 in Athens
3,240 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 327 in Athens
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#16 of 327 in Athens
2,975 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 327 in Athens
1,463 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 327 in Athens
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Student & Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Student & Travellers Inn

Property: The Student & Travellers Inn
Address: Krdathineon Street Chatzimichali Agelikis Plaka 16, Athens 105 58, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Student & Travellers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Student And Travellers Inn
The Student & Travellers Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing