We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
14
29
19
11
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
14
29
19
11
14
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 87 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2018

The room was huge, and had a kitchen. In other words, this property offers great value for money. There is a nice breakfast service downstairs, which can be brought up to the room if desired. The beach is just a few minutes walk. So for the price, the whole experience was excellent.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris2421356707655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018 via mobile

We are family with 3 small kids (11,6,1)years. Hotel is on a good location near the main street and Varkiza beach. Our first opinion was that hotel was excellent about 10-15years ago,now it's good. Kitchen, rooms and bath are good equipped,only furniture looks old.
Hotel has abilities for disabled people(entrance and elevator).

We had problem because our car was hitted in the front of Hotel entrance...Back light was smashed and nobody saw who did it. One of them from reception took broken parts of car who did it, probably to give it back to the owner☺ Girl from reception said that she is sorry but they dont have security camera in front just inside.
So our finaly opinion is that Varkiza is a great place and we recommend it for visit, but Hotel Appolonia isnt secure place.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Naksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a week in Varkiza and we stayed here. It is in a good location. Everything nearby restaurants, supermarket, bakeries and bars. Also good for connections to Athens and the airport. The hotel it's self is not a 4 star hotel. Yeah it has the amenities to make the grade but decor wise it is not 4 star. That is probably my only negative comment. The room was big, with a separate kitchen and balcony. The bathroom was small but it had a power shower so I was happy with that. Didn't experience any problems with the water. The towels and sheets were changed daily. Toiletries supplied as well. The beds were really comfy. It was a good room. We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food. The staff were really pleasant as well. We got this hotel for a great price so we were happy enough. A lick of paint, update the furniture and better curtains and we'd return.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank catd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

I don't have enough words to describe this place.
The only nice thing was the girl at the reception.
Hotel itself its a dirt hole!
The worse hotel I haven't seen in my entire life. And it's not a game of words. I'm really disgusted even to touch things in here...
We've stayed here for one night because we have an early flight and needed a place closer to the airport and we didn't book anything in advance, so we just came in here to ask for a free room.
Absolutely everything here is dirty or broken.
Broken wardrobe doors hanging down, beds in an awful condition, bathroom full of hair, toilet with the dirt drops sliding down..
The price however is way too high for what it is.
Will add some pictures below as justification because still I don't manage to describe the whole picture.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank aquarius20102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

I always try to give an honest review and will do the same here.
The good points - the 2 bed apartment is spacious, the balcony is large, the free toiletries are a bonus, there is a lift, staff seem OK. The beach that you pay for is Great and has very good facilities.
The bad points - THEY CHARGED MY CARD WITHOUT PRIOR AUTHORIZATION BEFORE I ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL. It has been reported to Booking.com so be careful if you book here. The Pool is smaller than it looks and VERY deep - upto 2.8m. NO shallow part. Unsuitable for children. The balcony has much too large gaps making it unsafe for small children. The room was very tired and dated and in need of a good clean. The bathroom was confusing. Electric shower that didn't work, shower head that couldn't be held up in the bracket and rings on the wall with no purpose I can see. Lack of privacy as NO blinds and curtains see through at night with lights on. Lift only suitable for 2 people at a time. Located at the top of a steel hill, 15 min walk from beach. No good for small children, wheelchairs or pushchairs and we had all 3! Not cleaned well at all. NO WAY THIS SHOULD BE A 4 STAR HOTEL. I WOULD SAY A 2 STAR AT BEST.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trish-StAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews