We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Ranked #43 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

It is a best western hotel but it is furnished like an Ibis. But it is ok, the room is not very big but it was enough for a 3 days trip. It is located in plaka, very near the syntagma square where there is the metro station to the airport. Near the hotel there is a very good place to set wonderful steamed mussels. The breakfast is good, with Greek yogurt, fruits, bread cheese...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elipessoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

First time we had stayed here and it was a wonderful choice. Location could not be better, easy to get to Syntagma Square or a short walk to the Plaka and the Acropolis.

Hotel has been recently renovated and we were on the first floor and rooms were very modern with a lot of glass. Rooms are not huge but have everything you need including a good size bathroom, TV and air conditioning.

Buffet breakfast was included in our stay and there was a good choice of items.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be in the middle of the action. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better location. EVERYTHING was walking distance- all the tourist sites, bus, tram stations. Nice cafes a stone's throw away.

Staff helpful and pleasant enough.

Rooms however, were very small. Shower cubicle was so small, I was wondering how taller and bigger people manage to shower ( I am a petite woman). No tea kettle or iron in the rooms. The only English channel was CNN.

Breakfast same everyday- juices not fresh.

Look at it just as a place to sleep. Nothing more.

Room Tip: Make sure you state your preference. Single or double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuneWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

BW Amazon Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They even let me store a bag in their room for 2 nights while I visited Santorini, allowing me to travel light and avoid costly airline luggage fees, before I returned for a 3rd night at the hotel before going home. Easy to walk to from Syntagma square and closr to great shopping, one metro stop from the Acropolis station and my other hotel, (very good as well) Acropolis Select Hotel, that I used to leave on a Rick Steve's bus tour.

Room Tip: This hotel is a short walk from the Acropolis metro stop in Athens and the Acropolis museum and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peregrino00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was traveling with my 2 friends and we shared a 3 persons room in Amazon hotel in Athens. This hotel is really centrally located, and there is everything you can ask only maximum 5 minutes walk away: restaurants, all kind of shops, grocery shops, bars, taxis...Also the airport bus stop is really close.
The room was large enough, and bathroom was nice. Room was cleaned every day.
Breakfast had quite limited selection, and the room where it was served was small. We left the hotel early, and did not get any kind of breakfast to go.
The price was reasonable, and I think the value was great for this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenlaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were adequate, although we were originally placed in a room with twin beds to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary-- that was easily changed by Domitris.

Other front desk personal were not as helpful.

Overall the experience was positive.

Thank Creechcr8v
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We had got a suite booked. The room was perfect for our honeymoon !!!! The acropolis view at nighy from the terrace was breathtaking . The hotel was at a very convenient location with all attractions at a walking distance . I Loved my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanisha86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
1,830 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,605 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#53 of 282 in Athens
615 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,421 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#67 of 282 in Athens
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amazon Hotel

Address: 19 Mitropoleos & Pentelis Str | Sytagma, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $58 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Amazon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amazon boasts a prime location in the heart of Athens, within walking distance of the major archaeological sites and Syntagma Metro Station. It offers 42 tastefully decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Amazon Hotel's air-conditioned rooms and suites are decorated in natural tones creating a relaxing atmosphere. They are equipped with a TV with satellite and cable channels, safety box and minibar. Some rooms enjoy spectacular Acropolis views. Amazon Hotel serves buffet breakfast, while there is also a bar and a cafeteria, where guests can enjoy their drink or a snack. The New Acropolis Museum is within 1 km of Hotel Amazon. The shopping district of the Athens centre is just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing