We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #16 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very clean room and comfortable bed. the management was very good as well and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in a very central location in Athens, next to the shops, restaurants and cafes. 100% recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nekt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Nekt K
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to know that you had a great experience and your stay was a memorable one. We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens.
Best wishes for 2014!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very clean, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, top location and great staff who really made the time to ensure our stay (two nights) was as comfortable as possible. Would recommend it to anyone looking for the a top three star stay in Athens.

Room Tip: Superior room refers to two double beds but they are actually two single beds or 1 1/2 beds put tog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Fiona Z
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a trip advisor review. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves with every aspect of the hotel, including the friendly staff, the rooms and the standard of service. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Best wishes for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a fine hotel for exploring Athens. Budget friendly, but still felt clean and modern, and central enough that you can walk everywhere. There are lots of shops/restaurants in the vicinity. The hotel has complimentary breakfast and even put something together for us in the middle of the night because we had a very early international flight. We were also greeted with a small bottle of wine and dessert upon check in. The lobby has cookies for replenishing after a long walk about town. To be fair, I want to clarify that it is 4 star service, but I wouldn’t necessarily consider this 4 star quality. They are definitely doing their best with what they got so I will commend them for that. For what we needed, this hotel worked out great. If you want to step it up a bit, you are able to go to their sister hotel for a fantastic roof top lounge that looks out to the Acropolis. If going to or from the airport, the X95 shuttle drops off and picks up a few blocks from the hotel at Syntagma square and runs 24 hours a day. If all you need is a crash pad for Athens that doesn’t cost a lot, but is well maintained and contemporary, this is an excellent option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank someplace_new277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I booked a two-night stay for two rooms at Hermes through Olotels.com when searching on TripAdvisor for a hotel in Athens. I had not heard of Olotels previously but figured since it appeared on TA and the price was the best, I went with it. After that I had an anxiety episode – that is going to be a different review for Olotels, but Hermes came through by confirming it had my reservation on record. Front-desk was efficient and courteous. We thought we would be in interior-facing rooms per the reservation description, but we were given two adjoining rooms with balconies on the 4th floor. What I appreciated the most was that this was done without our asking; maybe because it was already the beginning of the non-peak season (late November) but regardless it shows the hotel is committed to a good guest experience. The two rooms actually are situated behind a separate suite door to the hallway, which means you have the option of just locking the suite door and leave the individual room doors open for easier interaction between the rooms. Although the rooms are in fact small by US standards – a 24”+ luggage could not be wheeled through the space between the foot of the bed and the wall, they are kept very clean and the décor is modern. The included breakfast is decent with a good variety, and the manager did come around to help us plan the day and mark up maps for us. When I told her I didn’t have a guidebook about Athens, she came back to me with copies of a few relevant pages of a guidebook which gave us a better context when visiting the sites. Now that’s what I call initiative!

The hotel is within an easy walk to Syntagma Sq, the Acropolis, the shopping from Ermou St all the way to the next Metro station Monastiraki. We never needed to take the metro except from the airport to Syntagma Sq. Finding the hotel may be a little challenging if you don’t have a smartphone (which is my case). I thought we had it down, what with maps and directions indicated on the hotel website, but it’s a whole different thing when you come out of the Metro (and there are many exits) and don’t have bearings. So if you have luggage (or not) you can take the elevator inside the Syntagma Sq station. On exit you are at the far end of the Square. You will see a bustling 4+ lane street directly in front if you walk away from the elevator (not 100% but I think it’s called Stadiou which becomes Filellinon). Get to the sidewalk and look to your left – at the corner there is a newsstand (thanks to the nice man in the newsstand we made it to the hotel in less than 15 minutes with luggage and all). Walk to the corner and cross the busy 4+ lane street and you will be on Mitropoleos. Take the first left from Mitropoleos and you will be on Nikis. The first right from Nikis is Apollonos. Walk straight down Apollonos and you will come to the hotel on the left after several longer blocks.

This next point I am making doesn’t take away anything from Hermes Hotel but is just a heads-up for fellow travelers: there are 2-3 Greek restaurants down the little street directly in front of the hotel and the greeters could be overzealous in trying to get you to dine there. This happened on our first night – men from two different restaurants stopped us as we were walking by and showed their menus. We looked and politely explained that we wanted to look around. It became a bit of a nuisance when they kept “selling” it even after being told several times. We avoided that street the next evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lulusays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear lulusays
Thank you for your feedback and a great review of our hotel. What a nice of you to give such detailed instructions to the future guests so they will find their way to the hotel,easily. Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and that you will leave wanting to return soon. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves with every aspect of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back as our valued guests.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days from 30 oct. to 2 nov. 2008 with few friends.
It was our first trip to Atene and this hotel was near to Syntagma square and other attractions.
The staff was very helpful and give us all the info to visit at the best this ancient city.
If I'll going again to Atene I'll be back at Hermes Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psycho_Cla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Psycho_Cla
We are delighted that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and that you were satisfied with the hotel's facilities and the helpfulness of the staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is located at a walking distance from Syntagma square and a short walking distance from Plaka and Monasteraki square,with great views of the Acropolis, so it is at the center of everything but far enough away that the crowds don't bother. The staff is great. We have stayed in many hotels but the attention given in this hotel is something we have never experienced. The manager gave us a map and explained what to see and gave great advice for our time in Athens. The breakfast is really good, complete with authentic Greek food. Overall all the staff is really friendly and helpful. We highly recommend a stay in this hotel, it is affordable and really worth every penny, you actually get more than what you pay for. If staying in Athens, this is the perfect hotel to stay in. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falulapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Falulapr
Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of our hotel and for your recommendation. We are delighted that we could exceed your expectations and pleases us that service given by every staff member was impeccable, and they all made you feel welcome as we want our guests to experience their best possible stays with us and we are very pleased that we effectively achieved this during your stay.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at Hermes Hotel for three days. Staff was so welcoming and warm to us. They were so helpful. It was our first trip to Athens and we loved the city and location. It was within walking distance to the Sytagma square and the station. Our room was so cute and comfortable for sure!! Breakfast was so good. But staff was so friendly and efficient. Thank you everyone! ! It's highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithbrown323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear keithbrown323
Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. I am happy that we were able to take care of your challenges in the satisfactory way and I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back in the future!
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,420 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 19 Apollonos Street | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $69 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing