We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hermes Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$290
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Athens Lotus Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
$146
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$121
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$150
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$180
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$232
$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,636)
Filter reviews
1,636 results
Traveler rating
808
659
121
39
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
808
659
121
39
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelsyntagma squaregreat locationhotel plakawithin walking distancequiet streetevery morningbreakfast roomadjoining roomsrooftop terracecentral locationsmall hotelshort walkgreek yogurtexcellent hotelstayed for nightsclean hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
730 - 735 of 1,636 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights. The hotel staff were very efficient and friendly. Our room on level 4 was a reasonable size. The location was great and we could get to the Plaka, Syntagma Square and the Acropolis easily. The nice thing about the hotel was the roof terrace from which we could see the Acropolis lit up at night. The hotel served complimentary coffee, tea and biscuits every afternoon in the downstairs lounge area. The breakfasts were also very good with lots of choice and during breakfast time the hotel's Manager and PR person would come and talk to guests to see if everything was OK and to answer any questions about getting around the city and places of interest. They seemed genuinely interested in their guests' satisfaction.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickym830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting your kind feedback following your recent stay with us.I was so happy to read your kind words and that you really did enjoy the great service and facilities we are all so proud of. I do hope that you will be able to come back to the hotel in the future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

... if you are not trying to go super budget travelling or something of that sort. A hop, skip and a jump from transportation options at Syntagma Square eg, metro and/or X95 bus to and from the airport. I walked. The usual caveat about room size, estimating mine was 23 feet by 10 feet including the bathroom insert, but what-the-heck, the beds were comfortable, the air-conditioning works well, a nice full-length mirror in the hall and a bathtub and shower I could move around in - although I would suggest some sort of non-slip mats for the tub or perhaps some sort of grab bar.

And was I surprised when Dorina S. showed up in the breakfast area to inquire about our stays. If I'm reading her card correctly she is the manager/OWNER of several hotels, when was the last time you had an owner show up to ask you how things were going? Sure, things go wrong sometimes, but I'm not going to believe any reviews here that might suggest indifference to a problem. ( Aside from that she gave us a terrific recommendation to go see the Benraki museum which I'll pass along - lots of color and variety - while still telling the story of Greece - a nice treat after visiting some monochromatic ruins and museums.) Additionally, notices are posted in the elevators etc that might be of importance to travelers. For example, there was a metro strike Wed Sept 18th, 2013 from 9:45 to 3:00 that might have been of interest if you were planning to use it to catch a mid-day plane... which I did several days later. Others were for concerts, plays etc. Breakfast was "ordinary" as someone else put it, but on the other hand there was a wide variety of choices. Maybe there are better deals out there, but this is the type of place one can reserve with confidence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
I personnaly thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hermes hotel on T.A
It is always a pleasure to receive such kind reviews. Our aim is to make our guests’ stay an unforgettable experience and your appreciating comments encourage us to increase our efforts in offering the outmost to our valuable guests.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hermes Hotel has many positives points on offer. Its location is very convenient to many attractions. It is close to Syntagma Square if you were to catch the "X95" bus to and from the airport. Plaka is within walking distance as well as the Acropolis.

The hotel is quite new and well managed by the manager/owner Dorina, who would greet you and offer help to your itinerary each morning. Room was small but clean. It served its purpose and provided a very comfortable place to stay and visit Athens. It is a place where one could come back at the end of the sightseeing to relax and start the next day fresh.

Room Tip: Room on the higher floor like 5 or 6 offer more space than the lower floors.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobeslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for submitting these wonderful pictures! We are glad to read your positive comments and the fact you were had a very comfortable and relaxing time.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We thought the manager Dorina very helpful talking to guests at breakfast offering advice re trips and enquiring if everything was as you expected about the hotel.We had a problem with mobility due to a leg injury and were disappointed regarding the small balcony as we would be spending more time at the hotel than planned! Dorina and staff moved us to a room with a large balcony with seating and table so that made our stay so much better oh and an interesting view of the streets below and rooftops.
The position of the hotel near syntagma square but in a quiet street within walking distance from the Plaka area with all it's bars restaurants and shops was perfect.We would not stay anywhere else if visiting Athens again

Room Tip: High floor front of hotel is quiet and most have balconies
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
I was very pleased meeting you and assisting you in order to offer you a potive experience. I hope next time you will be very feet and visit also the roof top terrace with nicer view.
I look forward to welcome you again . Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any special requests.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It is located in the center of Plaka with grocery stores and restaurants nearby. The lounge is very spacious and comfortable. Acropolis is 10 minutes walk. There are also a korean and japanese restaurant within 5 minutes walk. The food there are delicious. We visited a fruit store every day, the grapes are so sweet with organic flavor. The staff are friendly, they gave us a gift when we left hoping we give them a good review. The only downside is the room is like a 2 star hotel room, not like the picture on internet at all, but it is ok for us since most of time we were outside and we did sleep very well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews