We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hermes was located very close to syntagma square (where you can catch public transport to the beaches in Athens), the plaka area (traditional area of Athens), restaurants and shops. Hotel was very clean. The breakfast was ordinary. Staff spoke English very well and were always willing to help you with directions. I would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Cassie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for submitting these nice pictures!!!!!
Our location is indeed right in the center of all of the tourist attractions of Athens and this clearly aided your sightseeing and event planning whilst you were at the hotel. Thank you so much for the positive comments about the staff.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nice and close to everything without being on a super busy street, hotel staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable. Airconned worked fine, wifi connection was best in the bathroom but not bad by any means... Very happy :)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Shonagh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us and our future guests. Your feedback helps us examine our achievements and to improve our service.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had a fantastic time in Athens. The staff at the hotel were so helpful in explaining how to get around Athens and booking tours for me. The staff were so pleasant nothing was a bother. Will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maduwakime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dera Guest,
I am very pleased to read that you were satisfied from our well trained staff and that you are planning to come back one day.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Excelent Hotel, convenient to all major sites. Excellent helpful staff clean rooms excellent breakfast and fast wi-fi!. Nice to view Acropolis from rooftop or better view and bar service close by sister hotel Plaka.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rbaker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
I thank you for your review and high score. We liked very much your night shot.
We hope you will come back on a future trip to Athens.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hermes with our two children and were very pleased. Not a luxury hotel, but clean, attractive and very good service. The connecting rooms were a nice find for travelling with kids, and came at a discount... rare in Europe. I would return, particularly if travelling with kids and trying to be budget conscious. The children's play room was a lovely addition!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy to read that you and your family had a nice time during your recent stay in Athens. We are trying to provide a comfortable stay at a budget rate to the families, offering the service they may need and the small play room. We also hope to see you again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Location: close to Syntagma square and metro station and a fantastic shopping district in Plakos. Loved this area, safe, friendly, clean, happy area- walkable to Acropolis.

Room: clean, simple, exceptional shower, mini fridge for your use, safe, windows or AC.

Hotel: laundry service for a huge bag for only 9 euro instead of paying per item. Breakfast featured American and Greek items and was included. Better spread than some neighboring hotels. Water, coffee, tea, and cookies in the lobby. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugertemptress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Being an experienced traveller, we thank you for your review and positive comments. We are glad we matched your expectations and hope to see you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Just had a pleasant two night stay here. Great location! We caught a taxi here from the airport and the metro back. 35euro flat fee(they try to charge you more so say straight away when you get in) from the airport to city. 7euro each for the metro, which is super clean, safe and about 5 mins walk to the hotel down a beautiful walking st and down a couple of safe side streets.

The area has heaps of neat shops and a great pedestrian area. Breakfast was a superb buffet, rooms clean tidy and cool and the Wifi brilliant. Complimentary coffee and water in the foyer and you can even get a select breakfast if you leave real early in the morning (5am for us).
There is a cool roof chill out zone and a superb roof top bar next door for top notch night views of the Acropolis. Great for photo,s inc the sunset. Great yoghurt desert and mezze platter!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRAIGTHEKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very nice title and review.
Clients' comments have helped us improve and this is how you as well enjoyed the good wi-fi, our rich breakfast etc. We hope that the nice memory you have will remain fresh for a long time.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,464 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
1,830 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,964 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,425 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 19 Apollonos Street | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $71 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing