We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited the hotel last night in Greece, the hotel is centrally located within walking distance from restaurants in the area. Design a bit outdated, Breakfast is located on the 1st floor without a view :-(

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SassiIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for staying on your last night with us. The hotel was recently redecorated and has marble bathrooms. I am sorry we did not match your taste. As for the breakfast room, is located on the first floor and as most hotels of our category in this area, can not have a view.
Should you decide to have a very designed hotel on your next trip, you can always try one of our sister hotels in the same area as well(check our website).
Hope we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

749 - 755 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were there three times on our ways in and out of Athens. Each time they were efficient and very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were nice and everything worked, breakfast is very good and they offer extra services like baggage storage, laundry, and will phone taxis or car rental places for you. Located between the Plaka and Syntagma it is central to everything yet quiet. We found it very good value and felt very at home there when we were welcomed back each time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icynorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us during your visits in Greece.
We are happy that all our services were efficient and that we made you feel like at home.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Hermes. It was in a great location. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was plentiful. Everyone could find something familiar and something new to try. The rooftop view was nice, but we really enjoyed going over to the Hotel Plaka (same owner as Hermes) for their unobstructed view of the Acropolis and their rooftop bar. Dorina, the manager, was so kind and helpful to us as we planned our island excursion. She offered good advice and even called the hotels on the islands to help us make arrangements! We highly recommend the Hermes!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyforth207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you personally for your kind recommendation to others and for sharing your lovely feedback following your stay with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the location and the experience of the Acropolis view, as well as the breakfast, the cleanliness. It is so nice to read that our suggestions were helpful fot a memorable stay.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in a twin room for 2 nights in May. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was provided and offered a good selection of hot and cold food. I found the room to be good value for money. The hotel manager is lovely and goes out of her way to ensure guests are satisfied with their stay checking each morning at breakfast to ensure there are no issues and offering helpful sightseeing information and tips. On the morning we checked out of the hotel the manager was in the reception area and offered us a small gift (tea towels) which we found a lovely gesture. We enjoyed our stay and would consider staying at the Hermes Hotel if visiting Athens again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are a family of two adults and two teen daughters. We stayed in adjoining rooms, 201 and 202. We found our rooms to be fresh, clean and quite adequate for our stay. The breakfast was well supplied with hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, toast, fruit, cereal and beverages. Seating is plentiful. Service personnel at the front desk were, without exception, engaging and helpful. The hotel location is excellent for access to local historic, shopping, and dining attractions. Based on our experience, we would stay here again and would enthusiastically recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank GuzzoBazinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dera Guest,
We are delighted to read your enthousiastic review ! We thank you for your time to share your positive experinece and for your high score.
Best regards to all of you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Never been this disappointed about an hotel like that.
We stay in Athens every year in the central hotel next to this one.
We decided to try the Hermes hotel this time due to good reviews and it was a terrible mistake ....
First of all and very upsetting!!! The pictures of the rooms in the website are not pictures from the hotel for sure. We made reservation for the superior room and payed more for that just to find out that there are no superior rooms and all rooms are the same- smelly old and absolutely horrible!! When we went to the reception she said that we were upgraded and these are the better rooms...
All in all, don't stay at this hotel!!! In this rate you can find much better hotels even in the same area... We will surely never go back there and definitely won't recommend it to anyone!,,

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shufel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please accept my apologies for any unpleased experience you may have had during your recent stay at our Hotel.
I was both disappointed and surprised to read that your stay with us, did not meet your expectations. I say surprised, because we have made sure that we have a detailed description of our rooms and services on our website and the pictures shown are the actual rooms and furnishings throughout the Hotel.
Being that your reservation was for a “Superior Room”, you were offered a room with a balcony, as this is the type of room described in the website as “Superior”. When you complained to our receptionist that your friends had a larger room than yours, our staff explained to you that your friends booking was for a “triple” room, not a double as yours. Still, to satisfy you , our staff moved you to a similar triple room as your friend’s, at no extra cost to you.
All our guests enjoy the professional, hospitable and friendly staff, as well as our very rich buffet breakfast, the cleanliness and the location of the hotel. Being that you visit Athens annually, I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future, as I am confident that we will be successful in changing your perception of out Hotel. Should you decide to give us this opportunity, please do not hesitate to ask for me directly when making your reservation, or email me. I will be glad to serve you.
I hope that you will keep on coming to Athens, a great city with great history.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent introduction e.g. breakfast times and situation; best place for storage of bags whilst out and about - locked securely and out of the way - not just at the side of the counter. Air conditioning worked well; room clean tidy with a very comfortable/large double bed; safe; and dark curtains that make the bedroom black as pitch! No drinks fridge or tea/coffee making facilities in room. Otherwise good. Showeroom clean and fresh. Breakfast very generous buffet style. Could not fault - coffee from a machine which was OK.

Staff all very helpful, friendly and eager to please. Very good taxi organised for us with an english speaking driver who was very entertaining and gave us full story of life in Greece etc. Be good contributor to Private Eye (satirical magazine) whilst wouldn't livee anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mervyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on T.A. with all little details that will help other readers to make their decision.
We hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,441 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 19 Apollonos Street | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $71 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing