We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hermes Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Athens(Athens)
$261
$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$573
$472
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$303
$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel(Athens)
$258
$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Athens(Athens)
$199
$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$170
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
$268
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,650)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveler rating
817
663
122
39
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
663
122
39
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelsyntagma squaregreat locationhotel plakawithin walking distancequiet streetevery morningbreakfast roomadjoining roomsrooftop terracecentral locationsmall hotelshort walkgreek yogurtexcellent hotelstayed for nightsclean hotel
Filter
Updating list...
933 - 938 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Modern, comfortable, helpful staff, surprisingly good breakfast, and most important:: It is close to the center, but in a quiet and safe street. The only problem: A small elevator. Altogether a very good deal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am glad you found the hotel being a good deal and the you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff as well as the location of Hermes Hotel.

Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result. It will be a real pleasure for us to host you again in the future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel is comfortable, with a nice spacious lobby where I could work for a while on my laptop. Good thing, because the room is too cramped and the desk in there is miniscule. But for downtown Athens, at this price, that's what I expected, no complaint. The desk staff was knowledgeable and easy to work with, very helpful. There's some seedy neighborhoods not far away, but this area was fine and I was only a ten minute walk from the restaurants and ruins at the foot of the Acropolis. And close to Syntagma Square, where the Metro is.

Room Tip: my room 101 looked out on a wall ... dont recommend it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Dera Guest,


I am very pleased you enjoyed the very central and safe location of Hermes Hotel.
Concerning your comment on the small working desk, it is a pitty you did not ask the receptionist to move you to an upgrade room with more space.

I hope next time you visit Athens you will stay with us and we will be able to match all your expectations.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel is well situated, a walking distance from Plaka, shops and restaurants. From airport you can take bus X95 and arrive at Syntagma square, then in 5 minutes you will be in the hotel. All in all, we were satisfied with the choice of the hotel.
Advantages: location, good breakfast, nice staff, general condition of the hotel and rooms, free coffee/tea during the day behind the reception desk, good cleaning, no noise from outside, quick guidance on main excursions and reservation of some of them.
Disadvantages: small elevators (2 persons will fit in, but without huge luggage...), small breakfast room (not enough of tables, if you come to eat around 9 in the morning, you won't have a place to sit...). But the main disadvantage was the wi-fi, i.e. no free wi-fi (only 25 min provided during your stay, and we stayed 6 nights...). We were told by the staff that "25 min should be enough to check your e-mails"...Hmmm. And what if we are two and each of us needs to consult the mails daily? Ok...not a big deal, we went to the McDonalds at Syntagma square with the FREE wifi, by the way, it did not work well and there is a free "athenswifi" available around. Thanks for this to those who think about tourists!!!
I rated this hotel at 4/5 just of this wi-fi. In my understanding, nowadays hotels can provide a free wi-fi to their clients, but all in all it was a nice and enjoyable stay in a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuli_swift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor.
Guest comments are really important to us and help us improve our services. Your comment on free wi-fi is taken into serious concideration, this is why we are planning to offer additional free time.
I hope that on you next visit you will choose to stay with us again and we will mach all your expectations.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. We were very impressed by the location as its only a few minutes walk from the famous syntagma sq. breakfast was fantastic and you could have it very early. Very clean and also extremely helpful staff. Coffee, tea, and hit chocOlate for free all day until 6. The only downside that there was no free wifi (it cost 1 euro for 15 minutes). However, we would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel after your short and positive stay.
Your feedback helps us examine our achievements and to improve our serviceAs, for the internet comment we are planning soon to offer more free time.

Thank you again for your review and high score

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very good hotel
I've just returned from a 3 night stay, 1 room for my wife and I and another to my sister and husband who joined us from Italy.
From Athens airport: the bus stops behind 2 roads, 5 euros one way
Great Location, We could walk to most places we wanted to visit
Good breakfast Clean Room
Room with a safe, hairdryer and a mini fridge & a small bottle of wine in the room with compliments of the hotel :)
The staff are very friendly and helpful (they reserved for me a table @ Villa Mercedes)
They serve free coffee/tea in the lobby until 6pm

i recommend it to every person who want to visit Athens :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDIAMANDIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to read that all your family had a positive experience from your stay in Hermes. Hotel.
Thank you for your detailed review and for recommending the hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews