We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #16 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I originally booked the Plaka hotel through Easyjet a low cost UK airline. About 2 months before we were due to arrive the Plaka was scheduled to close for the winter for construction. At the time I was assured they would be opened on time. Sure enough 4 weeks before I got an email from Easyjet saying that we were going to be relocated to Hermes their sister hotel. I was a little disappointed as I wanted to stay at the Plaka. Anyway, we arrived and check in was quick. Our room was for a triple occupancy. The only problem we had was, we could smell cigarette smoke in the hallway. We complained to the front desk associate and he gave us a smaller room on the first floor. We opted to stick it out in our original room.

The next day during breakfast Maria the assistant manager came round to visit and see how everyone was doing if we had any questions or complaints. We told her everything was fine except for the smoking neighbours.

Overall this is a nice hotel with updated furnishings. The breakfast was a good mix and some items changed during the few days we were there (Which is not typical of most hotels).
I found the staff friendly and the housekeeping and breakfast staff hard working. Food was always being replenished/ tables cleared and rooms cleaned. The location is good... close to shops, restuarants and the metro.

The only thing that could improve would be smoke detectors in the hallways, bathrooms and suites as this would discourage the would be smokers. It would also be nice if management would enforce the non smoking rule. After all this hotel is smoke free!

Room Tip: I think rooms that end in 05 are larger. Also, triple room means two single beds and a sofa that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. I am glad that you were satisfied with the quality and quantity of our breakfast and the service you received from our staff. Guest comments are really important to us and help us improve our services.
Thank you also for submitting nice pictures of the hotel.

Best regards

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

First impressions of the hotel - Clean and friendly. From outside it looked very business like. I cannot fault this hotel. The staff were extremly helpful and friendly. They arranged our transfers and day trip. Breakfast was excellent. A wide selection of foods and drink that tasted very good. Bedroom was clean, tidy and of good size. Very clean bathroom with fresh towels everyday.
The hotel was located in walking distance of everything! Fantastic! Just around corner from the public transport and bus tours/train tour. Hard Rock cafe was around the corner also. All in all a fantastic hotel. And I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on T.A. and for your high score.

We are glad you enjoyed the central location, our rich breakfast, and our customer service advises.

We hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Great hotel, friendly staff, fresh towels everyday, nice buffet breakfast with a good varied selection, better than most. Hotel is well situated for all that Athens has to offer, easy walking to all of the sites and the excellant city transport systems. A very pleasant and relaxing hotel. When we return to Athens we will book here again

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had such a nice time in our hotel 1

We thank you for your review and for your high score.

We all hope to see you again soon.

Have a happy new year !

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

the hotel location is very good, connections to everywhere is very easy, near to the metro. just a few walkaway from Syntagma Square and Ermou Street. Breakfast is almost perfect including both English and Greek breakfast. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. First we arrived the hotel the receptionist gave us 6. floor no: 605, it was very cold and small room, then we asked to change the room and we took 2. floor no: 205 a very big and warm room. i recommend the middle floor rooms for this hotel in winter. Finally i recommend this lovely hotel to every family or couples.

Room Tip: 205 is very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziyaonurkorkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

I thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.

I sorry about the first room offered to you but I am glad you finally stayed in a room that matched your expectations.

Best regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had a 6 night stay at Hermes Hotel in December 2011, following hours of trawling through reviews, brochures and websites prior to making our booking. We were not disappointed with our decision.

The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from Syntagma Square making access from the airport very easy by Metro. The only slightly challenging bit was working out which exit we had used in the dark and pointing ourselves in the right direction to start with. The metro is easy to use, even with luggage as there are escalators everywhere and only a few steps to finally exit the station into the square. Our welcome was warm and friendly and given our key we were off to the 6th floor. The lift is very small - just enough room for the 2 of us and our 2 bags.
I was concerned that our room was tucked in beside the lift and expected to be disturbed by the noise, but this didn't happen - we rarely heard it. Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking city rooftops and had a small balcony which was nice in the mornings and evenings. Our "double" was actually 2 singles together, as is common in Europe, and the bed would have to be the hardest I have ever used. After the first night I finished up turning the doona sideways and using it like a sleeping bag to give some extra padding and slept well for the rest of the week. The small fridge was good for keeping our water bottles cool and Hubby found enough TV channels to keep him happy. In the bathroom a shower over the bath was super powerful and always hot water.Our room and bathroom was spotlessly clean.

The 7th floor is a small rooftop courtyard, but being winter we didn't use it! On the 1st floor is the breakfast room - we particularly enjoyed the Greek corner. A small range of cereals, cold meats and cheeses, eggs, beans, sausage or bacon, fresh & tinned fruit, yoghurt (oh the yoghurt - so rich & creamy!!), fetta with olives, olive oil & oregano, breads & pastries, juice, tea & coffee. All self service and we never saw the breakfast room busy so were able to take our time which made for a leisurely start to each day. The couches in the foyer were nice after coming back from a day out and we appreciated the complimentary tea / coffee in the foyer.
The location was perfect - we walked everywhere from here. 5 minutes to Syntagma square, 10 minutes to Monastiraki. Heaps of restaurants and cafes with 5 - 10 minutes in any direction.
It's unlikely we'll get back to Athens again, but I would certainly recommend the Hermes to any friends heading that way.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I'madesertgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear Guest,


It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients as well as your lovely photos.
Guest comments are really important to us and help us to improve our services.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We booked a triple room and instead we got two twin beds and a window seat. There was no warm bedding for the window seat, we asked for some on arrival the maid come and just stood there with her arms folded and said No. We had to go to reception for the 3rd time and insist.
The room was very small. We complained about the lack of the 3rd bed and they attempted to move us to a smaller room with a fold up bed. The problem was it was not full size so my teenage daughter would have had her feet hanging over the bed. We opted to stay put was only for 3 days. We just felt the description and picture on the internet do not match the hotel at all. The management throughout this were very unfriendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaneko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Guest,


We are very sorry we were not able to match your expectations during your recent stay in Athens.
I am not sure to which web site your are referring, but in our, it is clearly written that the third bed is a folding bed for a child or teenager, mentioning the dimensions.

I wrote to you already to apologize and asking further details, but I did not receive any reply.
I am sorry for again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent our first four days in Athens and this hotel was recommended by Rick Steves. It is within walking distance of all the sites as well as Plaka, Syntagma, and Monasteraki. Hotel was clean, comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful, Breakfast was nice and the price of the hotel was quite reasonable. No restaurant with the exception of the breakfast area, but close to a plethora of good places to eat and great tavernas. Wi-Fi free, but did not work well in room. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to see the ancient sites of Athens, the Acropolis museum, and the National Arch. Museum. Can't say enough about the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am glad that you started this year with a positive experience by staying in our hotel.
I am also very pleasd that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern

Thank you for your review and high score.

Happy New Year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,420 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 19 Apollonos Street | Plaka, Syntagma, Monastiraki, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $69 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing